This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Braddock from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Namibia Trip

Namibia between 4 Sep 2018 and 20 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I have always said that I would set foot on all seven continents before I was dead and gone and although I had been to Tunisia and Eqypt and therefore have set foot on the African continent it was never the "Africa" that comes to mind. But the seventh continent under our belt I never really considered a safari seriously until some friends went to Namibia with Expert Africa. They were full of praise for their experience with Expert Africa and Namibia in particular and so we gave it a go and how very VERY glad we did!!!!

We have fallen in love with Namibia, a beautiful vast country with helpful friendly people wherever we went and not just in the Lodges. The vast distances to travel over also do not detract from the experience but indeed add to it making me certainly feel I have travelled and experienced Africa to the fullest.

This trip has certainly eaten into my soul and that of my wife dictating that we will return to not just Namibia but also to neighbouring countries to see more of this fabulous continent and experience the wildlife up close and personal. As a photographer it has been a dream and trawling through my photographs I am longing to return!!!!!

Thank you Africa, Thank you Namibia, Thank you Expert Africa and Thank you Josh Flatman for your valued help and patience in arranging such a wonderful experience...............do you need a mystery shopper to go out for you to check on the Lodges?????????

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Absolutely none!!!!!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Excellent and spacious accommodation with friendly staff and excellent food!!!!!

Even in Scotland I have not been offered a single malt whiskey with my morning porridge!!!!!

I like this place!!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Excellent location for walks and many on offer with the Farm.

Meals were excellent with the added bonus of one large communal table eating with the owners giving the ability to learn about their life in Namibia, problems of living in a remote area and being a fabulous way of getting guests to intermingle!!!

Excellent food, friendly staff, spacious accommodation.......and oh those night skies with all those stars!!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Fabulous accommodation in individual huts! Excellent food and friendly and helpful staff.

Just a chance remark I made when on the sundowner trip about it would be great to have a night safari to be away from all lights, even the lights from the Lodge to do some Astrophotography saw the manager come to me at Dinner and ask me if I wanted the guide to take me out - no charge - away from the Lodge lights to take some photos of the Milky Way!!!!!!

Emmanual was very helpful and interested in my photography and took me quite a way from any lights giving fabulous views of such a wonderful Namibian night sky!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giadino"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Delightful Swiss Chalet style accommodation provided by the Swiss owner!!!! Very welcoming and friendly!

Sam served us at breakfast our fresh orange juice and sat with us chatting as he drank his coffee.

Fabulous to learn about his life and how he ended up in Swakopmund and about Namibian life, really great that he took an interest in his guests and took time to chat over a cup of coffee!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

10 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

An early morning start, mist rolling in from the sea as we set off the short distance to Walvis Bay to join another couple on this trip.

Our helpful and friendly guide was superb, informative about the wildlife in the area and passionate about the wildlife and its security. This is a must do trip interacting with playful seals and guided expertly by our guide.

A return to shore and she produced steaming cups of coffee and some fabulous sandwiches and pastries.........so glad they were after the kayaking otherwise I might have sank mine!!!!!!
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland camp"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"I admit to being somewhat concerned at the instructions provided for directions to this camp. A 13km drive after turning off the road and on tracks that were described as requiring a 4X4. Now, we had indeed hired a 4X4 and although special care was needed in some places provided care was taken, the drive wasn't bad. But intrigue mounted as the road wound itself deeper and higher into the mountains eventually leading into the camp!

Fabulous reception with an open aspect that at night was transformed into a magical setting with burning fire with oh so comfortable sofas around to relax on, the fire taking away the chill of a desert night. Food was served at a large communal table affording the demand that all guests sit together giving the ability to exchange stories!!! Meals were "announced" with a degree of flourish describing our forthcoming culinary delights with pride and announcing the accompanying wine with heart felt pride!

Barriers broken down between guests as they sit together over a meal conversation flowed easily helped by the attentive staff until it was time to retire. Now, I must say that the lighting to our individual chalet was somewhat limited, however, that suited me as I could then step out only a few yards away from our chalet and set up my camera to photograph inky black skies of Namibia studded with oh so many twinkling stars!!!!

Such an awe inspiring Milky Way arching majestically over the camp!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Taking the turn off from the road towards this camp we drove expectantly over the flat plain surrounded by jagged peaks of mountains on the horizon towards a small hill on which it turned out was the main building of the camp.

I parked and was sorting something out in our car as my wife ascended the steps through the imposing rustic doors into the reception, she was only moments ahead of me but as she entered she was greeted by wonderful singing voices! They stopped their native sounding vocal greeting just before I entered and as I did so.........I was rewarded with a similar singing greeting!!!!! Now that's a first for me in a hotel! It seemed the entire staff were assembled to greet us in a rather wonderful native style musical chant!!!!! Beat that for a friendly welcome!

Very friendly and helpful, even though our only nights stay with them was on their barbeque night several hundred yards out into the desert and therefore all staff were hands on to help, they still managed to get a staff member to sit and guard my camera as I made a four hour time lapse video of the setting sun and ascending Milky Way - that was ultimately condensed into 7 secs of real time video as we were guided out to the dining area for a delicious meal!!!

Fabulous individual and spacious accommodation in a glorious setting.........I could have stayed longer!!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Anybody going to Namibia for a holiday is going to go to Etosha and on an anti-clockwise overall trip they will arrive first here. This is quite a large camp with a good restaurant serving excellent food. Rooms are adequate and clean and spacious but the best bit is the Waterhole!!!!!!

Just sitting quietly around the hole during the day or when lit up at night you can see so much!!!! On our first night a pride of Lions caught a giraffe just outside the range of the light but the morning brought the spectacle of their capture with a number of feeding lions. We were also blessed with no less than 9 Rhinos at the hole the following evening. A magical place in itself but venture out into the park and you have a feast of wildlife sightings!!!!!!

Great camp to visit!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Just outside the eastern exit to Etosha in its own game reserve, this camp is luxurious!

Beautiful, spacious well appointed individual chalets. A great restaurant and lounge area overlooking its own waterhole. This is 5 star safari experience!!!

Very helpful and friendly staff. We went on the sundowner tour and the guide knew exactly where to find a pride of lions - we were up close and personal for quite a long magical time. And then off to a quiet open location where we could get out of the truck and enjoy a drink as we witnessed the beautiful setting sun!!!

Excellent food, friendly, helpful staff in beautiful surroundings - can't ask for more than that!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"Cheetah View Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Some distance off the main road is this site.

A so very necessary sanctuary for rescued cheetahs and research station dedicated for the study and survival of this magnificent animal. Just a few rooms but they are spacious very clean and well fitted out. Food in the small friendly restaurant and lounge with again very helpful and friendly staff. We were made to feel special welcomed guests. But the cheetahs are the stars and witnessing their speed at the morning run was magnificent!!!

A must for anybody going to Namibia!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Immanuel Wilderness"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"This is a really lovely camp run by a German couple who are passionately in love with Namibia and providing a comfortable stay for their guests.

Meals are beautifully cooked by the owner and proudly served by the attentive and friendly staff. And the owner personally talks to each of the guests to enquire if everything is OK!

Lovely restaurant and intimate lounge area overlooking beautifully designed grounds to relax within. Rooms could do with a little updating although clean and comfortable but as the owner confides, his priority has been the grounds and restaurant/lounge areas for development and has not been able to as yet refurbish the rooms - budgets only go so far!!!!!

But a worthy resting place with superb food cooked lovingly by the owner!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team