This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
GocheGanas

Reviews of GocheGanas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited GocheGanas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at GocheGanas.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

White Rhino

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Zebra

75% success

Eland

67% success

Oryx

63% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Good introduction to Africa"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"A stand out moment was driving down the gravel track towards the entrance & there was a giraffe at the side of the road (within the reserve). Lovely way to start our trip - being met with wet towels & a welcome drink. Everyone was very friendly & we timed it very well in arriving in time for afternoon tea!

A good morning game drive on our first morning with a good selection of animals seen & having a drink with 2 rhinos on the other side of the fence was fabulous.

Good facilities & lovely back massage at a very reasonable price." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr J & Ms D
UK

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"Beautiful way to finish our trip.

We would recommend taking dirt track / main road to the airport thus avoiding going through Windhoek. It only took one hour and without any hassle ( dry season).

Very good massage." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Ms B
N London

"Exceptionnal"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"Perfect for the 1st night in Namibia" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Ludocie
Sheen

"Gorgeous"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2019
"Incredibly beautiful site and accommodation, facilities, food and wildlife.

We feared it my be a bit like a zoo but not at all.

A great place for us to load up on wildlife before seeing a lot less until Etosha much later. Cannot fault it" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B.
KILFENORA

"Relaxing overnight close to Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2019
"The lodge and the accommodation were comfortable, and the food was great.

This would be a great place to finish your holiday in Namibia as its relatively close to Windhoek and offers both an indoor pool and spa facilities which we didn't see at any other lodge during our stay.

But the evening safari drive left us with more questions as it seemed the grounds were a little too packed of wildlife, all of which were too easy to spot. We'd describe GocheGanas as more of a zoo park with a comfortable lodge attached." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Simple"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2018
"Very disappointed that when we checked in we were advised we could not take the game drive that evening as fully booked and told we should have booked in advance. As we were there only 1 night it looked like we were going to miss the evening drive. Did not fancy the morning drive the following day as had a long day travelling. With much persuading etc we did manage to get on evening drive as people (not from hotel) did not confirm within the last few hours.

Great to see Rhino which my family had not seen before. This is very much a conservation park. This hotel was booked as a one night stop over in Windhoek. Is there not anything closer to the airport?

Very slippery floors in rooms. Service was disappointing after having such wonderful experiences at the Wilderness Lodges." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"A really good place to spend our first night in Namibia, having landed in Windhoek at lunchtime.

Nice room, pool with a wonderful view out over the surrounding bush and a surprising amount of game to see. We saw giraffe and zebra on the drive in alone. We enjoyed following the guided walk footprints, painted onto strategically placed rocks, but we were quite startled to come upon 2 rhino. We retreated as quickly and quietly as possible and all was fine!

Very good food, especially the Oryx steak for supper." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

8 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Easily reached from airport, excellent service, lovely accommodations.

Took early morning game drive, great introduction to wildlife." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr J.
London

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"It was a comfortable hotel but the game viewings felt a bit like visiting Longleat - slightly artificial.

I would probably opt for a hotel in Windhoek itself as a last night stopover." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr S
UK

"Beautiful Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"Lovely spa hotel.

Rooms were a little dated, but food was wonderful and setting is stunning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 36
94%
36 reviews of GocheGanas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa