This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Halifax

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

1

First time in Namibia

Namibia between 22 Oct 2018 and 31 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a most enjoyable holiday and far exceeded our expectations.

Namibia is absolutely beautiful and unspoilt and you don't appreciate its beauty unless you drive between lodges. The holiday was short - 9 nights - very well planned as driving distances, although quite long, were not excessive and we had two night stays in most of the camps allowing early morning game drives on the full day. One does spend a lot of time in cars as the drive between camps is about 6 hours and on arrival you are then taken out on a 4 hour game drive. The camps do not have an abundance of game which is why game drives are long but are pleasantly interrupted with snacks or sundowners depending on the time of day.

The guides were, without exception, excellent, and the standard of the camps was universally very good. Travellers coming from England will find fuel and drinks prices cheap compared with England (diesel is about £0.60 per litre) but it is essential to pay for petrol with cash as fraudulent use of credit cards is reportedly rife, so buy plenty of S Africa rands before leaving England.

Expert Africa warned us of this and it was confirmed several times by locals. It is wise to have some cash in small denominations as everyone, including those at petrol stations, will expect a tip We found this a most enjoyable and well organised holiday and we were given much useful advice by Expert Africa before our departure but despite all warnings the only problem we experienced was a single puncture.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

This was a very well constructed holiday by people who clearly know what they are doing.

We were very well warned about all the potential problems almost to the point of wondering whether we should continue with our plans or not and while this is very important it is probably worth saying to clients that if they are sensible they are no more likely to experience anything untoward than they are on any other motoring holiday, apart from the poor quality of the roads. Unless we were just very lucky!

Many thanks to Claire and Expert Africa for organising a wonderful holiday in Namibia."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Galton House

Galton House

"Good overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"Very nice people.

We stayed just one night and arrived late due to flight delays and thus late pick-up of hire car so only meal was breakfast. Arrived in the dark and very difficult to find Galton House despite being in the correct street as unable to see any prominent sign to indicate its location.

Easy to get to from the airport."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Delightful farm with pleasant accommodation"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2018
"Very pleasant stay with good accommodation, friendly staff and good food.

Pleasant evening farm drive but saw little game"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Fantastic Lodge - not to be missed!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"The highlight of our Namibia tour. Wonderful staff, superb accommodation and excellent food all in a most beautiful location.

Enjoyed the opportunity to sleep on the roof in the open air on a warm clear night with a full moon. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and we enjoyed the game drives and the sundowners. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good at spotting game. It was lovely to see a couple of oryx drinking at the waterhole during breakfast.

Make sure Expert Africa includes this lodge in your tour."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Comfortable hotel with good restaurant above"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Modern, clean comfortable guest house located on the beach front with excellent and quite classy restaurant above, serving good breakfast and excellent dinner.

There is also a small bar for pre-dinner drinks at the restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful.

A good place to stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Interesting and worthwhile day out"

27 Oct 2018 • All-day excursion

Interesting visit to Sandwich Harbour.

Mention was made of possible difficult access due to tides and we thought we were gong on a boat trip. We were not, and there is no harbour. Sandwich Harbour is not a harbour but a bay and the difficult access is because of the drive to the bay along the beach which can't be done if the tide is too high.

Saw a variety of bird life including flamingos as well as a jackal catching a fish. Great drive in the dunes and very interesting and informative guide who had deep knowledge of the desert flora. A fascinating and good day out and our excellent guide provided a very good lunch.

Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Great camp but poor food"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Everything about this camp was excellent except for the food which was poor, except for breakfast.

It is set in a beautiful location and the accommodation is very good with a feel of Africa about it. Very good game drive when we saw a large group of elephants which we were able to photograph against a backdrop of beautiful mountains.

Staff very friendly and helpful and noted we had a slow puncture just as we were about to depart and without asking repaired the puncture for us without charge - and washed our car!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"A lovely lodge in a beautiful location with stunning views over the Erongo mountains.

Access will require 4x4 vehicles but for those with 2WD cars there is parking 800 metres from the camp and guests will be collected and transported to the camp by staff in 4x4 vehicles. There is quite a lot of walking and steps to the guest's rooms and the dining area so guests with poor mobility might struggle but the struggle will be worthwhile as this is a beautiful and well run camp with exceptionally good food.

A walk up the adjacent koppie is worth the effort and you will be rewarded with magnificent views while enjoying your chosen sundowner watching as the sun sets over the distant mountains. It is also a chance to meet and chat with the other guests but this walk is not suitable for those with poor mobility.

If you are returning to Windhoek on leaving the camp the road is very good and is tarred all the way apart from the initial 12 kms or so from the camp. We left early the next morning so did not partake in any game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team