This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2017
"A bit of a drive from the Namib-Naukluft NP. We chose to take a organised drive from the camp to the N Park - good decision. Our guide was excellent and enabled us to have a much better more0informative experience than we would have had driving ourselves.

We had our only puncture of the trip within a mile or so of this camp - the staff could not have been more helpful in helping us get this fixed - many thanks for excellent customer service." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms L
Heathfield

"Good location for exploring Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"We enjoyed our two nights at Desert Homestead. It is about 25 km from Sossusvlei along a very rough gravel road.

Our hut was quite small, but well appointed with a lovely bathroom and great views of the mountains. The staff are maybe not as friendly as some we have encountered but they provided everything we needed. The food was very good and there were lots of options for tables outside or in.

We went horse-riding, which we wouldn't really recommend highly as the guide wasn't very talkative and the horses seemed rather tired. The walk up the mountain from the Homestead is worth doing, especially at sunset." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

"Sundowners and Dunes in the Desert..."

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"Stunning location and super rooms - we had two new 'huts' 24 and 25 furthest from the main centre of the camp but worth it for the location and view. Do climb the nearby hill for a view back over the camp and the mountains.

We did the sun-downer drive which was simply amazing. Completely isolated stunning view as the sun went down with drinks and nibbles - a very special memory.

Use this as a reasonably close location for the dunes - we did the drive to the Sestriem gate and then into the dunes with breakfast included. The trip was a little long but absolutely a highlight of our Namibia trip. Very knowledgeable guides with great ability to find snakes and spiders...

Rooms are super and the beds wonderful - and what a view to wake up to. Sky at night is awesome too." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2017
"Drive from Swakopmund to Desert Homestead. A long hard drive. Took more like 8 hours. Not a good road altho very scenic. Wished we had stayed somewhere en route - there looked to be some interesting/ attractive places.

Desert Homestead. Suggest that on the separate page about this place it says that it is 22 kms south of Sesriem. It seemed to be endless getting there. (Later I saw on our itinerary that it is “just over 30kms from Sesriem”). Also there are two parts to the Desert Homestead, both signposted separately from the road. We guessed - correctly - we were in the Lodge but it may help to say exactly which part is booked.

It was a lovely spot - again good food, really attractive chalets. We went with the lodge guide to Sossusvlei - a good choice. Another day here would have been very nice too - to walk around a bit or relax by their pool. The setting was very scenic - made up for it being further away from Sesriem for visiting Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Staff were very friendly and happy to assist when asked although not that proactive. Unlike other lodges we stayed at, no one offered to help carry our bags from the car to the room (I later saw a note in reception saying that if we wanted help moving luggage to please ask). Facilities were good and rooms comfortable. We found the evening meal choice very average although the staff tried very hard to entertain us with their singing.

However, we did find that it was a little too far away from Sossusvlei especially considering that there is still a long drive once you get to Sesriem gate to access Dune 45, the Deadvlei, etc. Next time, depending on costs, I would consider somewhere located closer to Sesriem gate as the sightseeing in the park/reserve was our main reason for visiting the area." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr MA
SE London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2017
"Fractionally less luxurious than some other lodges, but exhilarating sense of space and adventure and particularly enjoyed sundowner ride out ( crazy gallop ) and interaction with the staff" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2017
"Excellent value for money.

Very friendly and helpful staff.Nice sundowner drive with very knowledgeable guide.

Great food and ambiance. Reasonably close to Sossusvllei dunes." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Portsmouth

"Great location for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"Food was excellent, particularly enjoyed the savory tarts served with afternoon tea. Nice room with lovely decor and a big bathroom.

Good base for Sossusvlei dunes -an easy drive. No need to pay for a guide from the hotel We ordered a breakfast package from the lodge and arrived at the dunes for 6am when the gates open.

Small pool with a variety of shaded and un-shaded seating.

Great views from room and main lodge. We did the short walk up to the rocky Hill to watch the sun go down which was worth doing. Also did the horseback sunset ride which was fun but not as good as the other activities we had done as they forgot to let the stables know we had booked on and prepare our horses in time and we had to ride back in the dark." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Floral Park

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2017
"Nice view, rooms were great." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"the Desert was amazing"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2016
"This was a really lovely portion of our trip and was a great place to see the stars.

Oryx walked right up to our room!

It was hot all night long here." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa