This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge

Reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ai Aiba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ai Aiba Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

78% success

Giraffe

70% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Drs M & R
UK

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2022
"Have previously stayed at Erongo Wilderness Lodge in this area so had an idea what to expect. Good accommodation and food.

Helpful staff - a guide advised us on finding a black mongoose - though we were unsuccessful! No negatives - possibly a few too many tourists for us.

We have been to Namibia before and have rather specific agendas. Hence, we tend not to go on organised tours - preferring to do our own thing without other people - and didn't fill out the sightings booklet." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2022
"A long drive, but worth it. A stunning location among rocky hills.

A great drive with the ranger seeing rock art, giraffes and lots of bird life.

Very welcoming and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2022
"Pleasant lodge under the kopjes in lovely walking country.

The view from the chalet was lovely and green and giraffes and zebra made regular appearances. The chalet was attractive and clean. Staff friendly and cheerful." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2022
"Comfortable lodge in pretty location.

Rooms dark and lighting very poor especially in bathroom area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

I and C
Worcester, UK

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2022
"Ai Aiba was a .. on our trip around Namibia about 3+hrs from Windhoek. The lodge was very comfortable and the staff welcoming and friendly. The local area is fascinating in respect of the scenery - the balancing rocks interspersed with variably vegetated valleys. Sunsets were especially lovely.

Food was excellent, our room very comfortable and the pool very welcome. Walking in the bush was excellent with great local birdlife and the chance to look at various nearby rock art sites. Our nature drive - a mixture of rock art and wildlife and flora - was first class." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

AK
USA

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"The lodge was disappointing, especially the food (very basic and not very healthy).

The rooms are too close to each other so one can hear conversations.

On the positive, the location is beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The lodge is showing its age, though everything in the room did work." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
New York

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"The lodge was very good and I'm glad I decided against spending the first night in Windhoek.

Saw some nice wildlife and enjoyed the rock art on the sundowner drive. Went on the trail by camp the following morning; scenery was impressive though the rock art wasn't as good as the night before.

Food was ok - everything was covered in a lot of sauce." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs A.
MA, USA

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2021
"Probably one of the most beautiful lodge settings we've seen! Staff was excellent and food delicious.

We did a self-walking trail, which I highly recommend, and a visit to the San Bushmen Living Museum with a guide. Absolutely amazing experience!! The only regret was that we stayed for only 1 night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr M.
Haifa

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2021
"Very ya place
The public space is charming
Good rooms
Morning trip on a trip to see a really good view andRock painting" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"When we arrived much to our joy there was a sounder of warthogs trimming the lawn just outside the dining room.

All the facilities here were first rate. The food excellent, the staff very accommodating.

We were excellently guided to see the painted rocks, their history and speculation on their meaning. On our night walk we enjoyed learning much about the geology and botany of the area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 18
90%
18 reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
5
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (74 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (36 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (26 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa