This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema

Reviews of Serra Cafema

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serra Cafema and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serra Cafema.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs F.
Paris

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"2 nights are enough...not a lot to do ...only boating on the river ...and quad...not so easy ...and no WIFI..." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Peter
Stockton

"The new Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"After recent floods Serra Cafema had to be rebuilt and had only been open three weeks before our arrival. It is spectacular! Raised walkways connect each thatch-roofed chalet to the main lodge. Our chalet overlooked the rapids along the Kunene River. Rooms are very large and include a large outdoor living and dining space and deck.

Food was outstanding and be prepared for dining surprises.

The pace here is slower than most safari camps and it is a perfect place to end your trip to Namibia. It is all about the scenery at this camp and the Himba people. The Hartmann Valley is wide and covered in grass. Jagged mountains and sand dunes ring the valley. Our visit to a Himba village was very enjoyable.

We appreciated the ability to tailor our activities at this camp. One morning we preferred to take a scenic drive rather than quad biking. Our guide, Limbo, was happy to accommodate our request." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Ms M
Ottawa

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"By the time we got to this location, we appreciated the fact that the activities started a little bit later in the morning and that we had quite a bit of down time.

The visit to the Himba village was very interesting. The sand dunes in the afternoon sun is a beautiful sight.

The staff was very friendly and attentive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"V interesting visit to Himba village"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Spectacular location and welcome contrast to the desert regions. Views down the river and birdlife were a very positive aspect. The camp staff were particularly friendly and interesting to talk to.

I found the Himba village visit fascinating and a far more authentic experience than the Damara "Living Museum", especially since I was the only visitor, along with my guide, and the lingering low cloud meant that the cattle had not yet been taken to pasture." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"A beautiful remote location, again we had a great guide for the 4 days we were there.

However, the management was a bit hit and miss and we were never quite sure who was actually in charge.

There was also an issue with the hot water in the shower, pretty much showered in tepid water every day." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
N & R
Essex

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2017
"Again a disappointing guide. All staff we spoke to at the various Wilderness Camps said what a wonderful employer they were So for all three guides to be not very good was surprising. Our experience of there camps previously was in Botswana where we had fantastic guide so it was really disappointing. I realize that a lot of what we were doing was about the scenery but there is still lots of other things that could have been pointed out and explained.
The visit to the village where you are expected to buy stuff is just not our cup of tea.
Again a couple of lovely surprise lunch locations." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mss
Brussels

"Serra Cafema stay"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"Excellent experience.

Good service level, excellent guide (Darius)." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Mr T
San Fran

"Remote! Remote! Remote!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Though Serra Cafema is the oldest of the three Wilderness properties we visited, we liked the interior layout and design of its suites the best. Our suite's lounging areas (both interior and exterior) were spacious and comfortable and were smartly separating from the sleeping, dressing and bathing spaces. We understand, however, that Serra Cafema will undergo major renovations and perhaps relocation in a few months, so we will not dwell on its current features.

Activities-wise, we loved every moment of our Himba Village visit (our outstanding guide Timo is from a nearby Himba community and offered us unique personal insights); river cruise; and ATV adventures. Michael and Elroy were outstanding hosts. As well, deWald (who heads Wilderness Safari's Food and Beverage operations in Namibia) was on assignment at Serra Cafema, and we had the pleasure of learning first-hand the immense challenges of provisioning and preparing healthy, varied, and delicious meals in some of the world's most remote locations." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L & Mr G
USA

"Remote Epic Serra Cafema"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The drive from the airstrip through the Hartmann Valley to Serra Cafema is "epically" and spectacularly African! Arrival at the camp is equally as impressive - set alongside the Kunene River in amongst the reeds. This is truly a place to just be - at one with Namibia and with nature. This lodge beckons me back!

Our guide Darius was just brilliant, he was very attentive to our needs and continually amazed us with driving us to vistas better than the previous which we didn't think possible! Taking in the breathtaking landscape whilst having our sundowners on our first night there was the highlight of our Namibian trip! Our boat trip up the along the Kunene river spotting Crocs and having sundowners on the Angolan side of the river was special too.

The staff were very pleasant and accommodating - we were given an upgrade (huge thanks!) and a special, surprise, private lunch right on the river. The tents are very spacious and gorgeous.

The lodge will be undergoing a revamp later this year - can't wait to go back :-)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Netherlands

"Unforgettable!!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"The main reason to go to Serra Cafema was based on my wish to interact with the Himba's in there natrual environment. But it became so much more. To fly in, surrounded by magnificent mountains, where the quide was waiting with something to drink and to eat gave me the first glance how beautiful it would be.

To the remote lodge it takes about 50 minutes. I enoyed every minute of it. With beautiful scenery and the mountains of Angola in the background.

There was a warm and personal welcome when I arrived. My chalet was overwhelming big, beautifully furnished and very clean. Outside a wooden deck with comfortable chairs. And a vieuw over the river! Wow!!! In the evening before diner, somethimes around the pool litted by candellight, I sat at the fireplace, With a drink and some bites. My faverite spot in the main area. The decorations were very stylish.

The food was more then excellent. My complements to the chef!

The excursion to the Himba was excactally what I had hoped for. My guide (a Himba himself) got me on a very respectfully way in contact with them. Before there was a very extensively explenation about there style of life.

The boat excursion and the sundowner on Angolian territory was fun (crocodiles) but not special.

But what a stay!!!!!! What a beautiful remote area with a stunning environment. It is one of the most extra ordinary places I ever have been. It is unforgettable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 29
96%
29 reviews of Serra Cafema by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (56 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (33 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa