This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Great location for seal colony.

Underated lodge - it had good rooms, very good food and friendly service" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
CT USA

"Perfect stopover point on the coast"

1 night Arrived 27 Mar 2019
"Our stop at Cape Cross Lodge was primarily as a break in our long drive up the Skeleton Coast, so we did not spend much time here -- but our brief stay was very enjoyable. Our room was lovely -- overlooking the ocean and a spectacular sunset. It was very quiet at the lodge -- probably because of the time of year. Dinner and breakfast were fine and the service was friendly. We enjoyed the small museum in the lobby showing the history of Cape Cross. The lodge also prepared a nice box lunch for us to bring with us when we left. I wish we had had the energy to walk along the beach." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Wakefield

"Relaxing stopover"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2018
"We stayed here to break the journey between Swakopmund and Mowani but principally to visit the seal colony which is amazing.

Well appointed and spacious room with a great view of the Atlantic ocean.

The communal areas were quite cold during the evening." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Remote location with great staff"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2017
"Two hours north of Swakopmund along a salt road - it was easy driving to this lodge.

The isolated and bleak location was offset by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We had a ground floor room with a terrace that faced onto the beach. We spotted jackals moving to/from the seal colony some 4km south of the lodge - some pausing for a drink of water just by our room.

Access to the seal colony was by road but we were free to walk north along the beach as far as we wanted. Every evening as the sun set thousands of black cormorants flew south in long skeins over the waves. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good.

It was lovely to have a log fire in the sitting area each evening. We really enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms W
Gauteng

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2017
"Weather was poor and hotel room rather chilly but can understand that heaters are a problem with regards to electricity supply - generators.

Good service in the dining room but had to ask for room to be made up" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"It is all about the seals!"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"We were very surprised at how nice Cape Cross Lodge really is. The website doesn't do it justice.

Our room was spacious with a very high ceiling and a great ocean view. The meals were excellent and the service good too.

The attraction was the seals! Everyone says that they stink. If you are a country girl, you'll have no problems.

There were thousands of seals at your feet. Brilliiant" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr A
Australia

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"The rooms are clean and spacious but fairly basic.

Nice views onto the ocean and far enough away from the seal colony that you do not get the associated smells.

The restaurant was very good for the evening meal and breakfast was basic but good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"Driving out to the Cape Cross seal preserve is an adventure and the barren landscape is interesting to certain sorts of folks.

The facilities are fairly standard but with great views of birds flocking on the ocean and the spectacular sea scenery. fortunately it is far enough away form the seal colonies to not suffer form the smell.

The rooms are standard and clean but nothing to write home about." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr H
Michigan

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Cold stay at Cape Cross Lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Arrived here in warm sunshine although a bit blowy! Check in was quick and reception staff were polite and happy and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Our room was bright and clean although the bathroom could really do with a revamp. We sat on our balcony with glass of wine and watched the sun go down over the sea, within 10 minutes of this happening the temperature must have dropped 30 degrees, it was cold so on went our long trousers and fleeces.

Dinner was good although all the guest sat shivering despite the fact there was a log fire which sadly gave out no heat whatsoever. The Manager did her rounds of the tables during dinner which was a nice touch and we joked with her that we needed a hot water bottle, low and behold when we returned to our room there was a hot water bottle on the bed, what a nice touch. They really could have done with heating which would have made it such a better experience.

Breakfast was okay, although it would have been good for there to have been a bit more selection out, but think we were last to breakfast and fruit/cakes etc had not been replaced." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 56
87%
56 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
21
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (33 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa