This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cheetah View Lodge
Cheetah View Lodge
Cheetah View Lodge
Cheetah View Lodge

Reviews of Cheetah View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cheetah View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cheetah View.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

100% success

Eland

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Pangolin

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Interesting and worthwhile visit"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"We were very glad we went to Cheetah View. The 'Little Serengeti' game drive with Job was excellent and he was as excited as us to come across a pangolin - a very strange scaled animal he'd only spotted once before this season. The landscape is lovely and quite different in this area, with far views of the Waterberg plateau, and Job's stories about the development of the reserve from a failed farm were fascinating.

The Cheetah-related activities (feeding and exercising) were also very interesting and it was wonderful to see them at such close quarters. We were a fairly large group of visitors but the staff gave good clear presentations of the work they're doing and are clearly passionate about raising awareness of the threat to cheetahs.

The lodgings weren't as luxurious as the other lodges we experienced, but they were perfectly fine. The evening meal was really good but the breakfast was a bit haphazard - what, empty coffee pots?? There was a pleasant garden and cafe, a well-stocked souvenir shop and some interesting displays and posters that would engage children. We were happy that our visit made a contribution to this work.

One point to note is that Cheetah View isn't well signposted from Otjiwarongo. In fact, the road leads from the town to a municipal tip and a faded sign that warns unauthorised people not to go past it, plus a turning to a military base. Venture bravely on and you'll find a sign for the reserve further down the road and then a manned security gate." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Mrs J.
Sussex

"Cheetah View Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"Good accommodation with sitting room, balcony overlooking the bush and comfortable bed. Interesting to learn about their work with the cheetahs and the dogs but the walking tour was a bit disappointing as the animals were all asleep under trees. An indifferent dinner (ran out of gin and tonic) and disappointing breakfast - lack of cereal choice, overcooked eggs.

Overall, a good stopping place between Etosha and Windhoek." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs Braddock
UK

"Cheetah View Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Some distance off the main road is this site.

A so very necessary sanctuary for rescued cheetahs and research station dedicated for the study and survival of this magnificent animal. Just a few rooms but they are spacious very clean and well fitted out. Food in the small friendly restaurant and lounge with again very helpful and friendly staff. We were made to feel special welcomed guests. But the cheetahs are the stars and witnessing their speed at the morning run was magnificent!!!

A must for anybody going to Namibia!!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Cheetah View Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Luckily we did arrive in time to see the cheetahs being fed which is only once a day at 2.00pm and this was included as part of the accommodation cost. We enjoyed seeing the cheetahs and learning about the rehabilitation program through questioning the manager of these cheetahs.

We did not undertake any of the extra trips as we were late arriving and needed to leave in the morning. We would have liked the opportunity to be able to view the cubs and some of the work that is done with the cheetahs, on a video or through photographs, for example. Perhaps it was possible to visit the research centre, if so we missed this piece of information.

While the units were comfortable, we (all 4 of us) found the sloping 'staircase' a bit of a hazard and had to make sure that we left the lights on to illuminate the 'steps'.

One of our party was ill and had to miss dinner. Dr Brewer and Dr. Marker, who dined with our group, showed concern and kindness and offered help.

" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Mr G
Alstonville

"Easy to see cheetahs up close."

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Good place to learn about cheetahs, not too far from Windhoek. No activities included, so you need to pay for activities to see much. Could integrate overnight stays with activities better. If you want to see daily (free) cheetah feeding arrive by early afternoon or stay several days." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Dr & Mrs S
France

"Lazy cheetahs"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"Cheetah view is newly opened in 2017 and is located at the Cheetah Conservancy near to Otjiwarongo. It is a convenient place to stop en route to or from Etosha.

The rooms are comfortable without being anything special. We had an evening meal and breakfast and found the food to be (at best) average. Most of the wine on the list turned out to be not available and we ended up paying for a relatively expensive bottle that was delivered (opened already) to our table in place of the more modestly priced one that we had ordered,

The CCF offers a wide range of activities to learn about their work with Cheetahs. We went on the (so-called) Cheetah Run in the morning before breakfast - the cheetahs are supposed to be exercised by chasing a lure pulled around the field at high speed.. Well our four cheetahs were not very energetic and spent most of the half hour lying down. Perhaps we were unlucky - but we did feel it a bit overpriced and something that might have been included as part the overnight accommodation. We decided to look on it (and the wine) as a donation to an enterprise that is doing commendable work to preserve these beautiful animals.

To summarise, this is a convenient stop over en route to Etosha and would be a good place to learn about cheetahs and to get close to see one if you have not seen them in the wild.

We were a bit disappointed overall." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Earlier iffy reports endorsed"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"If cheetahs are your thing, then you MUST come here. The CCF is a real driving force in conservation.

....However, the lodge part of the business is a long way short of being up and running. It almost feels unwanted, a new add-on that must be put up with. I don't think that cheetah conservers can possibly put hotel keeping very high up their list of priorities! So that you know about the rooms:
- There is no a/c
- There is no fridge
- There is no shade on the front side (meaning that the verandah and sitting area are unusable in the morning)
- There is no phone (meaning a 1km round trip to reception to sort anything out)
- There are no staff during the day (except at reception)(1 km round trip)
- There is no drinking water in the rooms (1km round trip)
- There is only a very limited view because of the proximity of the bush.

Having said all that, we still quite enjoyed our couple of days here. I found the food much better than an earlier review suggested and I quite liked our room despite its shortcomings. I appreciated learning about the plight of the cheetah and Laurie, the driving force behind it all, was very willing to chatter. The morning cheetah run was a bit of a damp squib, but it was nice to chat with enthusiasts.

The café for lunch had a limited menu. In fact, it only had cheese dishes whilst we were there. And no cheese was available!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
New Forest

"A pleasant interlude."

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Watching the cheetahs being exercised was very interesting, as was learning about the work being done in the centre.

The hospitality side is a new venture and there are still a few wrinkles to iron out, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There is a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere here and for us it was a welcome break from early starts and long days.

On the second evening we had a splendid Sunderdowner drive with a surprising amount of wildlife, followed by a very tasty and tender steak!

" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Gurinder & Jill
UK

"New facility to see cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We appreciate this accommodation only opened in June 2017 and we were asked for our feedback at the property too, which we would sum up as: CHEETAH RUN EXCELLENT; other activities & game drives POOR; room VG but sadly the food wasn't. I think they can improve upon this in the future. Also to mention the view at the back of the lodges is all bush and close to the lodges so once gets a claustrophobic feeling rather than an open view towards the Waterberg Plateau (so perhaps they should not make a point of this in their literature - because you frankly cannot see it). One other thing we would say about the rooms was that they really need to provide fridges because it is very hot in this location and one needs to chill water.

NB THE CHEETAH RUN IS THE BEST ACTIVITY HERE " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-9 of 9
80%
9 reviews of Cheetah View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
1
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa