This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Reviews: Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Below are independent comments from 190 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 190
Date
Mr & Mrs R & V
ASCOT

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Stiltz on 13 Mar 2020
"Rudy from Turnstone Tours gave us a great tour, we wondered when booking if it would be a bit too long, but the time flew by and we learned an awful lot, saw some fabulous scenery, interesting coastal birds and wildlife and experienced some great desert dune driving and a picnic in the most amazing setting !!!

Thanks Rudy, it was a tour to remember. I'd recommend to anyone......." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Great day out!"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 20 Jan 2020
"The tour was as advertised- and lived up to expectations. It was great to be picked up at the Guest House promptly and taken on tour.

The walk/view of the flamingos along the way was great. We enjoyed the commentary on the bird life as we drove out. Our guide Leon shared a special surprise - the gecko - it was unreal. The scenery was stunning. We enjoyed stopping along the way to view the small animals, it did not feel rushed.

We would recommend it for families with children (8 years +). It was a nice mixture of wildlife, scenery, and 4WD." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
J&J
Plockton

"Adult Roller Coaster"

12 Oct 2019
"We were collected from our hotel promptly at 8.30am. We were delayed getting to Walvis bay due to an election rally which was a shame. Having picked up other participants we headed out south of Walvis Bay.

The trip was exhilarating both on the outward journey and the return, driving between the dunes and the sea. The skill shown by our driver, Rudi, was impressive. Sadly, due to the tides, we only had a very brief time at the mouth of Sandwich Harbour. I would have loved longer, and time to walk further into the Harbour, as the views were beautiful. Rudi made up for this by a roller-coaster trip through the dunes on the return. We stopped both ways to admire the wildlife; flamingos, pelicans, terns, jackals, lizards, seals, and numerous other birds.

We returned to the first part of the trip (not requiring 4 wheel drive skills) the following day to enjoy the bird watching again.

We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Swakopmund/Walvis Bay." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour drive."

Based at Strand Hotel on 30 Sep 2019
"Leon our guide was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. We saw oryx and springbok on the dunes and flocks of flamingos in the bay." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mike
Oxford

"A lovely day out with Rudi"

Based at The Delight on 29 Aug 2019
"Rudi from Turnstone Tours was fantastic and shared his thoughts on a wide variety of topics as well driving us safely along the beach and through the dunes.

With the tide turning there was a real sense of adventure as the waves lapped up against the coastal dunes. We were served a tasty lasagna followed by apple-pie for an alfresco lunch.

We were entertained by a family of desert mice running under the Nara bushes." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Brilliant"

Based at The Delight on 30 Jul 2019
"Fabulous trip with Rudy who was a superb guide.

Unfortunately due to a large swell running the route to Sandwich harbour was cut off but Rudy made it a fantastic day anyway. Flamingo's, massive waves, dunes, lots of interesting facts and history, great lunch in the dunes all made it a trip worth doing." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 21 Jun 2019
"An interesting trip!! Not for the faint hearted!!

A good day." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ludocie
Sheen

"An absolute must. "

Based at The Delight on 19 May 2019
"Leon, TurnstoneTours, gave us a really fun day out going South to Walvis Bay and Sandwich Harbour.

It was really interesting, stunningly beautiful and rather terrifying as you will find out.

A great way to learn a lot and scream a lot." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs and Mr V.
London

"Great excursion"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 13 Apr 2019
"This excursion ticked all the boxes - an exciting drive through the sand dunes and along the coast - whilst also providing ample opportunity for bird and wildlife spotting.

The driver was very knowledgeable about both. However, it is worth noting that drivers cannot always reach the harbour due to the state of the tides. Luckily our driver managed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Interesting and worthwhile day out"

Based at Beach Lodge on 27 Oct 2018
"Interesting visit to Sandwich Harbour.

Mention was made of possible difficult access due to tides and we thought we were gong on a boat trip. We were not, and there is no harbour. Sandwich Harbour is not a harbour but a bay and the difficult access is because of the drive to the bay along the beach which can't be done if the tide is too high.

Saw a variety of bird life including flamingos as well as a jackal catching a fish. Great drive in the dunes and very interesting and informative guide who had deep knowledge of the desert flora. A fascinating and good day out and our excellent guide provided a very good lunch." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 190
94%
190 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
157
18
9
3
3
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team