This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge
Ai Aiba Lodge

Reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ai Aiba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ai Aiba Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

72% success

Oryx

69% success

Zebra

57% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Eland

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Ros &Peter
Melbourne

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2024
"Great to see the rock paintings here and enjoyed the walking tour to the San village.

Also, the game drive was very well done.

As well as the wildlife listed below, we were pleased to see lots of warthogs and the tiny dik-dik antelope." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Wiltshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2024
"Great location in stunning scenery.

Our room, an attractive thatched chalet with fabulous views, was large and well appointed. However, for the first time, the fridge was crammed full of drinks to purchase, so no room for our water bottles.

Here, we were told not to drink the water but one large bottle was provided.

Staff seemed a little young and inexperienced and restaurant was rather soulless, though food was good.

We did a slightly challenging self-guided walk on arrival, which we loved, then a little later did the complimentary guided sunset walk which was excellent and not quite as challenging.
The guide was entertaining and informative and carried all our drinks for sundowners on the mountain top, including nibbles!

We had a relaxing morning after breakfast and checkout, sitting around the pool enjoying the beautiful scenery." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Y
Suffolk

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2024
"After a long drive this place was really welcome. We would have liked to stay an extra day to do some of the mountain biking on offer, but we did not know this beforehand. Walking on the trail around the rock paintings in the late afternoon was fascinating." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
namibia
sue

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2024
"Driving on the bumpy gravel road for 45 kms off the main road, we couldn't imagine anyone else would be staying at the lodge. On arrival there was a coach and a number of other cars!

It is nestled amongst the most beautiful outcrop of enormous granite rocks with far reaching views. It is strikingly peaceful with rooms dotted under the largest stone outcrop in semi detached fashion. The beds are extremely comfortable and one can lie in bed and follow the uninterrupted view to the horizon. Facilities included a nespresso machine, and tea and coffee making facilities.

A good sized pool is set into the side of the lawn where pet warthogs roam, and there are bicycles available to borrow to explore the surroundings.

Meals are served in a very attractive large thatched room surrounded by floor to ceiling glass sliding doors and overlooking the view. There was a limited choice available on the menu for dinner.

Breakfast was good and varied, some self service and some ordered such as a smoothie, pancakes or the usual cooked offerings." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Cheshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2024
"We were only here for one night, which wasn't enough.

Stunning location" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Ms R
N. Yorkshire

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jan 2024
"Guided evening walk was very informative, with beautiful views.

We also enjoyed the self-guided walk to see some of the rock art - fascinating. Characterful chalet and friendly staff. Nice to have the fire outside at night to watch the waterhole.

It's a lovely place, but we were only there for one night and were glad we didn't have a second night as there were limited things to do - if we re-did the trip we probably wouldn't include it (it wasn't on our original itinerary and I specifically asked to go there, so this is not Expert Africa's fault!)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mrs L.
London

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2023
"Beautiful scenery and staff very professional.

Would highly recommend a visit to the San living museum next door" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N
United Kingdom

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2023
"Beautiful surroundings, wonderful food, fantastic value for money." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2023
"Quite a large lodge with about 20 rooms, but with really welcoming, genuine and friendly staff throughout and a great setting making it feel quite special. The rooms are semi-detached bungalows set fairly close together. Strangely due to the screening and staggered layout, the adjacent bungalow tends to be a little more intrusive than the semi-detached room. Rooms themselves are of high quality.

There is quite a large pool, pool-side area and bar. The lodge definitely attracts families; this area was never noisy but children of all ages were more than welcome to enjoy themselves.

Food was excellent. Service at dinner was a bit more UK than Namibia - a bit of a pause between ordering and courses, and finished plates stayed on the table until others had finished - all fine by us.

The self-guided walk above the accommodation is short but interesting and can easily last 45 minutes. It has some well preserved rock art and good views through the rocks and across the plains. We did the morning guided walk and evening sundowner walk which were similarly interesting with great views. Both guides were excellent.

There is no other access for self-guided walking, apparently due to tourists collecting plants for medicines. The advertised other morning walk option has been replaced by a game drive.

Overall, a very nice relaxing place with plenty to do for a couple of nights. All the staff across management, reception, bar, restaurant, guides and room preparation deserve recognition for their attitude and welcome." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2023
"Wow! Do not stay less than 2 nights. Great room food, staff, location. Took the complimentary sundowner climb/hike. Very knowledgeable guide. Took the paid visit to the Sani Bush people living museum and a sundowner to additional rock paintings. We saw plus or minus 100 paintings. On our own we might have seen 10. The last morning we engaged a guide to lead us on the lodge "hiking trail". Could not have navigated or accomplished it without his assistance. Rewarded with more rock paintings.

Ai Aiba Lodge is a magical place!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 43
91%
43 reviews of Ai Aiba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
14
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (413 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (85 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (68 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


90% (37 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (36 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


78% (27 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


83% (13 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa