This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Reviews: Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Below are independent comments from 191 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 21-30 of 191
Date
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"An amazing day out."

Based at Organic Square on 16 Oct 2017
"We were lucky enough to be on our own on our trip to Sandwich Harbour. Berger was an excellent guide with a huge amount of knowledge and driving expertise. He managed to drive us to Sandwich Harbour along the beach just before the tide made it impossible so we were the only people there. We were left to do some exploring on our own while he prepared an excellent lunch. Although Swakopmund is renowned for its foggy mornings, we had clear skies and sunshine all the time we were there. We had many sightings of lazy jackals, and also pelicans and flamingos. The hectic dune driving was good fun." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Taunton

"wonderful ocean views"

Based at Organic Square on 13 Oct 2017
"It was enjoyable and driver informative and produced good lunch but we didn't see as many birds as expected." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Drs F & S
Oregon

"A great day trip!"

Based at Villa Margherita on 12 Sep 2017
"Wow this trip was great and I was uncertain I wanted to add it.

This was the biggest surprise of the trip. So glad we went." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs K
London

"Brilliant fun in the dunes!"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 8 Sep 2017
"We had so much fun on this trip - driving over the dunes was absolutely brilliant and we could have stayed there for hours!

It was a bucket-list thing for me to go to Sandwich Harbour, to see where the desert meets the sea - and I'll never forget the drive along that precariously narrow stretch of sand between the crashing waves and the huge dunes. My only suggestion for the future would be if they were to advise where you can see the classic viewpoint of the headland curving out into the sea in the distance, ringed by the dunes - possibly the best vantage point of this would be on top of one of the dunes, but we never quite saw it from that angle." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms W
Gauteng

"Sandwich Harbour trip"

Based at Sandfields Guesthouse on 27 Aug 2017
"Wonderful day, excellent guide, great experience" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Fascinating trip "

Based at Organic Square on 25 Aug 2017
"We were fortunate that the tide was just about right to get into Sandwich Harbour for a short visit. Only a few birds but our guide was very good at pointing them out. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hot lunch provided in the dunes and the dune bashing was fun. A very good day." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Berger was excellent."

Based at Strand Hotel on 15 Jul 2017
"Berger was an excellent guide and a lovely man too. Great picnic, and some fun driving in the dunes, not a lot of birds, but that's nature for you." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
N & R
Essex

"Great Day out"

Based at Strand Hotel on 22 Apr 2017
"A graet day out but disappointed with the amount of birds may have been time of year" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
Cinderford

"what a ride"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 16 Feb 2017
"A truly great tour, offroading across sand dunes and through waves on the beach. An extremely knowledgeably driver who knew all the birds and animals. Gave us a great picnic half way through. Another part of Namibia not to be missed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"One of the best days of my life!"

Based at Sandfields Guesthouse on 1 Feb 2017
"Burger took us to see the salt pans with flamingos, pelicans and other birds and then the lagoons between the ocean and the dunes. Sandwich Harbour is fabulous and we had the place to ourselves, soaking in the sun and the wind and sea, enjoying the strange plants up close and glorying in that vast serene expanse." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 191
94%
191 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
158
18
9
3
3
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team