This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa

Reviews of Kaya Mawa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kaya Mawa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"Kaya Mawa - time to relax"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"A delightful place to relax at the end of a safari holiday.

We had a deluxe room, which was built into the rock face on the promontory. It was extremely spacious and well equipped, with a large bed, a daybed, writing desk and fantastic views out to a small island. The sides/windows of the room virtually opened fully to wander out on the split level patio with dining table, seating area around a coffee table, bean bag cushions, plunge pool and day beds. The bathroom area was outside with open views out across the lake.

An uneven path with steps led down to the beach and restaurant/bar area. This was lit at night, but a torch was provided also.

The food was excellent at all times and dinner was served at candlelit tables on the beach, with the sound of lapping water. On the last night, we were led up onto the cliff top for a romantic sundowner at the 'the lookout', with beautiful views along the beach and to the sunset across the lake.

The management and staff were excellent, being very attentive, but not overbearing. It was also good to hear about how the Lodge is working with the local community, in particular the schools, the craft workshop and in helping to clean up the island.

The lake was safe for bathing, although the beach at the restaurant end was shingly along the water edge. Further along it became more sandy, where local women and children bathed and washed clothes and pots. Snorkelling gear was provided in each room and canoes, surf boards and dinghy's were available for use on the beach. Beauty treatments were also available.

The lodge was relatively quiet, and we were the only staying guests for one of the nights, although others came in for the restaurant.

We took the vehicle tour to the craft workshops which were very interesting and could teach us all about how to recycle redundant materials. We also saw the town, market and the renowned cathedral. Our guide (Nicholas) led us on a walk through the market to the waters edge, although he was quite quiet and did not explain too much.

The lodge does take credit cards so we need not have taken so much cash if we had known." See all these reviews: 16n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & G
California

" Wonderful time but with a few reservations "

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Kaya Mawa Has a beautiful setting on a lovely beach and we spent many enjoyable, relaxing hours here, not the least of which were our nightly lounges on the beach with gin and tonics in hand watching the gorgeous sunsets. Our room was huge, original, and very private. The food was exceptional and the staff was friendly and eager to please.

We chose Likoma island because we wanted to get a glimpse of Malawian life and we were able to do this by taking the long and thoroughly enjoyable slow boat ride around the island, with a stop in town to see the cathedral, and by taking a short hike through the countryside to the craft shop that is associated with the hotel.

Our main reservation about the hotel was that the steps leading up, up, up and then down, down to our room were uneven and often very high. Without railings, we thought that many older folks would find these potentially dangerous and hard to negotiate. The toilet in our particular room was outside and up some of those very same steep steps (beautiful view from there) and it was a bit of a challenge to struggle up there at night." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S.
Zürich

"Jewel in the Malawi Lake"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"From the warm welcome from Lucy and Michael to the sad farewell we enjoyed every moment of our stay there. The beach and the whole setting of the Houses are so beautiful, the whole arrangements so tasteful and peaceful and very private. In the morning the lake is usually very calm, so snorkeling, swimming etc. is easy, in the afternoon the wind changes and with all the waves one has to remind oneself steadily that this is a lake not the ocean.
Kaya Mawa offers a ton of activities (all non-motorized activities are complimentary). We did a bike tour around the island one afternoon and visited the Katundu workshop.The workshop is staffed primarily by single mothers & their products are great! http://www.katundu.net/workshop.html Kaya Mawa has many of their products in the rooms & common areas of the lodge and in the rooms.
The food is just fabulous, all staff very friendly and competent and just fun to be around.
Just the perfect place to end a perfect holiday!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Portsmouth

"Kaya Mawa review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Lovely place to stay - very quiet, very relaxing, more to do that we could fit in in our short stay. Interesting location on the beach with many of the rooms built into or onto the rocks, a lovely bar and restaurant, just right for chilling at the end of the day. The food was good and they are trying to grow most of their own vegetables and some fruit.

We stayed in the Nkhwazi room, which has a large deck area and plunge pool and a view to Mozambique and the sunset. Every morning we were woken by 2 small birds which managed to bypass the curtains across the open door, but we were not bothered by them as we were behind a large mosquito net. The soft furnishings are local, and its worth a visit to see where they are made at the Katundu workshop - just a 15 minute walk away. I won't spoil the surprise on just what they recycle and how and into what, but we were amazed.

On our last night we enjoyed a private sundown drink from the view point.

The staff, a mix of expat and local, are attentive and friendly, and happy to help.

St Peter's Cathedral is well worth a visit on a Sunday morning for the atmosphere and singing, but you don't have to stay for the whole 3 hour service. Take a bit of money for the collection and/or a tour afterwards. Usually men and women sit on opposite sides, but that doesn't apply to tourists.

If you can fit it into your small case, and you have your own snorkel and mask, then bring them. They are provided but are basic and I missed having my own kit. Best place for fish is by the rocks." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F family
Sherborne

"Wonderful Kaya Maya - a great escape!"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"We were so happy to have discovered Kaya Maya.

It met our concerns for sustainable and responsible tourism with its collaboration with the local community and its focus on conservation. In addition the stunning beach, the comfortable, romantic chalets and the delightful staff and charming hosts made this for us the most perfect finale to our safari.

Love to go back!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"As life should be...."

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"We spent a perfect four nights at Kaya Mawa. What a superb place to relax with kind, generous and welcoming management, wonderful efficient staff and the lovely resident dog Kiera.

Allie and Ollie were perfect hosts and eager to offer guests the idyllic stay that the location inspires. They very generously upgraded our stay to a premium room, Mbamba with stunning views and our own plunge pool and private area. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated with a fridge and open bathroom. We felt the room to be well equipped with everything provided including wraps and sun hats which is excellent considering the restricted luggage allowance if arriving by small aircraft.

The accommodation is arranged amongst the rocks and therefore very private. Anybody with mobility issues would be wise to study room options and request accordingly. The ambiance was so very calm, private and unobtrusive. It is not necessary to socialise with others if that is your preference. Power can be sporadic at Kaya Mawa but that goes with the location, and my understanding is that steps are underway to secure a more stable and reliable supply.

The staff and community are an integral part of the success of Kaya Mawa and it is encouraging to see the combination, coordination and mutual appreciation and encouragement.

The food was superb and we did not eat a bad meal during our stay. Dinner was served on the beach and sundowners could be enjoyed either in your room or at the communal area, and tea and coffee were bought to your room at your requested time the following morning. Drinks were charged for and not expensive in our opinion given the location and there was a varied range and wine list.

Sundowners I believe can also be enjoyed at the nearby wonderful viewpoint with views over Mozambique and the surrounding area.

Non motorised activities were included in our rate and other excursion options available. We elected to take quad bikes with guide to explore the Island and the Cathedral and this was a great morning. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. There is also a resident diving instructor on the premises.

The Island was also easy and safe to explore on foot and we enjoyed a walk to visit Mango Drift for a lunchtime drink with a stop at the Katundu workshop en-route. There is also a shop at the lodge selling lovely items made at the workshop. The decor in the rooms is also a great showcase for their work. Items can be shipped if unable to be carried.

There is a spa service with facials, massages and a selection of other treatments. We did not utilise this so cannot comment.

Connection permitting there is limited wi-fi available in the office area and tips can be left in a tip box in the office to be distributed to lodge staff by an elected committee.

The ambiance at Kaya Mawa is as you imagine: relaxed, calm, welcoming and truly special and we wish the management and staff continued success. The lodge is exactly as the photographs suggest and it would be hard to be disappointed in your stay.

We experienced quite a lengthly re-scheduling of our Ulendo flight on departure which Allie very kindly helped to ease by permitting us to use our room until lunchtime and offering us some complimentary services. This was greatly appreciated.

Thank you for a special and memorable few days." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peter & Helenka
UK

"A gem "

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"Wonderful place. Staff and management just so attentive. Location amazing. Food out of this world, could easily be a top rated London restaurant standard Lovely wine list.

The rooms brilliantly designed quirky features like Porthmeirion but an even better setting.

Cannot recommend this place too highly sorry we only had two nights but will try to revisit in future" See all these reviews: 12n in Malawi; 3n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Kaya Mawa was special"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"This place is truly paradise. From the moment we arrived, we started smiling and we didn’t stop.

The location is wonderful and it has been used to good effect to create interesting and beautiful rooms with lots of privacy and taking advantage of the views of the lake. A boat ride around the Island took all morning, stopping for a visit to the local craft co-operative and then the incredible cathedral.

The staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. On two nights, staff brought along a village gospel choir and a band to entertain us. Dancing to African drum beats on a sandy beach on the lakeside at sunset was truly a memorable experience.

The food was nothing short of amazing - imaginative with fresh ingredients, all produced from a challenging supply line." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Our African beach heaven"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2017
"This is our second trip to Kaya Mawa in two years, we love it that much. Every meal was amazing & so were the massages. It was so nice to see Michelle, Martin, Harold & MacDonald again! We stayed in the Nkhwazi room for the second time - has its own pool, tons of outdoor space & views of Mozambique. And the lodge now has an adorable dog! We will be back!" See all these reviews: 4n in Malawi; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"The idyllic Kaya Mawa"

5 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Kaya Mawa is an absolutely outstanding place.

We just loved everything about it from staff to service to location to activities.

Would definitely seriously consider returning here." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
96%
24 reviews of Kaya Mawa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
1
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Malawi

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Malawi.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Likoma Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndomo Point House

Ndomo Point House

Ndomo Point House is a private house on Likoma Island with its own pool and chef.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa