This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

57% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs F.
Paris

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"guide aren't listening to what I want to do...they have a previous itinarary and you have to do it !!
I was obliged to be a little bit cross in order to go to canyon ...the only thing they want to show is red dunes...
food was too much sophisticated and not very good for my taste" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr N.
London

"Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"For top price luxury lodge the room felt a bit average." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Top end Lodge in a remote desert landscape"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"A beautiful Lodge set in stunning scenery. Our guide (Darius) was outstanding.

The early morning excursion to the dunes at Sossusvle / Dead Vlei was an unforgettable experience.

We also saw plenty of Oryx, springbok, zebra and ostriches on a couple of drives around the area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Luxury in the Desert"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2018
"Fabulous happy smiley helpful staff.

May have missed the advice as to how alternative the weather can be - one evening hot and the next chilly requiring a jumper!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr Daniele
London

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Excellent attention to clients. Friendly staff.

Guide went over and beyond to accomodate our requests.

Food was delicious, and plenty" See all these reviews: 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"A stunning camp in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"A spectacular place to arrive by Cessna - a short drive from the airstrip to the camp.

Beautiful room with rooftop bed, private plunge pool and sun beds.

More explanations of planned excursions on arrival would have been useful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Fantastic Lodge - not to be missed!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"The highlight of our Namibia tour. Wonderful staff, superb accommodation and excellent food all in a most beautiful location.

Enjoyed the opportunity to sleep on the roof in the open air on a warm clear night with a full moon. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and we enjoyed the game drives and the sundowners. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good at spotting game. It was lovely to see a couple of oryx drinking at the waterhole during breakfast.

Make sure Expert Africa includes this lodge in your tour." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Little Kulala"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Little Kulala is smart and modern, a style which in my opinion lacks the atmosphere of traditional camps. But Kulala is aimed at a wide variety of guests, not only traditional safari enthusiasts. The bush dinner lacked atmosphere with separate tables seeming very formal.

The first evening was the highlight when a short drive took us to a beautiful view for our sundowner. En route we had a great sighting of an Aardwolf and distant Hartmann's Mountain Zebra.

The trip to the dunes started way after sunrise so felt busy with other tourists. Our guide simply dropped us off at the bottom of the popular Big Daddy.

There was no choice of afternoon activity, just quad biking which isn't of interest to me. The next day we were driven to Sesriem Gorge for an unaccompanied 20 minute stroll. The rest of the day and evening we were left with no activities. This lack of guiding and choice of activities was very disappointing and we felt we should have been advised to just have 2 nights at Kulala, not 3. If we had been there just for 2 nights I would have said the activities were good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr J.
London

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"It was very good but I'm not sure it was worth the significant extra expense though I have not visited the alternative lodges in the area so I cannot be sure." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Ms G
Merton

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"Very stylish lodge/accommodation with great views. The quad biking here was one of the highlights of our trip. It was also great to have a safari guide for just our family." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 62
98%
62 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa