This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Peter & Helenka from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Malawi is a must

Malawi and 1 other country between 10 Jul 2018 and 27 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip. Everything happened as per plan. The only reservation was about the new Robin Pope camp and that needs commencing to the owners.

Otherwise, an amazing experience, and we saw far more wildlife than we were led to expect from the literature.

The country felt safe and friendly and the lack of hordes of visitors made you feel you were experiencing the real Africa."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Wonderful start to holiday"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"This is a fantastic location in a well established lodge which is well organised. The game drives we're very good with a very well informed guide.

We saw a lot of wild life the scenery is stunning and the whole stay here could not be faulted.

The lodge managers were the perfect host and hostess forever attending to our needs without being asked"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kuthengo Camp

Kuthengo Camp

"Great staff but needs organising"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"The location does not seem to have been thought out well tents very exposed and I would imagine will flood in rainy season. It rained when we were there and the paths got very sticky taking lots of dirt into dining areas and lodges. The game dives were well organised and Stanley was a fantastic gide even taking us out at night as an extra just to see a lion. The local staff brilliant and the food was lovely even soup on a particularly cold day.

The manger and his partner were rarely seen and were conspicuous by there absence most of the time. They did not even turn out at the end of drives or to say goodbye. The rest of the staff did. Such a contrast to the previous lodge

The family tent is not well designed with only one toilet in the main tent but none in the children's. They had to get out of bed unzip the door and then walk across a raised but open walk way and then unzip our tent and go to our toilet. Teenage girls need bathroom and toilet facilities on hand. The one time we spoke to the lodge manager and asked for a move produced prompt response and the girls were moved to a tent of their own.

The weather was poor and the loges and dining areas had to have there walls secured hence there was often no view.

Overall fantastic staff and guides but a rather soulless place made worse by inattentive managers."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Poor
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"A gem "

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"Wonderful place. Staff and management just so attentive. Location amazing. Food out of this world, could easily be a top rated London restaurant standard Lovely wine list.

The rooms brilliantly designed quirky features like Porthmeirion but an even better setting.

Cannot recommend this place too highly sorry we only had two nights but will try to revisit in future"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwichi Lodge

Nkwichi Lodge

"Lovely isolated spot"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"Once we got there it was lovely. However it took 4 hours to get from Likomo Island.

The Mozambique customs took one hour to produce the Visas and would only accept 50 dollar bills anything smaller was not acceptable. The journey there was not nice with a headwind and very choppy sea and a rather old wooden boat which was open. The staff were lovely the food initially was basic because they had run out of essentials. due to the poor whether delaying the delivery on the Malawian lake steamer.

We lazed for a couple of days on a perfect whit sandy beach and were indulged by the staff who were so attentive.

We did no activities apart from some gentle canoeing on a perfect sea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tongole Wilderness Lodge

Tongole Wilderness Lodge

"A must visit place."

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"Very welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic situation overlooking the river.

Limited wildlife apart from a few elephants in the lodge grounds on the first night. Did a drive, a walk and a Canoe up the river all superbly run. Cannot praise the staff enough All, even including the chef, came down to the airstrip to wave us off. Would have liked another night at least.

The reserve is being restocked by African Parks and in a few years will be as good as Majete for wildlife. However, the scenery is spectacular and its worth going just for that alone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2017 trip

Namibia between 20 Oct 2017 and 1 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved this trip. It was our second time in Africa having been to Zambia previously. This had been a really memorable trip and we were worried that coming back to Africa may not be so good second time around

We were not disappointed all the arrangements went well. The camps and lodges were well chosen and exceeded our expectations

Combined with the fact that Namibia is just such a safe clean welcoming country this was a holiday of a lifetime

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

O just keep on doing what you are doing so well"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2017
"Very welcoming

Relaxed feel nice spacious rooms very comfortable bed

Staff helpful and whole place was a great start to holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2017
"Great situation although only there one night we had two safari trips one walking and one driving.

Guide was so helpful and found the cheetahs and leopards and took us so close

It's a big camp but the staff made it very personal"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"Lovey camp

Fantastic dining/ bar area and really fun tents which were so spacious and comfortable

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the guide

Food excellent

Trips out into Etosha were amazing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"We all loved this camp, the setting ,the drives in the Ongava reserve, the water hole and the quirky rooms combined with fantastic friendly service made this a really memorable experience"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"Our trip just got better and better this is an amazing place. The setting is so dramatic. The rooms massive, the staff wonderful and always singing for you.

Trips out exactly great seeing exactly what was promised

Food excellent both in the dining area and the evening meal in the desert was a really special event"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2017
"Again this is just a wonderful place to stay. Thomas is so welcoming and attentive to your every need. Lovely food especially the lunch out on Safari

Lodges so comfortable and the main dining/reception area is full of interest with some wonderful books just lying around

The trip to the Sand dunes was yet another memorable experience amongst the many we had"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Probably we had been spoilt at all the other excellent places but overall this was a little disappointing

It was the only place where ther was no water or facilities for making a drink in the rooms. The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly but the management on arrival and on leaving were not as friendly as in other places. The rooms are odd design and functional rather than comfortable

The trip to the canyon was a great experience and the guide was entertaining and informative as well as being a very good driver"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team