This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Reviews: Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Below are independent comments from 190 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 190
Date
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Driving on the edge!"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 7 Oct 2018
"Sandwich Harbour was a beautiful location and we were lucky to get there as it is tide dependent. It was tight for time but we got to climb the sand dunes to see the views. The time factor made for an exhilarating return trip along the shoreline waiting for each wave to go back so we could move on.

It was great having Bruno as our guide giving us insight into the ecology and threats to this from the changing industrial activities in the area.

Enjoyed the bird-watching along the way." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Very enjoyable excursion"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 30 Sep 2018
"A good day out including some exhilarating dune drives.

A bit disappointed that more time was not given to identifying and watching the birds but it was still worth doing. A very different excursion to most of the others we did." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr D.
Egham

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 20 Sep 2018
"If you visit Swakopmund then it makes sense to join a tour of some sort as the town itself is not so attractive. We chose Turnstone Tours and the coast drive to Sandwich Harbour. This is an all day tour and includes lunch taken in a remote spot in the dunes.

The guide was relatively new to undertaking this tour but nevertheless made real efforts to make sure we saw what we wanted and he was keen to point out areas of interest. The weather prevented us getting to Sandwich Harbour which was a shame. The waves were far too high and strong and covered the access road. I don't think this is unusual so it seems you have to be prepared for this. (We were just lucky we avoided the sandstorm from the previous day!)

The view from the top of the dunes over the coast was however spectacular. We also saw many varieties of birds and had company from a number of jackals. Not related to our tour but we did hear other visitors saying that some of the tours they had undertaken were not that good so worth looking closely before picking one." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 18 Sep 2018
"The excursion to the Coast and Sandwich harbour was the only disappointment on our whole Namibian trip. We had been on the same excursion previously and enjoyed it even though then the sand dunes stopped us getting all the way to Sandwich harbour.

The main reason was the land rover truck, as well as being old, was not suitable for four clients. Another client was already in the front seat. The three seats in the back were not suitable for 3 people in comfort with no real viewing for person in middle seat. I am tall and only just managed to fit in and needed to get out frequently to stretch my legs.

The driver guide said there was nothing he could do as this was only vehicle available. Our hire car was being repaired that morning so our options were limited. The trip besides the lack of space was interesting with some good bird sightings. The guide was not as good as guide on our previous trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 22 Sep 2018
"Very good

I particularly enjoyed rescuing a stranded driver in dunes - it reflected the expertise of our guide" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
CathyO
Glasgow

"Fantastic trip with a great guide."

Based at Sam's Giardino on 1 Jul 2018
"Everything we expected and more.

Johan made sure we had the best experience possible.

Great picnic" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Fun, exhilarating."

Based at Villa Margherita on 9 Jan 2018
"Burger was a local from German decent, as a lot of the people are in Swakopmund.

He was interesting and certainly got our adrenaline going in some of the descents in the sand dunes.

Good lunch provided." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A
Alaro

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour review"

Based at The Delight on 11 Jan 2018
"certainly recommend turnstone tours to sandwich harbour - excellent" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"Bruno is a real expert and lovely man"

Based at The Stiltz on 23 Nov 2017
"Such a privilege and had an amazing day with him. Wondered at the salt mines, loved driving along the beach and seeing the wildlife, amazing scenery, great walk on the beach , round the lake at Sandwich harbour, up in the dunes and then a great picnic lunch on the beach, cooked by Bruno.

Drive home over the dunes was exciting and we all felt as though we'd made a friend and had a very special day

I don't know if I'll have a chance to say about the boat trip but you need to know that we were all very glad not to be on the bigger, very crowded boats and how pleased we were to be with Mola Mola. They were fantastic. I think it must just be politics that you couldn't book it for us. They were very professional ." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"An amazing day out."

Based at Organic Square on 16 Oct 2017
"We were lucky enough to be on our own on our trip to Sandwich Harbour. Berger was an excellent guide with a huge amount of knowledge and driving expertise. He managed to drive us to Sandwich Harbour along the beach just before the tide made it impossible so we were the only people there. We were left to do some exploring on our own while he prepared an excellent lunch. Although Swakopmund is renowned for its foggy mornings, we had clear skies and sunshine all the time we were there. We had many sightings of lazy jackals, and also pelicans and flamingos. The hectic dune driving was good fun." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 190
94%
190 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
157
18
9
3
3
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team