This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge

Reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ai Aiba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ai Aiba Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

83% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

50% success

Wildebeest

13% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Ai Aiba Lodge Post Covid Sept 2022"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Ai Aiba is beautifully set amongst the mountains and an ideal stopover on the way back to Windhoek.

The staff were welcoming, the rooms luxurious and the food good. It was an ideal place to wind down for an evening before making the return journey home.

It was also nice to have the self guided walks available - a change from sitting in a vehicle all day!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Richard & Caroline
GB

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2022
"Superb lodge located in the kopjes with hotel provided game/rock art drives and self-walking trails.

Excellent lodge cabins and restaurant. Staff were excellent - very attentive and helpful.

The (young) Eland we saw was in fact the food for a resident leopard that was being stored up a tree - unfortunately no direct leopard sighting, but they are there" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs K
Southamptn

"Stunning location at Ai Aiba"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"As a one night stop off on our way back to the airport we were taken aback by the stunning location.

The staff were very accommodating in assisting us with the on-line check in for our flight home." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Unworldly location in a landscape that is unlike any I have seen.

Huge boulders forming hills which light up in the sunrise and sunset. Good short walking trails with bushman paintings to be seen.

Activities include guided walks and drives, both were very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs M & R
UK

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2022
"Have previously stayed at Erongo Wilderness Lodge in this area so had an idea what to expect. Good accommodation and food.

Helpful staff - a guide advised us on finding a black mongoose - though we were unsuccessful! No negatives - possibly a few too many tourists for us.

We have been to Namibia before and have rather specific agendas. Hence, we tend not to go on organised tours - preferring to do our own thing without other people - and didn't fill out the sightings booklet." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2022
"A long drive, but worth it. A stunning location among rocky hills.

A great drive with the ranger seeing rock art, giraffes and lots of bird life.

Very welcoming and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2022
"Pleasant lodge under the kopjes in lovely walking country.

The view from the chalet was lovely and green and giraffes and zebra made regular appearances. The chalet was attractive and clean. Staff friendly and cheerful." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2022
"Comfortable lodge in pretty location.

Rooms dark and lighting very poor especially in bathroom area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

I and C
Worcester, UK

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2022
"Ai Aiba was a .. on our trip around Namibia about 3+hrs from Windhoek. The lodge was very comfortable and the staff welcoming and friendly. The local area is fascinating in respect of the scenery - the balancing rocks interspersed with variably vegetated valleys. Sunsets were especially lovely.

Food was excellent, our room very comfortable and the pool very welcome. Walking in the bush was excellent with great local birdlife and the chance to look at various nearby rock art sites. Our nature drive - a mixture of rock art and wildlife and flora - was first class." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

AK
USA

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"The lodge was disappointing, especially the food (very basic and not very healthy).

The rooms are too close to each other so one can hear conversations.

On the positive, the location is beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The lodge is showing its age, though everything in the room did work." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 22
91%
22 reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
6
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (76 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (26 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa