This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz

Reviews of Rostock Ritz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rostock Ritz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rostock Ritz.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Meerkat

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"We were sorry that the meerkat program had been cancelled. Handsome buildings with liberal use of natural stone." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr's W
Victoria

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Delightful, helpful and informative hosts, who kindly upgraded our accommodation.

Rooms were great and we did many lovely walks (although we didn't sample any activities).

Food was fine." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms M
Colorado

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"These rooms were unique in their geodesic design. They were very comfortable and modern. Each room has its own balcony that overlooks the valley. We took a hike in the morning along one of their many trails. On our return to the lodge, we saw a mama and baby zebra. The lodge owner said they had rescued the mama as a baby and raised her along with their horses. Neither the zebra or horses are confined by fences. The zebra found a zebra boyfriend and now has a new member to the family.

We had an evening meal that was delicious. We could choose between fish or game meat. The breakfast buffet was a selection of cereal, meat, cheese, bread and eggs to order." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr J.
Ireland

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2019
"One of our preferences. Really lovely hosts and staff.

Lovely rooms. Charming. Nice food. Great pool." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Queensland

"Far from being the Ritz"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2018
"The lodge is set very far from the road. One passes a lookout for the impressive Rostock Mountain well before reaching the lodge. Its best to take your photo there. The manager was quite flustered as he seemed the only staff at reception. He didn't even realise that the kitchen had purchased a number of food items that I had requested for me. Staff morale seemed low here.

The place has the cheapest construct I've come across on this trip. The funky looking white igloos are no longer white, having been covered up by the local stones to help keep them cool. They are still hot at night though. The very basic furniture inside is made of the same slate looking stones, or rusted metal. The room and bathroom were small, and felt uninviting. It looked more like a pioneer's hut from a century ago. The garden outside was even more unappealing.

The meercats that were featured in travellers photos earlier no longer visit the lodge very much. There was a path to follow if one wanted to go for walks, but the rocks strewn all along the path made it look unsafe.

I don't recommend this lodge even for an overnight based on my stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"Rostock Ritz provided a welcome break on a long drive to our next destination. The scenery all around is stunning and although the rooms are smaller than all the other places we visited, the view from our terrace was beautiful. We loved the swimming pool; again with wonderful views. Our meals were excellent and the meerkats were entertaining. We took a self guided walk, of which there are several to choose from and maps are provided. It was really good to take a hike and absorb our surroundings after sitting in a car for hours." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D & P
Lavenham

"A lucky upgrade"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"Upgraded to superior room thanks to a coach party occupying the standard rooms, one night stop over was sufficient to complete an evening and morning walk.

Rescue meerkats were entertaining" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Do not miss this place"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Perfect stop on the way to the coast. Thanks to our travel planner for the recomendation !

Excellent food, accomodation, swimming pool and lovely self guided walks around.

We had an excellent time." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Rostock Ritz paradise"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Faultless as usual. Staff so friendly and helpful. Off road adventure was great fun. The only place off the beaten track that provides an a la carte menu which meant an oryx free night!
Various well marked walking trails." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jan 2017
"A quirky, out-of-the-ordinary place to stay amidst breath-taking scenery. We loved walking on the ridge behind the lodge, looking at the rocks and the staggeringly beautiful landscape.

The room was a bit cramped and we would have appreciated a coffee/tea maker since the main dining area was a short walk away.

The father-son team managing the place (sorry! can't remember their names) were friendly and supplied us some useful reference books (which we'd been keen to consult) so we could look things up." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 40
90%
40 reviews of Rostock Ritz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
10
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa