This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema

Reviews of Serra Cafema

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serra Cafema and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serra Cafema.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Barbados

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"We saved the best till last ! We booked Serra Cafema for our last three nights to rest before our journey home. It is a wonderful property that has some superb touches. The rooms are by far the largest of our whole trip with a very large lounge and exceptional views.

Our laundry was done and returned daily and apart from one cloudy day we did have hot water (not sure how they cope with several cloudy days?) the rooms are serviced three times a day which is a nice touch but when a bath towel is missing for a day and your told it’s because it’s been cloudy (surely at this price point they have extras especially as the lodge was not even half full) We wonder if they have become a little complacent ?

Our arrival food whilst fresh and looked lovely was not gluten free so I couldn’t eat it!! We waited in the transportation to the lodge whilst the two guides (@ the airport pick up hut) partook of the left overs …. Not for long but not sure it’s the right first impression.

Guessing that the other pre contact arrangement of a close cabin for My husband post op had also been omitted, we mentioned that upon arrival and once again the change needed to be made upon arrival!

Our guide was good but not exceptional and the food was delicious (although the BBQ night we felt was lacking)
There are some touching welcomes and drinks and the staff were amazing. The two new assistant managers were charming and very welcoming.

The Himba village trip was excellent although little cultural information was passed on. I was lucky I then was able to have a Himba driver (Ricardo who spoke excellent English and would make a fabulous guide) who shared with me some excellent information that filled the gap.

It is an amazing facility that is a must do if you have the opportunity….. we feel it just needs a little more attention to the detail that charm and smiles don’t necessarily make up for!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Pure Magic"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2022
"After a magical stay, my husband and I cannot wait to return someday! From the moment we began our journey to the lodge and spotted the lush, green ribbon of foliage lining the river, we knew were in for a treat. It's impossible to adequately describe the otherworldly landscape of this region; you just have to experience it for yourself.

The lodge itself is beautifully appointed and perfectly situated along the Kunene River. Facing the river and Serra Cafema mountains, our cabin featured an expansive deck, where we would lounge each afternoon to enjoy the breeze and sounds of the river flowing. (The cabin did not have air conditioning, though we found it to be unnecessary during our stay.) And while difficult to compete with the incredible setting, the staff were the true stars of the show, going out of their way to make our stay and my birthday pure magic (with a surprise birthday party, complete with singing, a specially made chocolate cake, and champagne on the dunes!!!).

From stunning sunsets to adrenaline-rushing quad-biking and touching cultural experiences with the Himba, we had an incredible time with our guide Charlie. When the time came for us to sadly depart, we felt as though we were leaving close friends!

While slightly "off the beaten path" (which we loved!), we cannot recommend this lodge enough!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs ACB
Chicago

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2022
"Magical as always (my 2nd visit) - this is such a special location and camp. The staff makes it even more special. Hope to return again one day soon." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs F.
Paris

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"2 nights are enough...not a lot to do ...only boating on the river ...and quad...not so easy ...and no WIFI..." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"The new Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"After recent floods Serra Cafema had to be rebuilt and had only been open three weeks before our arrival. It is spectacular! Raised walkways connect each thatch-roofed chalet to the main lodge. Our chalet overlooked the rapids along the Kunene River. Rooms are very large and include a large outdoor living and dining space and deck.

Food was outstanding and be prepared for dining surprises.

The pace here is slower than most safari camps and it is a perfect place to end your trip to Namibia. It is all about the scenery at this camp and the Himba people. The Hartmann Valley is wide and covered in grass. Jagged mountains and sand dunes ring the valley. Our visit to a Himba village was very enjoyable.

We appreciated the ability to tailor our activities at this camp. One morning we preferred to take a scenic drive rather than quad biking. Our guide, Limbo, was happy to accommodate our request." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Ms M
Ottawa

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"By the time we got to this location, we appreciated the fact that the activities started a little bit later in the morning and that we had quite a bit of down time.

The visit to the Himba village was very interesting. The sand dunes in the afternoon sun is a beautiful sight.

The staff was very friendly and attentive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"V interesting visit to Himba village"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Spectacular location and welcome contrast to the desert regions. Views down the river and birdlife were a very positive aspect. The camp staff were particularly friendly and interesting to talk to.

I found the Himba village visit fascinating and a far more authentic experience than the Damara "Living Museum", especially since I was the only visitor, along with my guide, and the lingering low cloud meant that the cattle had not yet been taken to pasture." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"A beautiful remote location, again we had a great guide for the 4 days we were there.

However, the management was a bit hit and miss and we were never quite sure who was actually in charge.

There was also an issue with the hot water in the shower, pretty much showered in tepid water every day." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
N & R
Essex

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2017
"Again a disappointing guide. All staff we spoke to at the various Wilderness Camps said what a wonderful employer they were So for all three guides to be not very good was surprising. Our experience of there camps previously was in Botswana where we had fantastic guide so it was really disappointing. I realize that a lot of what we were doing was about the scenery but there is still lots of other things that could have been pointed out and explained.
The visit to the village where you are expected to buy stuff is just not our cup of tea.
Again a couple of lovely surprise lunch locations." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mss
Brussels

"Serra Cafema stay"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"Excellent experience.

Good service level, excellent guide (Darius)." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 32
96%
32 reviews of Serra Cafema by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (61 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (37 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (36 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (27 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


96% (10 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa