This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dead Valley Lodge
Dead Valley Lodge
Dead Valley Lodge
Dead Valley Lodge
Dead Valley Lodge

Reviews of Dead Valley Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dead Valley Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2021, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dead Valley Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Richard & Caroline
GB

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"Excellent location inside the Park so there is preferential access to Sossosvlei/Deadvlei and Sesreim canyon (often overlooked but just a short 4km drive from lodge and easy to walk into the canyon).

Modern and open, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are stunning/excellent and the food well prepared and varied. Easy to organise a guided tour to Sossusvlei/Deadvlei which is recommended if you want to see the key sights and get the most from the park as some areas are only accessible by rugged 4x4 or park provided transportation.

Perfectly sized lodge with limited numbers - so no crowds" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr P.
Vienna

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2022
"Superb. Second best place we stayed at on this trip (after Omaanda). Our expectations were far exceeded. This really is much more than just “mid-range”.

The main lodge building is of an exceptional and very appealing design. Dinners (BBQ and buffet) were very good, breakfasts and lunch quite good too. Staff were extremely friendly and pleasant. Our chalet was unusual in layout in that it’s in two parts, the main bedroom being separated from the bathroom so you have to go through a bit of open air (shielded from others’ views, though) to get there. But we found that an advantage rather. Also the fact that the fridge was outside in between the bedroom and the bathroom – which meant no audible humming at night!

There was mild air-con, which was nice during the heat of midday. Nights were cold, and there’s no heating, so our thermals paid off again. A special bonus were the very large wooden supports for luggage in our spacious bedroom tent, so much better than the usual small suitcase rests you typically get in hotels. So no need to put suitcases on the bed – a small point perhaps, but one we took special note of.

We didn’t do any activities offered by the lodge but instead drove to the dunes and Deadvlei, as well as to Sesriem Canyon, ourselves. The scenery is fantastic to behold – but we found it far too busy with tourists. In fact, Sossousvlei was the only place on this trip that felt like it suffered from too big crowds. That was quite a contrast to the vast emptiness we experienced almost everywhere else in Namibia." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs C
Barbados

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Sorry Expert Africa but you are doing this lodge a disservice by not visiting - it is Fabulous !!

Huge tents (18ft x 20) tastefully decorated and well thought out with all the facilities including kettle, climate control and fridges.
The separate bathrooms are a poor design for nighttime visits but to be honest it is a small price to pay for the fact their water is heated by an individual hot water system for each room so is available 24/7 !!

The lodge itself is brand new and looks like a showroom for Timothy Olton !! Open plan, Modern and fresh….. stunning.

The two front men - Richard and Julio couldn’t do enough for us - physically helped with car pressures, arranged washing with a housekeeper (they don’t offer this service) and were genuinely on hand to ensure your stay was a very enjoyable one.
Klaus (manager) was also always there and it shows.

The lodge was only half full so do hope they can keep up the quality when they are full but for a government run facility (within the park gates which was a requirement for us) this lodge was exceptional and we would certainly rank it within our top three amongst shipwreck lodge and Serra Cafema !!

Food was excellent ….. only dinner drinks service slightly slow on BBQ night but small Critism really" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"Friendly staff.

Great location and accommodation." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2022
"This is one of only two lodges “inside” the National Park. I emphasize this because we chose this lodge because we wanted to see the sunrise at Dead Vlei, which is approximately 63 km away. And while the first sixty kilometers are on a paved road, the last 3 km are deep sand, which requires an experienced 4x4 operator. In other words, we booked a guided tour performed by the lodge. However, the lodge is located outside the second entry gate, which opened at 6 AM sharp. We argued with the guide the evening before that given the strict speed limit of 60 km/h, we will never make it in time for the sunrise, which was expected to be at around 7 AM. Well, the guy drove us there at a speed of 90 km/h, so we actually ended up being the first at a couple of minutes after 7 AM.

Anyway, I harp on about this, because there is indeed another lodge inside the second gate. It’s called Sossus Dune Lodge, where we stayed in 2018, and they can drive guests to Dead Vlei starting around 5 or 5:30 AM. Their food may not be as good as that provided by the Dead Valley Lodge, but the rooms are much nicer and provide the better views (in our opinion).

Another point I want to bring up is the way they handled the sundowner they offered us on the first evening after our arrival. Well, it consisted of a short drive to an unremarkable dune 5 minutes away, and they had the guts to charge NAD 700 per person for that endeavor. Compared to the NAD 980 p.p. they charged for the guided sunrise tour (which lasted for about 7 hours and included a lunch) this was outrageous.

Other than that our stay in Sossusvlei was really all we had hoped for. As spectacular as ever, and we’ve been here twice before. Bearing in mind what I said above, I would, however, recommend the Sossus Dune Lodge." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Reading

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2021
"Very convenient location at Sesriem Gate. Individual lodges have unusual design with bedroom in one building and bathroom in another across the patio. If very security conscious going to the loo in the middle of the night involves much locking and unlocking of doors.

Main building has expensive looking and dramatic design but unfortunately food does not live up to this. First night braai had salad cart for starters and meat cooked to order. 3/4 pieces of meat presented on a plate with nothing else. Hence back to salad cart. Second night dinner same choice of meat with overcooked vegetables." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2021
"Dead Valley Lodge was (unexpectedly!) one of our favorite lodges of our trip through Namibia. This is an excellent pit stop for Sossusvlei with the lodge's convenient location inside the Sesriem Gate, which afforded us early morning access to climb Big Daddy and photograph Deadvlei at sunrise. We stayed 1 night on our way from Kalahari to NamibRand Reserve. Looking back, we should have stayed longer at Dead Valley to explore the Sesriem/Sossusvlei area and cut back our 3-4 days in NamibRand. This location and landscape is more stunning.

We were greeted upon arrival by staff wearing masks and check-in was quick and seamless. The staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging "to-go" packed lunches for our early morning drive into Sossusvlei. Dinner was a braai of salad and multiple game meats (oryx, zebra, blue wildebeest, etc.), served buffet-style in the main building. Masks were not worn by staff or guests at dinner, and tables were arranged very close together--which was the only time we felt possibly exposed to Covid during our stay.

We were most impressed with the tented rooms at Dead Valley, which are luxury by Namibia standards. They look very underwhelming from the outside, but they are well-appointed inside with separate bedroom/bathroom tents and a beautiful design that incorporates natural desert wood elements throughout the space. Wifi is available in both the rooms and main building (the fastest we encountered outside Swakopmund) but connectivity can be spotty at times, based on weather or approaching storms.

Overall we were impressed with Dead Valley, especially for its convenient location, well-appointed rooms, and wifi connection. Would absolutely recommend and stay again next time we are in the area!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

L family
Germany

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2021
"We are a family of four (travelling with two teenagers) and had a very good experience at the Death Valley Lodge. Even though we arrived late, we were promply checked in and helped to our lodges. A nice dinner buffet was already waiting.

The next morning, we got up very early and went to Dune 45 and Sossusvlei. Our guide Julio was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We spent the whole morning and until lunch time together and the experience was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

The food was excellent and so was the service. No attention was spared to make us feel welcome and the personnel were also family friendly. The lodge is managed in a sustainable way and as everywhere in Namibia attention to saving valuable resources, such as water are observed.

The lodge's location is excellent and so is the setting, individual lodges, amenities (swimming pool) and atmosphere.

Our overall experience was excellent and so we would gladly recommend it to other travelers." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Greg's group
Regina

"Dead Valley Lodge - Thank You !"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Our accommodations were changed to Dead Valley Lodge, and we are SO thankful. A rainstorm, and a sandstorm, and constant wind made us appreciate beyond words that we were not in the campsite. We enjoyed the Lodge, and altho they were plagued by difficult and growing pains related to the sand in plugs, and wind and sand invading dinner service, they did well to accommodate us. The chef and wait staff were friendly and very helpful, the Manager was great, and we enjoyed our stay. Perfect location to head to the Dunes and to Deadvlei and we took advantage as much as we could.

A couple of observations for improvement. A breakfast box for our non dairy guest was without the yogurt , but then had cheese on the sandwich. Our daily water supply was hit & miss, and although there were two of us in the room, we got the same water as the guests who were singles. We were unable to get hot water in our shower, but survived with luke warm, thankful not to be in the campground.

Any requests we made were felt with promptly and overall we appreciated the Lodge very much." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-9 of 9
96%
9 reviews of Dead Valley Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (336 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (181 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (170 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (102 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (67 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa