This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs K from Andover

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Fabulous Namibia; exceeded all expectations.

Namibia between 15 Jun 2018 and 27 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia was an incredible place.

Stunning scenery, vast skies and rugged open roads. Easy to navigate and felt safe the whole trip.

People are generally very friendly and helpful. The wildlife in Namibia and especially Etosha was incredible. Saw so many animals and birds. Some outstanding accommodation and food.

An adventure we will be talking about for years to come."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove comfortable and welcoming "

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2018
"Olive Grove proved a very pleasant overnight stay on arrival in Windhoek. Spacious and comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast with lots of choice.

The staff were lovely and recommended and booked a table for us at Joes Beer House where we had a fun night meeting other travellers and sampling one or two cocktails! Very popular and atmospheric bar/restaurant.

On our return to Olive Grove at the end of the evening we found hot water bottles in our beds and port and chocolates for a nightcap. Would thoroughly recommend Olive Grove."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Stunning Desert Homestead "

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"Wow, what a location. We were blown away by the views and sunsets. The lodge was very comfortable and the individual chalets nicely furnished and styled. Sitting outside for dinner (good food) and watching the sunset felt a privilege and is something I will never forget.

All the staff were lovely. Never seen so many stars in the night sky. One of our group went for a sunset horse ride and had a blast. Cantering out towards the mountains and stopping for a sundowner before returning just before dark. We drove ourselves to Sossusvlei early morning and hiked up Little Daddy (more manageable than Big Daddy). Strenuous but amazing. An otherworldly landscape.

Get here as early as possible to try and capture some solitude before too many people arrive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone was excellent B&B"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"After a long but incredible drive through the Namib-Naukluft National Park we reached Swakopmund and arrived at the fabulous Cornerstone Guesthouse. Our room was so spacious, comfortable and well appointed.

The owners were lovely and obviously take great pride in creating a homely and welcoming stay for their guests. Breakfast was excellent.

Only one night here but made for a restful stopover before travelling on to Damaraland. We dined at The Tug Restaurant by the jetty and enjoyed great seafood overlooking the Atlantic Ocean."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Unique, wonderful Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Our 2 night stay at Camp Kipwe was the highlight of our Namibia trip. Unique accommodation cleverly blending into the rocks; loved the outside bathroom! All the staff were so helpful - a special thanks to Rosie our guide who took us on a magical trip tracking desert adapted elephants.

To be amongst a herd of these magnificent creatures was a dream come true for me. A sundowner atop the kopje watching the setting sun was a truly special experience. Dinner followed outdoors on the wooden terraces and was sublime.

Two members of our group are vegetarians and were catered for superbly. Fantastic stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo about location"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"Okaukuejo is a basic government run camp. Don’t expect too much then you wont be disappointed.

However this place is all about its incredible waterhole and the wildlife which visit. We spent a couple of hours one evening sitting by the floodlit waterhole and saw elephants, giraffes, white rhinos, spotted hyena, zebras and various antelope.

Would recommend a one night stay here (take your binos for the night viewing)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali basic and tired"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"Halali is another government run camp in Etosha and we found a little more basic than Okaukuejo. The accommodation was very tired, staff uninterested and food reminiscent of school dinners!

Its location at midpoint in Etosha and floodlit waterhole only positives.

We did see a rhino at the waterhole but on balance would not stay here again."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Amazing Mushara"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2018
"Mushara Lodge was beautiful with fabulous rooms and the best staff of the holiday.

Had a wedding anniversary and birthday here and the staff helped celebrate with flowers, candles and singing.

Food was delicious with a braai one evening in a magically lit boma with beautifully laid tables and again catered for vegetarian members really well. Also enjoyed sitting by the roaring fire in the lodge.

We had issues with our hire car whilst staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful in sorting a replacement. As we were without our car for a day we decided to take a guided safari from the lodge. So pleased we did. With Solomon’s (our guide) knowledge of the local wildlife in the eastern section of Etosha we spotted a leopard and a cheetah with 3 cubs. Wow.

Thank you Mushara for a memorable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team