This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Very warm and welcoming. TK led 4 of us on an excursion to Sossusvlei which included a champagne picnic. Outside dining was attractive and the food was great. I was surprised when there was no charge for laundry." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
Hartfield

"Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Florida

"Beautiful views, nice dining area"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"Good dinners, food, service, No kettle or coffee service in rooms. No internet, said it had been down for a week.

Pleasant staff, nice rooms. Nice atmosphere in the lodge common area, nice setting.

Wonderful views of the desert, mountains, oryx, horses.

About 30 minutes to entrance of Sossusvlei, not a bad drive.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Clean and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"We stayed here two nights and it was our fifth place on our trip. I think most people will have had a long drive to get to Sossusvlei and it is easy to find Desert Homestead. The roads in this area were probably the worst ones we uncounted, although the driveway was nice and smooth. Staff are polite but I would say not as friendly as the previous lodges we had stayed in.

Check in was efficient but there was no offer to carry bags to your room along the gravel path. I saw one women struggling to drag her wheelie suitcase along the gravel. We found there were a lot of young people working here who didn’t really know what they were doing, especially at the bar. The accommodation is individual cabins, which are quite small, although the bathroom was quite spacious. The room does have air conditioning but the mains do not seem to be able to cope with the demand of all the cabins, so often cuts out. When we arrived the safe had been locked shut and it took a lot of badgering before someone finally came and fixed it for us.

It appeared that you couldn’t request a table reservation so people tended to be seated early to get the best spots, which was no hardship really. The food was good with three choices from what I remember. Service was a bit haphazard with orders being taken and being delivered to the last people first. Although there were no tea making facilities in the room, hot and cold drinks and snacks were available at the bar, which was a nice touch.

There is a waterhole in front of the lodges but one of the guides told us you never get any wildlife there, which was accurate on our visit.

We did the organised trip to Sossusvlei dunes but on the day we went it was extremely windy so visibility was poor. This trip was still worth doing as I think it is easy to get stuck in the sand if you self drive. Even the official transport in the park got stuck when we were there and had to be pulled out. The guide we had was very informative and professional and tried to make the visit as interesting as possible. Our picnic brunch among the dunes had to be taken in another lodges canteen but there was plenty to eat and drink and it was fun. We had also booked the balloon ride over the dunes but unfortunately due to the high winds this was cancelled too.

Although this accommodation was comfortable and clean I think I would probably look for a different place if I was to visit again as there is lots of choice in this area..

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

J and M
Ightham

"Beautiful tranquil setting"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"Simple accommodation but a lovely setting and the staff were lovely and seemed to genuinely love working there. Food was great. We used this as a base to go to sossoufvlei which worked perfectly. It was lovely to take a walk on their nature trail too." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Braddock
UK

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Fabulous accommodation in individual huts! Excellent food and friendly and helpful staff.

Just a chance remark I made when on the sundowner trip about it would be great to have a night safari to be away from all lights, even the lights from the Lodge to do some Astrophotography saw the manager come to me at Dinner and ask me if I wanted the guide to take me out - no charge - away from the Lodge lights to take some photos of the Milky Way!!!!!!

Emmanual was very helpful and interested in my photography and took me quite a way from any lights giving fabulous views of such a wonderful Namibian night sky!!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B family
Weybridge

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"We were aware that was quite a drive to the dunes but we stayed 3 nights so that we could have one of the days doing activities at the camp. Rooms were more basic than other places we stayed at but the setting was beautiful and very respectful of the local landscape.

We stayed in the family room which was set back a little so didn't have the views the main 2 person stone cottages, but the bar and terrace had amazing view so it didn't really matter. The horse riding was a great experience for the kids and we were the only ones on the sundowner drive which made it really special.

They do a great 'breakfast packet' which is more like a packed lunch which keeps you going when you are out at the dunes etc during the day. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Stunning Desert Homestead "

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"Wow, what a location. We were blown away by the views and sunsets. The lodge was very comfortable and the individual chalets nicely furnished and styled. Sitting outside for dinner (good food) and watching the sunset felt a privilege and is something I will never forget.

All the staff were lovely. Never seen so many stars in the night sky. One of our group went for a sunset horse ride and had a blast. Cantering out towards the mountains and stopping for a sundowner before returning just before dark. We drove ourselves to Sossusvlei early morning and hiked up Little Daddy (more manageable than Big Daddy). Strenuous but amazing. An otherworldly landscape.

Get here as early as possible to try and capture some solitude before too many people arrive. " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

TansySue
UK

"Authentic desert location"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2018
"Our standard room (No 23) was 3rd from the far end of the crescent which did entail quite long walks to the main building. However we did appear to have a slightly bigger room than those nearer; twin with a 3rd bed in the window. We had a couple of chairs on a terrace and looked out over the barren desert to the nearby mountain range but at our end of the crescent did not afford a view of the setting sun.

After dinner we enjoyed a private session to introduce us to the Southern skies by our knowledgeable guide and even managed to capture this on camera as the air was so clear and we were in a 'dark sky' area.

We showered in the evening as our hot water tank was heated by solar panels and as the capacity looked to be fairly small we doubted there would be enough hot water for the morning. The water supplying the hand basin was just one cold tap.

There were loads of power points, more than any other accommodation and a generous area for storing and repacking our luggage. The most enormous mirror assisted the use of the provided hairdryer. The lighting in the bedroom after dark was rather poor.

Wi-Fi was advertised but in fact we never did get a signal as they were waiting for an engineer to come and fix it although another couple appeared to have been given a code to a different signal and were able to catch up on their communications.

It was nice to have complimentary afternoon tea and cake provided. One evening we ate Oryx for dinner.

" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Quite businesslike, but good"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"There was a slight feel of hospitality-by-numbers here rather than spontaneous service - but let's not knock it; we had a private feeling room (even if there was a row of twenty five or so) , looking out over the desert and a waterhole. It was comfortable and well thought out. The communal area had good views and was also well arranged and spacious. The staff were pretty good and willing and thankfully guests were just a little more important than the attendant paperwork.

We did the sundowner horse ride as rank beginners and were well and thoughtfully looked after. Thank you. We also did the Soussevlei trip in a group of ten. I think you'd have to arrange a private trip to get the isolation you'd expect from a desert trip, but I did quite enjoy it, and it's handy to have someone taking you to the right bits. Both activities were worthwhile." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa