This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge

Reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ai Aiba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ai Aiba Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

79% success

Giraffe

75% success

Zebra

54% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Eland

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2022
"Ai Aiba lodge the staff were very welcoming, food was great.

The game viewing trip was perfect we asked to see more of the bushman/san paintings than game, the guide was excellent and took us to multiple locations to view the paintings.

It was a lovely place to stay at for the end of our holiday." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2022
"Ai Aiba Lodge is situated 1,200 meters above sea level on the Northwestern side of the mountain range. The name comes from Damara/Nama language and means “someone who leads the way”. Perhaps how to integrate tourism and nature conservation? The natural game in the area includes kudu, springbok, oryx, dik dik, duiker, klipspringer, mountain zebra, giraffe, jackal, leopard, brown hyena, warthog, aardwolf, aardvark, bat eared fox, small spotted genet, African wild cat, porcupine and many more. Nevertheless, it seems like a safe place to walk around, you only see few animals. Look where you place your feet and hands, it´s also an area with occasionally a snake or a scorpion. Should you meet a cat – don´t run

At arrival, the lodge seems a bit unorganized. No welcome committee ready as we have become used to. Finally, a receptionist welcomes us and introduces everything. We are in room 9. This appears to be a rather large lodge and it´s quite busy with clients right now. Perhaps also because of German autumn school holiday which means many German couples and their children are on the premises.

We are not used to the lager lodges but have been spoiled by intimate luxury lodges with a personal appeal or visiting very remote locations. At dinner first night, children are playing everywhere including inside the restaurant, not exactly candlelight romantics.

At arrival, we are offered a sunset walk to a nearby mountain peak. It turns out to be a party of seventeen (!) newly arrived guests alone with one guide only (!) It would have been reasonable to split into at least two groups, families with their children and couples. After this peculiar “experience”, we decide only to book additional excursions given the group is not too large. Fortunately, there is a nice pool with stunning views.

Next morning we do our own walk along the well-marked trail next to the lodge. It´s only 1 km but takes 45 mins because of the many rock boulders to navigate and interesting bushman paintings. It´s easy to follow the guiding signs. The 2nd evening, we enjoy the sunset in sun chairs by the swimming pool. Afterwards a peaceful dinner in the restaurant – this time only nice children playing on the lawn outside. We are impressed by the high quality of the food in this lodge compared to other good lodges. Third day, we got our own guide for a 2,5 hour morning walk on the plains below the mountains. It was very beautiful and relaxing. If we were to visit again, we would ask for a full day walk.

Pros:
- Spectacular (!) setting in Erongo Mountains
- Nice comfortable clean spacious chalet with air con
- Large pool area
- Perfect with small children
- Good wine list (try the Snow Mountain pinot noir & Groote Post riesling)
- High quality food

Cons:
- Rather big lodge = many guests
- Many families with young children “all over the place” in school holidays
- A bit disorganized / busy, no personal feel
- Many guests per guide, however we got private guide on request" See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"Nothing special. Room very basic. Food basic. Scenery fab.

Didn’t have enough staff. Too big.

Not sure why we went here in hindsight" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
PC Green
Schrassig

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"Beautiful setting in a lodge in need of some renovation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Very nice welcome from a friendly staff team who looked after us well. The rooms are good and the food first rate. The highlight was a half day tour guided by Immanuel who more than held his own against a fellow passenger who was an emeritus professor of Zoology. Their gentle sparring revealed just how experienced and knowledgeable is Immanuel and we lay passengers learned a lot as a result.

The local signposted rock art walk from the lodge is for the nimble and not for the faint hearted." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Ai Aiba Lodge Post Covid Sept 2022"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Ai Aiba is beautifully set amongst the mountains and an ideal stopover on the way back to Windhoek.

The staff were welcoming, the rooms luxurious and the food good. It was an ideal place to wind down for an evening before making the return journey home.

It was also nice to have the self guided walks available - a change from sitting in a vehicle all day!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"This was another place that was really too far off our route to make it a worthy one night stop.

The service here was more slapdash than we have encountered elsewhere. The initial greeting at Reception was muted, with a speedy rendition of information and then we were left to find our own room. Fine, but other lodges pay much more attention.

The room was comfortable and well-appointed, but perhaps somewhat tired and in need of a little tlc. It was rather odd to have a walking trail at the end of the veranda; having a sundowner drink with other people walking past isn't the norm at lodges.

The food was good, but service was haphazard and slow. We were asked if we were ready for dessert, before we'd eaten the main course! We liked the individual breakfast baskets on each table.
We didn't have enough time here to join a tour of the rock paintings. We attempted a self-guided trail, but were unable to deal with the steep path and couldn't clamber over the rocks. That was disappointing." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Richard & Caroline
GB

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2022
"Superb lodge located in the kopjes with hotel provided game/rock art drives and self-walking trails.

Excellent lodge cabins and restaurant. Staff were excellent - very attentive and helpful.

The (young) Eland we saw was in fact the food for a resident leopard that was being stored up a tree - unfortunately no direct leopard sighting, but they are there" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs K
Southamptn

"Stunning location at Ai Aiba"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"As a one night stop off on our way back to the airport we were taken aback by the stunning location.

The staff were very accommodating in assisting us with the on-line check in for our flight home." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Unworldly location in a landscape that is unlike any I have seen.

Huge boulders forming hills which light up in the sunrise and sunset. Good short walking trails with bushman paintings to be seen.

Activities include guided walks and drives, both were very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 28
89%
28 reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
9
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (411 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (78 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (10 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa