This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

92% success

Zebra

44% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Giraffe

14% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"A very pleasant stay in a well appointed, clean and stylish room. Air con a bonus. Had a fun sundowner trip with TK as guide. Lovely evening meal.

Good base for trip to Sossuvlei/Deadvlei. Be prepared for it to be very windy - sandy wind, quite unpleasant at times.

We decided to pay and go with the lodge's guide (TK again). Our 'champagne breakfast' turned into lunch - small but lovely group of people. this trip included a stop for a walk down into a canyon - not too arduous." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mr G.
Wantage

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2022
"A very characterful location with a stunning view of desert and mountain from the chalets, all nicely positioned so that you couldn't see any other buildings from the big picture windows.

After an at times juddering journey on gravel roads this was a delightful oasis to arrive at. Like a number of other places we stayed at where we were out most of the day, it was shame we only had two nights to enjoy the accommodation. The barking geckos hidden in the sand were calling all evening and night - surreal.

The wildlife seen as well as the oryx listed below included black-backed jackal and springbok, from both Desert Homestead and in the Sesriem-Sossusvlei area. Chacma Baboon were at Sesriem canyon. Near Dead Vlei there were many golden mole burrows in the sand (none seen unfortunately).

We saw our first Ostritch of the trip at Sossusvlei, and my very first Red-necked Falcons nesting it seemed in an old nest in an acacia (they don't build their own)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs J
Ludlow

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2022
"We stayed two nights here as our children had booked a balloon flight for us. Sadly it was cancelled due to the wind. ( I find it hard to believe as we live in a windy country and what we experienced in Namibia was not wind) However, we didn’t miss it at all as we did two expeditions from the Homestead.

One was the sundowner and the other was during the day. We did them on our own, which I loved and the guides were delightful and very knowledgeable. This is where we saw our first wildlife. On the grand scheme of things there was nothing big but it was real! We loved it.

We saw squirrels, my first jackal, an ostrich and the wonderful weaver birds left their enormous communal nest to join us for our Sundownwer!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Paia, Hawaii

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2021
"the lodge , the view , the bar ,built right into the huge boulders , were all amazing ! I went on a game drive up a dry river - saw my first desert Elephants - very close . rode a horse - saw a Zebra run by my bungalow . He was an orphan saved by the stable staff - he eats with the horses , and then trots off into the sunset , happily chuckling and tossing his head . Dune 45 is a must see - you can walk up to the top , with all the other towering dunes all around . look for a bar tender named Keven - he is very well spoken , and a good listener ." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

A, D, & M
Boston, USA

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2021
"Wonderful lodge and staff! Beautiful setting and comfortable rooms with wonderful views.

We did the sundowner on horseback and enjoyed every moment!

We also went to Sossusvlei with their guide and were so glad that we did! We climbed Big Daddy, had wonderful lunch, and finished the day at the Sesriem Canyon.
The guide was very patient and never rushed us when we stopped for photos." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Very warm and welcoming. TK led 4 of us on an excursion to Sossusvlei which included a champagne picnic. Outside dining was attractive and the food was great. I was surprised when there was no charge for laundry." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.
Hartfield

"Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Florida

"Beautiful views, nice dining area"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"Good dinners, food, service, No kettle or coffee service in rooms. No internet, said it had been down for a week.

Pleasant staff, nice rooms. Nice atmosphere in the lodge common area, nice setting.

Wonderful views of the desert, mountains, oryx, horses.

About 30 minutes to entrance of Sossusvlei, not a bad drive." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Clean and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"We stayed here two nights and it was our fifth place on our trip. I think most people will have had a long drive to get to Sossusvlei and it is easy to find Desert Homestead. The roads in this area were probably the worst ones we uncounted, although the driveway was nice and smooth. Staff are polite but I would say not as friendly as the previous lodges we had stayed in.

Check in was efficient but there was no offer to carry bags to your room along the gravel path. I saw one women struggling to drag her wheelie suitcase along the gravel. We found there were a lot of young people working here who didn’t really know what they were doing, especially at the bar. The accommodation is individual cabins, which are quite small, although the bathroom was quite spacious. The room does have air conditioning but the mains do not seem to be able to cope with the demand of all the cabins, so often cuts out. When we arrived the safe had been locked shut and it took a lot of badgering before someone finally came and fixed it for us.

It appeared that you couldn’t request a table reservation so people tended to be seated early to get the best spots, which was no hardship really. The food was good with three choices from what I remember. Service was a bit haphazard with orders being taken and being delivered to the last people first. Although there were no tea making facilities in the room, hot and cold drinks and snacks were available at the bar, which was a nice touch.

There is a waterhole in front of the lodges but one of the guides told us you never get any wildlife there, which was accurate on our visit.

We did the organised trip to Sossusvlei dunes but on the day we went it was extremely windy so visibility was poor. This trip was still worth doing as I think it is easy to get stuck in the sand if you self drive. Even the official transport in the park got stuck when we were there and had to be pulled out. The guide we had was very informative and professional and tried to make the visit as interesting as possible. Our picnic brunch among the dunes had to be taken in another lodges canteen but there was plenty to eat and drink and it was fun. We had also booked the balloon ride over the dunes but unfortunately due to the high winds this was cancelled too.

Although this accommodation was comfortable and clean I think I would probably look for a different place if I was to visit again as there is lots of choice in this area.." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

J and M
Ightham

"Beautiful tranquil setting"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"Simple accommodation but a lovely setting and the staff were lovely and seemed to genuinely love working there. Food was great. We used this as a base to go to sossoufvlei which worked perfectly. It was lovely to take a walk on their nature trail too." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 103
91%
103 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
32
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (340 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (183 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (178 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (68 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


93% (11 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa