This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beach Lodge

Reviews of Beach Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beach Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"Nice room, loved the sound of the waves, like seeing others beach combing.

Not particularly good on giving us directions to Wallis Bay." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Comfortable hotel with good restaurant above"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Modern, clean comfortable guest house located on the beach front with excellent and quite classy restaurant above, serving good breakfast and excellent dinner.

There is also a small bar for pre-dinner drinks at the restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful.

A good place to stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr A
Somerset

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"GOOD TO BE AWAY FROM THE CENTRE OF TOWN AND GREAT LOCATION RIGHT ON THE BEACH" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D
Farnham

"Comfort in an amazing sea front location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2018
"The rooms are modern, quite luxurious and have perfect views of the beach." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Cambridge 4
UK

"Good location a little way from town"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"The hotel is well situated, right on the beach & a short journey from the centre where restaurants are. The area around is all being developed.

The hotel has a good restaurant of it's own, best to book though as always seemed busy. The rooms are all different - I think my sister had something like the honeymoon suite! The rooms all have great views and are fitted to a good standard." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Nice spacious apartment on the beach"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Rather different type of accommodation to much of Namibia - a fairly clinical-style open plan apartment on the beach a few km outside central Swakopmund. 'Montrose' ideal for five - split over two floors (first and second floor) with large double upstairs, and two single and two bunks downstairs; both floors with a balcony.

Beachfront fairly wild - rather like the North Sea. Setting great; all you need on site, but really too remote from town if you want to go out in the evening.

Fairly motel-style welcome and check-in / check-out but very efficient.

'Wreck' restaurant on site. Breakfast fine, but not special. Dinners very good with wide-ranging menu and plenty of children's options. Dinner is two sittings at 6pm and 8pm, with no flexibility.

No activities run by the lodge but we did:

Pelican Point Kayaking - brilliant fun for all playing with the seals, but especially for the kids for whom it was one of the highlights of the whole trip. Supposedly fully booked, but two other groups did not show - so we were on our own. Even if you cannot book online, it is worth a call to check late availability.

Sandwich Harbour 4x4. Did this in the afternoon in August. Wind had got up to 35kts by the time we got to Sandwich, so it was very wild - great, but think about going in the morning if you want more chance of something less bracing. The trip was very good and included great dune and beach driving. Had no complaints but it was very definitely not as explicitly advertised in a number of aspects (time / vehicle / exclusivity (probably of more concern to the couple with us!) etc) as it was let out to another operator. If you want something very specific, you may want to question specifically.

Swakopmund Fat Bikes. Despite checking carefully when we booked this, there was no bike suitable for our 7 year old (he is not small) and one of the 11-yr old girls struggled. A really good trip but hard work. Probably 11 is about the minimum sensible age - depending on size and strength of kids." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr H
Portsmouth

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"This was a relaxing break from all the driving and a good place to stay to do kayaking with seals at Walvis Bay.

The hotel wasn't that easy to find as it was in a quiet outskirt of the city and the signposts were quite confusing.

On arrival we were shown into our room. Although it was a luxury room, it was small and the bathroom bizarrely overlooked the restaurant carpark and street with no frosted glass or curtains! We asked if we could move to another room and was shown something much nicer and bigger, with a view of the beach and a balcony. I was pleased that the hotel were able to re-allocate us easily but given that it was not fully booked (only about 4 rooms occupied each night) we very much felt that they had tried to get rid of the least-nice room on us, which set rather a negative tone to our stay. This was also the only place we stayed at that charged for WiFi which was disappointing, especially as WiFi was free in some of the very remote lodges!

The room we moved to was really nice and we had a relaxing stay here - after rushing from place to place this was a nice place to have a rest. Shower was excellent and the room was modern and well equipped. We only had breakfast here which was nice.

It is worth noting that the restaurant is not open for evening meals on a Sunday but the reception was happy to book us in for a meal at The Jetty where we had some of the best fish we'd ever eaten.

Staff were friendly, particularly the car park attendants." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"A touch of German culture by the sea."

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2016
"This hotel whilst situated outside of town sits on a marvellous location overlooking the sea. It has very good rooms offering every level of comfort you could wish for, and the rooms are very large, and with a very large bathroom.

The only down side was that the restaurant was not open in the evenings. Apparently they close the restaurant in the low season. It will open in July I believe. It was open for breakfast only.

The restaurant offers superb views across the ocean. Again the staff were very good, especially the restaurant staff. Activities on offer were limited mainly due to the weather, it was very foggy.

We were able to arrange a taxi to take us to the town centre and spent an enjoyable few hours at the aquarium and looking around the town. Swakopmund is a fascinating town to visit as its in sharp contrast to any other town in Namibia." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Swakopmund"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2016
"A lovely room overlooking the sea. Very helpful staff.

The Wreck restaurant, which is attached to the Lodge is not open for meals, just breakfast - not mentioned in the guide book - needs to be updated. So the receptionist had to phone around about 6 places before we got a reservation for dinner." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Phil
London

"Fantastice room with view of sea!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2016
"Great location overlooking the sea. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed (possibly permanently). Had to drive into town for dinner.

The Tug : Worth visiting but book in advance - make sure ask for window seat. Outside can be cool so take jacket or fleece.

The room was the best so far. Great window overlooking the sea." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 54
90%
54 reviews of Beach Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
23
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (223 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa