This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from BC Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Our Sep-Oct 2019 African trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2019 and 21 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was amazing! We had a wonderful time, especially in Botswana. The scenery and the lodges in Namibia were exceptional but our enjoyment of them was tempered by the poor condition of many of the unmaintained gravel roads. The government should get on to this if they are serious about the importance of tourism to their economy."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Moremi Wildlife Safari

"Excellent safari experience in Moremi"

7 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"We felt privileged, on our fly-in camping safari, to travel with the same guide and companions for the entire week. The level of comfort in our tent and the camp was remarkable. Meals were wonderful. Our knowledgable guide Lucas was affable, a very good driver, and spotted animals we would never have seen on our own. Although our visit was during the dry season and after a long drought, there was enough surface water to make us feel comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"City Lodge is right in the airport, but the airport is very large and security lineups for international flights can be long!"
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Very warm and welcoming. TK led 4 of us on an excursion to Sossusvlei which included a champagne picnic. Outside dining was attractive and the food was great. I was surprised when there was no charge for laundry."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"We were sorry that the meerkat program had been cancelled. Handsome buildings with liberal use of natural stone."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness LodgeAmazing "

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Amazing that a lodge and cabins have been fit in amongst all those boulders! The outdoor dining room was beautiful and the food was excellent. We were told by the staff that there weren't many animals in the area, but Ken saw a troop of baboons on his guided sundown walk. The staff were very helpful in taking a phone message for us from Swiss travellers who had been on our Botswana safari, enabling us to meet up with them at Brandenburg Rest Camp the day we left."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Two excellent experiences: the bush dinner, and sleeping outside on the large patio in front of our bedroom. The pool here was excellent, long enough for one to really swim. We enjoyed the singing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"We appreciated the two air conditioners in the suite. The inventory that was supposed to be in the room was missing, we managed to sort this with no difficulty.
The dinner was not good at all, so bad that we bought wine, crackers and cheese for our second night.The service in the restaurant was chaotic.
We went to the camp's waterhole 3 or 4 times but saw no animals there.
We did see animals while driving in the park - but not a rhinoceros (no rhinoceros in Namibia or Botswana, our bad luck)"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Enjoyed the big swimming pool.
After a very good dinner of grilled springbok, we walked to the waterhole where we saw a group of 10-12 elephants and then 2 male lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"We were lucky to be upgraded from a Standard Room to a View Room which was very large and impressive, excellent en suite as well.
The meals were excellent; we had one dinner on the outside deck and one in the dining room. Our final meal was a superb packed breakfast which we picked up at 6am as we headed for Windhoek airport.
It must be disappointing for the Africat folks to have to put their cheetah program on hold."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team