This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by J & R from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

2

Namibia April 2016

Namibia and 1 other country between 7 Apr 2016 and 26 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A holiday of a lifetime - so many different experiences on a variety of levels.

Beautiful country, lovely people

Overall - amazing!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"B & B Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"Welcoming hostess, comfortable room, but personally didn't like the pillows!
Tasty breakfast.

we went to Joe's Beerhouse for supper - by taxi as advised not to walk around after dark. Great place - very quirky!

Haus Sonneneck was a bit out of the way but as we were only there one night and didn't go sight seeing it didn't really matter for us."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"Basic room, no toiletries! ok supper.

lovely staff"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Fish River"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Lovely chalet. Great guided tour of Fish River Canyon.

Delicious food.

Dodgy wifi!

Just one problem was that we booked a sundowner walk and trip to the Canyon with a member of staff and she didn't organise either of these things. it was resolved pretty quickly by another member of staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Eagles nest"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"we upgraded to Eagles Nest - 6 or 7 chalets about 7km from the main lodge. Lovely room with amazing views.

Supper on the first night was not good, and we thought rather expensive compared to other meals we ate in Namibia, because we felt we were a captive audience. So on the next night we went to Aus for supper - the Bahnhof hotel, wonderful meal great service - we loved it!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Balloon trip"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My husband had an upset stomach, possibly from Hoodia Lodge.

we loved the room, the views and especially the balloon trip - it exceeded our expectations.

excellent tour of the dunes on the next day with a great guide. Lunch under the trees was a real treat - linen tablecloth, china and glass and chilled wine...perfect end to an amazing day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Balloon flight"

14 Apr 2016 • Morning excursion

wonderful pilot - he explained everything so well. And then landed the balloon on the trailer!
delicious breakfast too!

An absolutely stupendous experience...would do it again!
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Dunes"

15 Apr 2016 • All-day excursion

A great guide, Mike. we set off at about 6am and returned back to the lodge at 3pm, so a very long day - a bit too much for me.
Climbed a dune, slid down - hilarious!
Delicious lunch under the trees.
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Swakopmund"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2016
"A lovely room overlooking the sea. Very helpful staff.

The Wreck restaurant, which is attached to the Lodge is not open for meals, just breakfast - not mentioned in the guide book - needs to be updated. So the receptionist had to phone around about 6 places before we got a reservation for dinner."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Seals"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"Simple but pleasant room overlooking the sea.

Very few guests so quiet at dinner.

Helpful staff

Amazing sunset"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2016
"Beautiful lodge in fabulous location.

We drove along the Salt Road to Torra Bay to get here - it is absolutely fine to drive. Saw some shipwrecks along the way!

Lovely pool, delicious food.

Went to see the rock engravings at Twelfelfontein - fascinating and well worth a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"After the luxury of Mowani, this was a big disappointment. The staff at reception were officious and not welcoming.

The chalet was lovely - it was on two floors so we slept upstairs with a view of the waterhole. Disappointing number of animals though, but that's just luck.

The food was absolutely horrible - a fixed price for lunch and dinner which were both buffet meals. Unhygienic use of utensils when cooking the meat - the same tongs were used for handling cooked and raw meat. Way overpriced too. a most unpleasant experience, we dreaded going in for meals.

we went on a game drive with a guide who wasn't at all proactive, except when he spotted a lion with a kill. Then we took ourselves off in the afternoon."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2016
"We were upgraded to Bush Camp from Plains Camp and it was amazing. Fabulous room, with its own little waterhole - guinea fowl and warthogs visited us.

The staff were incredibly helpful - our guide, Richard, was superb. Saw leopard in the evening and walked with cheetahs the next morning.

Can't fault it and want to go back. we will definitely recommend to our friends.

Lovely gift shop too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2016
"We were given a free upgrade but unfortunately our room had a tree in front of it, so not much of a view. we could see the spray from the Falls from the hotel - not the room and hear the water.

Visiting Victoria Falls was a breathtakingly spiritual experience. Got soaked to the skin of course!

Then dried off and walked to Zambia and had lunch at the Royal Livingstone Hotel - a beatiful place in a stunning location. Delicious food too!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team