This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

147 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 147
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"Very nice welcoming people. Excellent vegetarian food. Very clean." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Good stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Our voucher designated a luxury room, but although it was comfortable we would not have called it luxury. On returning home and reading the description again it appears that the room we were given was a room from the second family room - it was off the parking area and had an interleading door to another room.

Apart from this, we found Galton House very comfortable, clean and welcoming - just 40 minutes from the airport, and in a very quiet location. Food was excellent and we would recommend that you eat at Galton House for your evening meal instead of going into town!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"A perfect start to our trip"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Galton House was really fantastic and definitely our favourite of the two places we stayed in Windhoek. It had a lovely relaxed and welcoming feel, the dinner was delicious and the service was just perfect - very attentive without being overbearing.

The pool area and lounge areas were especially nice, and the open plan kitchen where you could help yourself to a hot drink or a beer from the fridge really contributed to the relaxed, home-from-home experience. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Good stopover at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Galton House was very helpful at getting us into self-drive mode. " See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Galton House. Place to rest up after flight."

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Galton House was just a place to stay after a long flight.

Having said that, the rooms were very well appointed and the service was fantastic.

We did not have time to use the pool as we only got there an hour before evening meal, went to bed straight after and left for our journey straight after breakfast.

The food was good and plentiful.

As Galton House is in a City and there are no Sat Nav's to follow, it was a bit difficult to find." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Perfect place for 1st night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"We arrived tired at Galton House after a 30 hours journey and arguing about the car in the airport. So much the more, we appreciated the warm welcome in Galton House. We got rooms 8 and 9 which had a convenient connecting door for families. Everything was beautiful and tastefully decorated in high quality materials. Spotless clean. Despite our late arrival, we got a lovely tasty 4 course dinner on the spot with good South African wine. The day after, a nice breakfast. We also noticed a nice pool area. All in all a great place we would happily visit again. Only minus was a very slow internet (if you need net, perhaps a star less)" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Great start to trip at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Galton House was the perfect start to our 2 week trip. Great accommodation and service. They suggested a good restaurant for dinner and organised a shuttle to and from the restaurant.

Only issue was hot water not working in a couple of rooms but alternative showers provided and the issue was quickly resolved." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dune lover
London

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2019
"The rooms were well appointed and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Food was excellent.

This was a good way to start our holiday." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Swindon

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"It was ok just for one night.

Pool dirty but out of season and no one else staying." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"E.njoyed our time"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 147
90%
147 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
81
59
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa