This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Reviews: Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Below are independent comments from 199 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 199
Date
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour "

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 21 Aug 2022
"What a wonderful day we had on this tour made all the better with our lovely guide Leon.

We were picked up at 8.30am and collected another 4 people en route. Fabulous seeing thousands of flamingo's along the seafront. Very exciting drive up and down the dunes and along the ocean (thank goodness Leon was an excellent driver). We were very lucky with the weather that allowed us to do this.

The views were incredible. We saw several jackal, ostrich, springbok and an oryx with baby.

A very tasty picnic lunch in the dunes and arrived back around 4.30pm." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Delight on 17 Aug 2022
"Amazing full day tour with Bruno.

Very informative throughout the full day but also great fun for the kids." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Delight on 9 Jul 2022
"Wonderful day trip. Knowledgeable guide. Stunning scenery.

Amazing lunch in the dunes." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Family P
Spain

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 10 Jul 2022
"This was the most disappointing day of our Namibian trip, although it definitely still had its good bits The opportunity to see the amazing landscapes around Sandwich Harbour was a privilige, and the sight of the dunes right up against the ocean was unforgettable.

However the full day trip made for a very long day, which was tiring for us adults, never mind our kids (aged 8, 12 and 15). I definitely wouldn't recommend the trip to anyone with younger children, especially the day after taking the fantastic kayaking trip to Pelican Point, as the first few hours simply repeated what we had already seen, only this time with a poorer and less passionate guide.

In addition, on the day of our trip a full moon meant that the tide was particularly high and access to Sandwich Harbour was going to be impossible after lunchtime. Instead of making haste, our guide Leon was happy to let the morning meander slowly by and then have to turn around at the mouth of Sandwich Harbour as we were already too late to go any further. Lunch was set up in a poor location in regards to the wind direction and even the tastiest cold lasagna would be spoiled with every mouthful full of sand.

For the five of us it was sadly an expensive day spent mostly in the car, with a guide we felt had long lost enthusiasm for the role." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

29 May 2022
"The excursion was really good. Excellent knowledge from the guide and very well organised.

There is enough time to explore the sand dunes and we also had a nice pick nick lunch." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms S.
Missouri

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 14 May 2022
"Enjoyed the visit to Sandwich Harbour." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms M
Switzerland

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Delight on 4 Apr 2022
"We enjoyed the trip and the guide /driver very much.

To be recommended!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
chris
France

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Delight on 9 Aug 2021
"We really enjoyed the excursion to Sandwich Harbour. Leon was a really good guide, attentive to the children and we were reassured by his experience. He involved the children in his description of the wildlife and plants in the National park. The dune driving was great too." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Great experience"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 19 Oct 2020
"Great scenery. Lots of birds in Walvis Bay lagoon. Unfortunately the fur seals are having a really tough year and there were a lot of dead seals on the beach. Some that were definitely still alive though! We also saw some jackals and lots of different birds.

When we got to Sandwich harbour we walked up some of the dunes before heading to lunch. Next to the lunch stop there was a colony of very habituated 3 striped mice who were shy to start with but would come and take food from our hands once they got used to us. The we drove back through the dunes (slightly terrifying, but my other half absolutely loved this) and saw ostrich, oryx and springbok.

We enjoyed this trip, but seeing all the dead and dying seals was a really sobering experience (this is not a reflection on Turnstone tours - it is nature....we understand that periodically the seals have a really tough year if the fish they eat don't come close enough to land). If the majority of the seals had been fit and healthy it would have been a really amazing day." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R & V
ASCOT

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Stiltz on 13 Mar 2020
"Rudy from Turnstone Tours gave us a great tour, we wondered when booking if it would be a bit too long, but the time flew by and we learned an awful lot, saw some fabulous scenery, interesting coastal birds and wildlife and experienced some great desert dune driving and a picnic in the most amazing setting !!!

Thanks Rudy, it was a tour to remember. I'd recommend to anyone......." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 199
94%
199 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
164
19
10
3
3
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team