This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

57% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
Italy

"Wonderful experience at Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"Excellent location, service, food, accommodation, for sure the best place where we stay during our trip, a diamond in the desert, to be recommended" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Mr T
San Fran

"Little Kulala: Luxury Amongst Amazing Dunes"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2016
"Little Kulala was our first Namibian lodge and, thanks to excellent advice from Expert Africa, it was a most suitable first stop to begin our adventures. LK is luxurious but not in an ostentatious manner. The lodge's main areas and our suite were spacious and offered all necessary comforts.

Owing to my bad knee, we asked for a suite closest to the main reception/dining areas, which we enjoyed for the last two nights of our three-night stay. That turned out to be a wise move because our first-assigned unit was quite far from the public spaces, and reaching it requires walking on an uneven sandy path.

Activities at LK center around the mighty dunes of the Namib Desert, and we did splurge for a breathtaking hot air balloon ride to enjoy unique aerial vistas. The civic-minded owner of the balloon company operates a tuition-free school for children of his employees and nearby residents. We absolutely loved our time at the school, and contributions (both monetary and supplies) are most welcomed.

Our other LK activities were a morning drive through the dune corridor to visit Big Daddy, et al., a short walk through Sesriem Canyon, and an ATV ride around the LK "neighbourhood" . . . all thoroughly enjoyable!


" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L & Mr G
USA

"Memorable Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"Little Kulala Camp is breathtaking!! The thatched rooms are beautiful decorated and designed to ensure that that you are engulfed by every bit of the surrounding and ever evolving beauty. If the weather permits, a night on the rooftop is a must!

The team that looked after us are a group of beautiful people who quite clearly love their jobs and their guests - attention to detail is evident everywhere! Our welcome was special and uplifting. We loved spending time with our guide Alfred, he is a knowledgeable and serious man with a lovely wit :-)

The food was delicious - the crowning glory - the evening Boma!

This camp is a must on any trip to Namibia!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Barcelona

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"A wonderful hotel, one of the best of the trip. We enjoyed every minute at the Kulala.

Our guide Ben was very helpful and it was a pleasure to be with him." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Southampton

"Gorgeous"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"It is a fantastic Lodge in every way.

The location is stunning. The quality of everything was superb. Customer service was excellent. We were made to feel so welcome and the staff were very sensitive to our circumstances. Food was delicious.

The drive to the sand dunes was spectacular and the experience of climbing them was special. The guide was brilliant and made it so much fun.

Drinks served on the drive in the evening sunset was a lovely experience. The staff presented us with a birthday cake and all joined in to sing. It was beautiful. An absolutely wonderful place in every way." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Richmond

"Priviledge to Stay at this Beautiful Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"I think Little Kulala was my favorite experience, from its delightful dessert setting to our knowledgeable guide Forster, who made wonderful sundowner G&Ts.

It was my birthday whilst we were there and the whole team made it very special, baking a cake and decorating my room, to the bottle of champagne given to me, and the singing of Happy Birthday after dinner by everyone.

The Dunes were amazing and we will carry away with us wonderful memories of our morning walking up them and running full tilt down the otherside." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Excellent first stop"

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2016
"Our first stop. Staff very welcoming and the communal areas excellent with open views over waterhole towards dunes. Very large, immaculate and private personal space though we didn't use the rooftop bed as the nights were getting a bit cold. If you want to do all the activities and have a bit of relaxing time in between you really do need three nights as we had booked. Highlight of our stay was the (optional) sunrise balloon trip - expensive but not to be missed. Also the African wild cat we saw from our room! The vegetarian food was better than most of the other camps.

Sunrise Balloon Trip
Must-do experience
Four balloons were taking off that day and we were lucky to be in one for eight people (rather than 16!). Each couple has a corner so no jockeying for position. Conditions terrific and we followed the dry river bed towards the dunes landing after about 1¼ hours. Our pilot Rob demonstrated great skill in manoeuvring both vertically and horizontally: also at the champagne breakfast where he hacked off the neck of a bottle of champagne with a machete finally knocking off the end in a flourish of fizz! Although expensive it is an absolute must-do experience. Stunning, serene and a photographer's dream." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Relaxing stay"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"We enjoyed our stay at Little Kulala but overall felt a bit disappointed with the value for money and compared to some of the other (Wilderness) camps it lacked a bit of personality. Also, our guide was fairly disinterested and seemed to do the bare minimum.

Overall, still a wonderful setting with exceptional rooms (rooftop outside bed for stargazing, plunge pool, ...) and we had a great time, just expected that little bit extra" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Piotr & Glen
London

"Wonderful lodge - cannot fault anything"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2015
"One of the three highlights in terms of where we stayed during our trip. Little Kulala is excellently located, and we had the most private cottage, the concept of the massive deck area and interiors is wonderful, and we also enjoyed a sleep on the roof bed under the stars, with the full moon.

The staff were incredible - welcoming, friendly, helpful, with an excellent sense of humour, those to mention especially were Andrew, Ingrid, Rosa, Eduard, and our guide Chris. The activities were excellent, perfectly organised, both the two sundowners and the trip to Sossusvlei.

Definitely recommended!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Leeds

"A desert gem"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"The interior design of this desert lodge is a charming mix of ethnic African and comfort. We were warmly welcomed and it was a good choice for our first stay on our Namibian self drive holiday.

If anything we found the service a little overwhelming as there were more staff than guests but this is perhaps a little churlish as everyone was helpful and informative.

The food is excellent and our guided trips were very good as well." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 62
98%
62 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa