This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

73 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

56% success

Zebra

53% success

Brown Hyena

44% success

Giraffe

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 73
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2024
"On the road:
Helmeringshausen - possibly the tidiest and most perfect little stopping place with the best equipped shop which we visited plus hotel, petrol station & museum
Approach to Sesriem on C27 - terrible gravel road in really poor condition.

Little Kulala
Upsides: Wilderness camps are just another level, from the stunning design and interiors of the main areas to the impeccable service and welcome. Singing to welcome you, cold towels and drinks every time you return, and singing to say farewell, you can’t help but feel like the royal family. The food was incredible, unexpectedly so, beautifully presented and wonderful flavours. My personal upside was the outdoor bed on our deck which they make up for you every night whether you sleep in it or not. Absolutely wonderful sleeping outside, with the jackals and hyenas, the stars and the delicious fresh air.

Activities: Marcus wasn’t our favourite guide because he was difficult to hear (for Hugh) and spoke very fast so Hugh missed a lot of the information. But we had good trips to Sossusvlei & Dead vlei and Sessriem Canyon, and fun quad biking round the camp

Downsides:
Having been so self sufficient we weren’t used to handing over the car and someone else being in charge. On a fully inclusive basis you are very much on their schedule and this took a bit of getting used to (eg very early starts for activities, long game drives when we had just been in the car for hours already). However, once you start we found you get hooked. And even seeing the same animals or the same landscape, there is always something new to learn about behaviours, environment & conservation. Having thought we might duck out of some of the activities due to Hugh’s convalescence, I don't think we missed a single activity.
No comfortable chairs on the deck outside our room. Chairs in the main area also needed an extra cushion to make them comfortable (this may have been Hugh's discomfort following an operation)" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Flying Dutchmen
NL

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2024
"We were in Little Kuala before and at that time it was a place full of magic. It is still a wonderful place but the magic has...changed. We miss the opportunity to sleep on the roof. Nothing can beat that, not even a bed outside on your private deck.

We had a very lovely reunion with our guide Alfred. He took really good care of us and especially of my 80 year old mother. Alfred is the BEST. He has a lot of knowledge and he learned us a lot about his tribe, the San. He helped me picking fresh bitter bush which I have dried at home, and I am using it to steam with. He also showed us an old San cave with very very old paintings. And he taught us a game with holes and little stones. We really had fun together and beautiful conversations.

The food is tasteful. We enjoyed it, and we really appreciated diner in the desert on our last evening. The staff makes sure that you really keep hydrated by constantly topping up your water.

You don't come to Little Kulala for the animals. You come here to feel the desert wind and to visit the dunes. That is why we give 'activities' an average score.

As we stayed here, the main building of Kulala Desert Lodge burned down. We checked the website on our return but there is not a word about the fire. Also not a word about the other lodge, somewhere in there north, that was also burned down." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D & Ms G
London

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2023
"Wonderful from start to finish. Great welcome, superb guiding from Nelson who has great sense of humour too.

Accommodation was great and food good.

The staff were all prepared to go that extra inch. Hugs when we left and we’re sorry not to stay longer. Would return" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
VicJ
Perth Scotland

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2023
"An amazing place. Middle of desert, but first class, five star experience.

Staff went way out of the normal to entertain us and make our stay memorable. Liselle and James (manager) superb, but others, whose names I have not remembered, equally worthy of praise.

Game drives with Geraldo, and drive/climb up 'Big Daddy' at Soussvlei, fantastic - and then the sundowners!

Slept twice under the stars!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

RMN and AT
London

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2022
"This place was even more luxurious than we were expecting, as we had A/C in our room which we were very glad of in the heat.

This is the place to be to visit the dunes at Sossusvlei, although it takes well over 30 minutes to get to the area which is invariably more crowded than anywhere else we were likely to visit. However, with an excellent guide, Simon, and a very comparable couple from Switzerland in the vehicle with us we had an excellent time. This included looking for game, with the usual suspects being supplemented by two really exciting species: cape fox (just peeping up out of its burrow at sunset, and a brown hyena which we had set our hearts on seeing.

We also did the balloon trip (not, if I recall mentioned in advance to us by Expert Africa) which was simply marvellous, even with a 4.30 wake up call and a very major currency drain. Our first ever ballon trip, setting off at sunrise, travelling for an hour and finishing with a luxurious (apart from the sparkling wine!) breakfast seated at tables in the middle of the desert where we had landed. Unmissable.

The other highlight for my husband if not for me, was a quad biking ride though the desert at sundown. Each villa has a plunge pool in an outdoor courtyard area, and an outside bed for star gazing. We were lucky to be there with no moon and the skies were a marvellous sight. Plenty of shooting stars too: unforgettable.

Food very good and a very well run place in all respects, with very friendly and helpful staff" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Dr.C&Mrs.M
Manchester

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Can't fault this place . Excellent lodge , very friendly staff and food of very good quality and varied . One could feel the vibe of a very friendly atmosphere.

Special mention to Managers, Jonathan, Wilson and Guide Akser" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Ms & Mr P
USA

"An Oasis in the Desert"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2022
"My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Little Kulala, a luxurious place to experience the wonders of the Namib Desert. Its prime location makes entry to the park a breeze and allows more time for exploration (versus time spent traveling).

Our guides were fantastic and knowledgeable; Simon in particular was incredible, carrying water and functioning as our cheerleader as we ascended Big Daddy (no easy feat!). At the lodge, the staff were friendly and attentive. We also enjoyed the cuisine, which was varied, plentiful, and wonderfully prepared. The main lodge was beautifully appointed, a testament to the recent redesign. While not as lovely as the main lodge, the rooms were very comfortable, featuring strong air conditioning, large decks perfect for stargazing (with outdoor beds made by the staff each night!), and cold plunge pools.

Lastly, we appreciated Wilderness' commitment to the environment and its use of solar throughout the property." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2022
"This is a beautiful, small and personal lodge. The staff were friendly, welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us. We have previously stayed at the main Kulala lodge - which was great - this was a real step ‘up’ in terms of the rooms and the levels of comfort which the lodge delivers.

The rooms have all you could need and more - personal plunge pool, a bed to sleep outdoors night or day, binoculars in case you don’t have any, rooftop access to provide a view of the desert, indoor and outdoor shower. The food was great with dinner being served on the terrace and, on our second night, a braai next to the campfire under the stars. Breakfast was served before the activities of the day started. The included activities were also great - with a dedicated and attentive guide dedicated to ensuring we were able to see and do all we wished.

On our first evening we went on a nature drive and stopped for the most amazing sunset we have ever seen; the next morning we were up and out very early in order to reach Sossusvlei and Deadvlei as close to sunrise as possible. He supported our walk up the dune next to Deadvlei and provided a lot of information on the area and the changes since the recent heavy rains. After many photos we moved on and stopped by Sossusvlei which had water (following those heavy rains in February). Amazing to see this as it happens so rarely (~11 years since last there was water).

We then stopped at Sesriem Canyon - again, with water. Beautiful to see although it was not possible to walk the canyon, just view from one end and above. That evening, Quad biking was fun and gave an opportunity to see some great views and some animals very close up as they / we passed us by.

All in all, an excellent place to stay with fantastic service and experiences." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs G
London

"Little Kulala - our favourite"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2022
"This was our favourite lodge on our trip.

Recently refurbed, good food and wonderful staff. A sensitively restored private concession with private access to the national park which contains the dunes, Deadvlei, Sossusvlei etc.

If this is an option for you - go for it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2022
"Amazing everything!

The people, place, we loved it all. We consider this the highlight of our trip! We are still in touch with some of the people we met at the camp there! Selma, the lodge manager, treated us like family, and Gabriel, our guide, became a friend.

It was nice that due to Covid there was only one other couple in the camp with us." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 73
98%
73 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
4
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (353 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (202 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (191 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (139 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (44 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (17 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa