This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

64% success

Brown Hyena

36% success

Giraffe

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2022
"This is a beautiful, small and personal lodge. The staff were friendly, welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us. We have previously stayed at the main Kulala lodge - which was great - this was a real step ‘up’ in terms of the rooms and the levels of comfort which the lodge delivers.

The rooms have all you could need and more - personal plunge pool, a bed to sleep outdoors night or day, binoculars in case you don’t have any, rooftop access to provide a view of the desert, indoor and outdoor shower. The food was great with dinner being served on the terrace and, on our second night, a braai next to the campfire under the stars. Breakfast was served before the activities of the day started. The included activities were also great - with a dedicated and attentive guide dedicated to ensuring we were able to see and do all we wished.

On our first evening we went on a nature drive and stopped for the most amazing sunset we have ever seen; the next morning we were up and out very early in order to reach Sossusvlei and Deadvlei as close to sunrise as possible. He supported our walk up the dune next to Deadvlei and provided a lot of information on the area and the changes since the recent heavy rains. After many photos we moved on and stopped by Sossusvlei which had water (following those heavy rains in February). Amazing to see this as it happens so rarely (~11 years since last there was water).

We then stopped at Sesriem Canyon - again, with water. Beautiful to see although it was not possible to walk the canyon, just view from one end and above. That evening, Quad biking was fun and gave an opportunity to see some great views and some animals very close up as they / we passed us by.

All in all, an excellent place to stay with fantastic service and experiences." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs G
London

"Little Kulala - our favourite"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2022
"This was our favourite lodge on our trip.

Recently refurbed, good food and wonderful staff. A sensitively restored private concession with private access to the national park which contains the dunes, Deadvlei, Sossusvlei etc.

If this is an option for you - go for it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2022
"Amazing everything!

The people, place, we loved it all. We consider this the highlight of our trip! We are still in touch with some of the people we met at the camp there! Selma, the lodge manager, treated us like family, and Gabriel, our guide, became a friend.

It was nice that due to Covid there was only one other couple in the camp with us." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2021
"Namibia is all about wide-open spaces, interesting geology, red dunes of the ancient Namib Desert and the night sky. We found it was the perfect counterpoint to the lushness of Botswana’s Okavango Delta and it is one of our favorite places on Earth.

Our first stop in Namibia was Little Kulala in the 27,000-hectare Kulala Wildernesses Reserve near Sossusvlei. Accommodations were more than comfortable and the food was delicious. And there is an underground wine cellar where you-know-who had dinner.

Heavy rains at the beginning of 2021 have the landscape looking almost lush, even in this harsh, desert environment. We saw many more springbok and oryx than on a previous visit.

Our time at Little Kulala was enriched by Markus’ guiding; his knowledge of the area’s flora, fauna and geology is extensive. And his knowledge of the night sky is unsurpassed. He quizzed us on Africa’s big 5, little 5 and the ugly 5. There was no slacking off in his safari vehicle.

Our morning in Sossusvlei began looking for footprints in the sand at a stop along the way where we spotted the pretty Dune Lark, endemic to Namibia’s dunes. Later in the morning, it was Markus’ easy manner that encouraged us to the top of Big Daddy, the 325-meter dune that provides a sweeping view of Deadvlei, Hiddenvlei and way beyond. And we practically had Big Daddy all to ourselves.

We enjoyed an early-morning hot air balloon ride, in spite of the 4am wakeup call, and the breakfast accompanied by sparkling wine that followed. Sunsets here are unsurpassed and be sure to get a look at the night sky when you’re here. Namibia should be on your to-visit list." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mrs F.
Paris

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"guide aren't listening to what I want to do...they have a previous itinarary and you have to do it !!
I was obliged to be a little bit cross in order to go to canyon ...the only thing they want to show is red dunes...
food was too much sophisticated and not very good for my taste" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr N.
London

"Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"For top price luxury lodge the room felt a bit average." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Top end Lodge in a remote desert landscape"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"A beautiful Lodge set in stunning scenery. Our guide (Darius) was outstanding.

The early morning excursion to the dunes at Sossusvle / Dead Vlei was an unforgettable experience.

We also saw plenty of Oryx, springbok, zebra and ostriches on a couple of drives around the area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Luxury in the Desert"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2018
"Fabulous happy smiley helpful staff.

May have missed the advice as to how alternative the weather can be - one evening hot and the next chilly requiring a jumper!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr Daniele
London

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Excellent attention to clients. Friendly staff.

Guide went over and beyond to accomodate our requests.

Food was delicious, and plenty" See all these reviews: 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"A stunning camp in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"A spectacular place to arrive by Cessna - a short drive from the airstrip to the camp.

Beautiful room with rooftop bed, private plunge pool and sun beds.

More explanations of planned excursions on arrival would have been useful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 66
98%
66 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (330 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (179 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (159 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (139 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (100 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (38 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (8 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


92% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa