This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D. from Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

My Jul 2022 trip

Namibia between 8 Jul 2022 and 26 Jul 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We spend 2 1/2 weeks in Namibia, travelling about 2000 miles by road. We stayed in 9 different locations and experienced multiple different aspects of the country. Throughout the trip, we felt safe, welcomed and that the people we met were happy that tourism was returning post-pandemic.

Our trip had been postponed several times, re-organised and altered. However, everything went 100% according to plan. Tracy at Expert Africa proved to be a knowledgeable and informative guide and travel planner. All the lodges were expecting us as predicted and all lived up to their descriptions. Highlights were Hoodia Desert Lodge and the excursion from there, Doro Nawas and Okonjima (where we were upgraded to the Villa). The driving was straightforward and we did not encounter any problems, all roads were well-signposted and fuel stops were plentiful (all took VISA cards in our experience).

This was truly the trip of a lifetime, expertly coordinated by Expert Africa. Thank you so much for your patience throughout the pandemic, reorganising everything so well and your excellent recommendations. Next time it will be Botswana..... we will be back!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service

A minor issue but initially payment glitched through the website, but that was 2 years ago and we didn't have problems with the final payment.

The service and information we have received has been fantastic. We have recommended you to multiple friends already, as we have been boring them with our photographs! If and when we come back to Africa, we will definitely be contacting you again.

Thank you so much."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2022
"We spent our first night in Namibia here and it was a good choice. A short drive from Windhoek and our first experience of gravel roads!

The welcome from all the staff was very warm starting with the enormously friendly guard at the entrance gate. Excellent accommodation with a great view.

Our first game drive was a good experience, with sundowners in the bush and lots of giraffe."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"A warm, friendly, family run establishment.

Johanna was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed several of the well-marked walking trails. It was an excellent stop on the way to the Namib.

The food was plentiful and great."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"Our welcome from Daniel was second to none, a great introduction to the lodge and its facilities.

The staff were fantastic, everyone was friendly and helpful. Stunning location and amazing sunsets and sunrises. The food was outstanding, beautifully cooked and presented. It was like being in a Michelin restaurant in the middle of the desert! Our daughter's vegetarian requests were accommodated with ease, with equally delicious food being created for her.

This is a very special lodge, the main lounge area, deck and bar are beautiful and a relaxing space to unwind in."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

12 Jul 2022 • All-day excursion

An incredible day. We had a reliable, informative and relaxed guide (Daniel) who was happy to help us with our request to climb the sand dune Big Daddy!

Highlights were spotting animal tracks, seeing the lair of a white lady dancing spider and having its behaviour explained to us and a sumptuous lunch banquet, with tablecloths, china, cutlery and glass and delicious food.... all in the middle of the desert.

An experience not to be missed.
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"A good place to stop over between the different phases of our trip.

Accommodating hosts, who let us have breakfast early so we could get to our seal kayaking trip in time.

Convenient location to walk into Swakopmund with ease."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

14 Jul 2022 • Morning excursion

An excellent excursion. The team is run by 2 brothers who really want you to have a good time, they are chatty and funny and give you lots of information as you drive to the area to go kayaking.

All bases are covered, the kayaking kit is all ready and organised and warm, dry clothes are provided. The brothers come out on the water with you, encouraging you to interact with the seals and showing you how. They also take photos and send them to you later.

We really enjoyed this day despite the average weather with poor visibility.

There are large flamingo colonies which we saw on the way there and back.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Stunning location, stunning staff, stunning food. From the moment we arrived, being welcomed in song, to the moment we left, being sung to as we left to make our way onwards, we felt that nothing was too much trouble. The staff really tried to make you feel at home and were exceptional.

The manager, Fritz, led a cohesive and well-drillled team. The guides were knowledgeable and very skilled.

The views from the deck and the swimming pool are outstanding and the rooms are spacious, clean and feel secluded. Each has an enormous outside deck and shower area. It was absolutely beautiful."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"Okaukuejo camp is unique in that it is inside the park, so you can do guided night drives from here (which you can't from the private camps outside Etosha).

The waterhole is also a massive plus point - 25 elephants at one time! However, the accommodation and food available are a disappointment - we were aware that that was likely. Namibian Wildlife Resorts could really improve this, which would improve the overall experience, but has a monopoly, I suppose there is no incentive for them to do so.

We stayed 2 nights here which was enough and also stayed outside the park for a few nights which was excellent. Overall, the waterhole and night drive compensated for the less good facilities in this location."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2022
"Beautiful camp. The tents were great and very luxurious. The peaceful location and pool were relaxing.

The staff were excellent and helpful. The main lodge area was very attractive and comfortable and the food was gorgeous.

We did our own game drives from here back into Etosha which was very close and were able to see large volumes of big animals with little effort."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Unworldly location in a landscape that is unlike any I have seen.

Huge boulders forming hills which light up in the sunrise and sunset. Good short walking trails with bushman paintings to be seen.

Activities include guided walks and drives, both were very enjoyable."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2022
"We were likely enough to be upgraded to the Okonjima Villa which was an outstanding experience. A stunning lodge with deck, infinity pool, waterhole and fire pit, not to mention beautiful, spacious, well furnished rooms with private outside showers and seating areas.

We had amazing staff to make our stay comfortable - Tobias, the Villa Manager; Emily, the chef and Gabriel, the guide. The staff here made our last 2 nights in Namibia a memorable occasion. The food was delicious and beautifully well-presented. We did leopard tracking drives and saw leopards and numerous giraffe. Sundowners on a hill overlooking the reserve with a heartstopping sunset. It was absolutely wonderful.

We did the Africat tour and this was less good than the game drives, the organisation has found that relocating leopards and rehabilitating cheetah and lion does not work and the rehabilitated animals die in the wild. Their emphasis is moving away from animal rescue to education and preservation of natural habitat. The information in the buildings on the tour is outdated and really needs upgrading/updating to show what the organisation is doing now and plans to do in the future."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team