This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge

Reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ai Aiba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ai Aiba Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

33% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"When we arrived much to our joy there was a sounder of warthogs trimming the lawn just outside the dining room.

All the facilities here were first rate. The food excellent, the staff very accommodating.

We were excellently guided to see the painted rocks, their history and speculation on their meaning. On our night walk we enjoyed learning much about the geology and botany of the area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pavel
Eleebana

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"Lodge in a beautiful location renown for rock paintings.

Visit to the well preserved paintings a highlight together with a visit to San Living Museum.

A special attraction were original carvings displayed in the lodge itself." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"Stunning setting but lacking the joyful, Namibian welcome. Service was rather hit and miss and needed better management. Rooms ok but uninspiring.

Game drive found no animals, but a beautiful sunset and nice sundowner drinks. Various beautiful rock art paintings. Having paid for this excursion, we walked alone the next morning and found plenty more rock art close to the camp for free. No-one had told us about this.

The camp had a lot going for it but just lacked atmosphere.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"A convenient overnight stay "

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"Ai Aiba was an overnight stay for us in a pleasant setting. We enjoyed taking the self-guided walk to see the rock paintings and on the walk saw a few animals.

While we were warmly welcomed this welcome was interrupted by a more senior person who seemed not to trust the welcomer. It seemed to us that the staff performed their duties but not with the enthusiasm or joyfulness we had enjoyed previously.

When settling the bill, we were asked if we would like to give something to the staff (the only place that actually did this) and a tray was indicated that was not the 'offical' locked box.

Dinner was an on ok set menu 4 course meal. Of course it is catering to a much bigger guest list than the other places we stayed.




" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
Alstonville

"Scenic location in the granite rocks"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"A scenic location with nice views over valley from rooms and the huge lounge/dining area. Can do short walks around here." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Beautiful lodge in a stunning setting"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2017
"After a long bumpy drive this was a welcome sight.

The service was good, the staff cheerful & keen to serve us, good food in a lovely room overlooking stunning scenery.

The staff took great delight in showing us our first scorpion!!

But we couldn't fault it - the place not the scorpion." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T
Holland Park

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"A beautifully designed lodge. Great scenery. There weren't many guests and the new manager indicated the place had had a few problems. Overall it wasn't a great atmosphere but has the potential to be a very pleasant lodge.

We did a short trip to the bushmen village where we were shown how to make fire, shoot arrows and trap a bird. This was a lovely experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
New York

"Lovely spot"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"Ai Aiba undersells their safari drive here where we both saw amazing wildlife (this said after spending 5 days in Etosha!) and amazing desert vistas.

The staff here was so nice to our family and even baked our six year old a special birthday cake dessert. " See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2017
"Great location with plenty of walking. Rock art on site. Very friendly nd helpful staff.
Slightly disappointed with the meal - set menu/price which wasn't cheap, most other places we stayed at least gave you a choice of two meals." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
89%
9 reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa