This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by B family from Weybridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Our 2018 Namibian Adventure

Namibia between 17 Aug 2018 and 2 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was absolutely amazing and felt like quite a few holidays in one.

The one thing we would change would be go for 3 weeks rather 2 (as per many of the other Europeans!) if we could get the time off. Namibia is such a varied country with amazing landscapes, teeming with wildlife and great hospitality.

Every place we stayed (and there were 7) had a wow factor and I wonder if any other country will ever offer us so much again.

We only saw one other British family when we were there so it really is one of those best kept secrets!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2018
"A lovely rest stop after a long journey.

Warm hospitality, nicely designed rooms with some stunning photography and very delicious dinner."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"We were aware that was quite a drive to the dunes but we stayed 3 nights so that we could have one of the days doing activities at the camp. Rooms were more basic than other places we stayed at but the setting was beautiful and very respectful of the local landscape.

We stayed in the family room which was set back a little so didn't have the views the main 2 person stone cottages, but the bar and terrace had amazing view so it didn't really matter. The horse riding was a great experience for the kids and we were the only ones on the sundowner drive which made it really special.

They do a great 'breakfast packet' which is more like a packed lunch which keeps you going when you are out at the dunes etc during the day."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"Really nice guesthouse in central Swakopmund. Breakfast was delightful and the hospitality warm (Peter the owner was very attentive). A great base for this interesting town.

Also, recommend the kayaking with seals trip with Jeanne...absolutely fantastic!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

23 Aug 2018 • Morning excursion

Excellent trip... Jeanne has a real passion for what she does and is totally respectful to the environment. She is also very skilled at driving through sand!

The kayaking is very easy and the sea was full of seals, bobbing up and down and leaping into air. They seemed to enjoy us being there and were very interactive...they would nibble at the end of the oar, or even liked having their tummy tickled ;-).

We also saw flamingoes, jackals and other sea birds. This was our highlight in Swakopmund by far!
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"This is a really quirky and stunning camp.

It is hard to even see it as you drive up as it has been so clearly created within the landscape. The rooms are great but the outside shower, bathroom and verandah really make it.

The food was excellent and the sundowner bar at the top of the hill a delight.

The trips to the Rock Carvings and the Desert Elephants are well worth it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"This is a really unique place. 50,000 hectares of private reserve with this camp the only concession. It is an 1.5hr drive in by land rover but that is a game drive in itself.

The tents and communal areas are quite utilitarian but this is all part of the magic. The guided walk and game drive are great but the scary skies and the fact that we were only 4 out of the 20 tourists staying in this vast area made it really special.

All night we could zebras snorting and neighing around our tent and it was lovely to get up first thing and see them grazing happily close by."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"The waterhole makes this camp. The rooms, food and facilities are quite basic but being able to watch endless animals coming to the waterhole to drink on an ongoing basis with a glass of wine in your hand make this really special.

If you can get beyond the fact that there quite a lot of people milling about and get lost in the safari movie in front of you, you will love it. We saw many rhino, giraffes and lots of antelope but the highlight was watching what must have been about 40 elephants at sunset. This waterhole had more action than many of the ones within the park that you drive to, so to have this within easy reach at all times it ideal.

Definitely the place to stay in Etosha."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"This is a fab place and we wish we had had longer than one night. Rooms are massive and with stunning views, food was excellent and the guide on the game drive was probably the best we had.

For the first time ever we saw leopard...twice! and some cheetah. We went on a night drive and saw aardvark and porcupine.

They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary and as it was our last night it made it very special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team