This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

158 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 158
Duration
Arrival date
Boghall birder
Roslin

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2022
"Friendly, relaxed, quiet and just lovely." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Galton House review "

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2022
"Galton House is a great place to start your holiday.

We were greeted by the owner/manager with a welcome drink of cold tea. The guest house is in a residential area so very quiet surroundings.

The room is lovely and all the staff were friendly but professional. Good breakfast to set up for our drive for the day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"When we arrived at Galton House, we received a warm welcome by the manager.

We got the nice room 1 facing the pool area. Everything was spotless clean and beautiful and tastefully decorated. During our stay, we got lunch and a lovely evening dinner on the spot with good South African wines by glass.

The day after, a nice breakfast. All in all, a great place to start the trip, we would happily visit again." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Inyanga
Comberton

"Galton House - a great start to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"A really nice hotel with all mod-cons, including swimming pool, well presented and ultra clean.

We had ordered an evening dinner having just arrived via Airlink from Johannesburg. It was delicious and a glass of wine went down well.

Breakfast was cooked to order and set us up for a drive up towards Etosha.

TIP: There is a Pick and Pay convenience store to stock up on consumables, water and drinks before your trip just down the road.

A great place to set you off on your Namibia holiday, or to wind down before you fly home." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Sorry that we missed it!"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2022
"Unfortunately we missed our stay at the Galton House - due to a strike by the Lufthansa pilots we made to Namimbia a day later than our planned arrival date.

As such we went to the House for a quick shower, change of clothes and a short breakfast before heading the road to Etosha. Thus our comments below may be treated as superfluous...." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2022
"Lovely small guest house with extremely helpful staff.

Area is quiet and felt extremely safe to take an evening walk in.

Family room was spacious and comfortable and bathroom good. Breakfast lovely and again, service excellent. Pool was absolutely freezing (we knew it wasn’t heated), but could perhaps do with a pool cover for nights." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Charlie
London

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2022
"We were only there briefly overnight the first night but the staff helpfully prepared and provided us with dinner in the room at short notice given our late arrival time.

The room was good and clean and staff friendly." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family P
Spain

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2022
"We arrived at Galton House directly from the airport after an overnight flight with our kids, and were very grateful for the warm welcome we received and the chance to rest up for 24hrs in such a quiet and pleasant environment.

Our rooms were everything we needed: spotlessly clean, thoughtfully equipped and with interconnecting doors between our 2 rooms. The food was delicious, and staff were friendly and very kind to the children.

We would definitely return." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2022
"A really good place for an overnight stop.

We were pleased to be able to have dinner there, which was very good.

We had our first bottle of South African wine which was one of the best on the whole trip.

Very welcoming and a stylish place." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C.
Dubai

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2022
"A lovely place for the last night. Very friendly staff nothing is too much trouble. Had a lazy afternoon by the pool." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 158
90%
158 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
62
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (366 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (128 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (122 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (111 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (39 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


94% (25 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (23 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


80% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


96% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa