This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema

Reviews of Serra Cafema

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serra Cafema and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serra Cafema.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"A beautiful remote location, again we had a great guide for the 4 days we were there.

However, the management was a bit hit and miss and we were never quite sure who was actually in charge.

There was also an issue with the hot water in the shower, pretty much showered in tepid water every day." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
N & R
Essex

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2017
"Again a disappointing guide. All staff we spoke to at the various Wilderness Camps said what a wonderful employer they were So for all three guides to be not very good was surprising. Our experience of there camps previously was in Botswana where we had fantastic guide so it was really disappointing. I realize that a lot of what we were doing was about the scenery but there is still lots of other things that could have been pointed out and explained.
The visit to the village where you are expected to buy stuff is just not our cup of tea.
Again a couple of lovely surprise lunch locations." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mss
Brussels

"Serra Cafema stay"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"Excellent experience.

Good service level, excellent guide (Darius)." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Mr T
San Fran

"Remote! Remote! Remote!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Though Serra Cafema is the oldest of the three Wilderness properties we visited, we liked the interior layout and design of its suites the best. Our suite's lounging areas (both interior and exterior) were spacious and comfortable and were smartly separating from the sleeping, dressing and bathing spaces. We understand, however, that Serra Cafema will undergo major renovations and perhaps relocation in a few months, so we will not dwell on its current features.

Activities-wise, we loved every moment of our Himba Village visit (our outstanding guide Timo is from a nearby Himba community and offered us unique personal insights); river cruise; and ATV adventures. Michael and Elroy were outstanding hosts. As well, deWald (who heads Wilderness Safari's Food and Beverage operations in Namibia) was on assignment at Serra Cafema, and we had the pleasure of learning first-hand the immense challenges of provisioning and preparing healthy, varied, and delicious meals in some of the world's most remote locations." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L & Mr G
USA

"Remote Epic Serra Cafema"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The drive from the airstrip through the Hartmann Valley to Serra Cafema is "epically" and spectacularly African! Arrival at the camp is equally as impressive - set alongside the Kunene River in amongst the reeds. This is truly a place to just be - at one with Namibia and with nature. This lodge beckons me back!

Our guide Darius was just brilliant, he was very attentive to our needs and continually amazed us with driving us to vistas better than the previous which we didn't think possible! Taking in the breathtaking landscape whilst having our sundowners on our first night there was the highlight of our Namibian trip! Our boat trip up the along the Kunene river spotting Crocs and having sundowners on the Angolan side of the river was special too.

The staff were very pleasant and accommodating - we were given an upgrade (huge thanks!) and a special, surprise, private lunch right on the river. The tents are very spacious and gorgeous.

The lodge will be undergoing a revamp later this year - can't wait to go back :-)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Netherlands

"Unforgettable!!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"The main reason to go to Serra Cafema was based on my wish to interact with the Himba's in there natrual environment. But it became so much more. To fly in, surrounded by magnificent mountains, where the quide was waiting with something to drink and to eat gave me the first glance how beautiful it would be.

To the remote lodge it takes about 50 minutes. I enoyed every minute of it. With beautiful scenery and the mountains of Angola in the background.

There was a warm and personal welcome when I arrived. My chalet was overwhelming big, beautifully furnished and very clean. Outside a wooden deck with comfortable chairs. And a vieuw over the river! Wow!!! In the evening before diner, somethimes around the pool litted by candellight, I sat at the fireplace, With a drink and some bites. My faverite spot in the main area. The decorations were very stylish.

The food was more then excellent. My complements to the chef!

The excursion to the Himba was excactally what I had hoped for. My guide (a Himba himself) got me on a very respectfully way in contact with them. Before there was a very extensively explenation about there style of life.

The boat excursion and the sundowner on Angolian territory was fun (crocodiles) but not special.

But what a stay!!!!!! What a beautiful remote area with a stunning environment. It is one of the most extra ordinary places I ever have been. It is unforgettable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&V
Florida

"Beautiful site with extraordinary outings"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2016
"We must rate the experience extraordinary in spite of some management observations or actions that were less than excellent. The general manager & visiting food manager were sometimes less than fully engaged in their interactions with guests. The later seemed much more attentive to pilots staying over than he did to some guests.

Door closing practices in our room (at turndown) were a bit confusing to us but 2 nights we ended up having a gerbil in our room (who would dash under the platform bed). We did not find this particularly disturbing but my husband went for assistance our first night The visiting manager did not appear to be successful but seemed confident we would have no other problems. On night 2 (somewhat cute) Mr. Gerbil was back in our room. We successfully chased him out. By day 3 one of our ceiling fans was not working. Eventually we were told that would require an "outside" service.

Upon our arrival in our next camp we discovered that Mr. Gerbil had made considerable headway into a woven cloth bag with bagged snacks enclosed." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs B
Pennsylvania

"Perfect!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2015
"Amazing place in a very isolated location. The staff is fantastic!

Thank you!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
PV
Ireland

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2015
"Exquisite remote location
Fabulous guide .
Food superb
Activities thoroughly enjoyable
Marvellous staff" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Serra Cafema has so much more to offer"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2014
"For our preferences, Serra Cafema placed too much value on food and drink. Yes, it was thoughtful to be met at the airstrip with champagne, but we would have preferred exploring and photographing the landscape on the drive to camp. While we very much appreciate quality food, not when it is taking time away from the river, sand dunes, rock, wildlife, canyons and mountains we'd come so far to see. Serra Cafema has an environment unlike anywhere else in the world, so why spend so much of the day hurrying back to camp for yet another meal or snack? We'd much preferred to take bagged meals and stay out all-day, but our guide wanted to show us "the Serra Cafema way . . ."

Even on our 'all-day' outing to visit the Himba and the Marienfluss Valley, we had to wait through a sit-down breakfast, but then were in too big a hurry for 'the long-drive ahead' to stop for photographs of landscapes and birds leaving camp. Until our guide realized he'd forgotten our lunches, then we waited for someone on a quad to make the delivery, despite our protestations we could easily survive without a meal.

Unbelievably, we had a cheetah lope across the riverbed in front of us, and rather than stopping to watch and enjoy this incredible sighting, our guide gave chase--needless to say, the cheetah won, disappearing up and over a ridge.

Our visit with the Himba was an incredible experience; their care for clothing and appearances is extraordinary, as they live very simply under the harshest of conditions. We would have loved to have talked with and asked about their lives, instead we were severely limited as our guide used a little translational dictionary to look up the most basic of words. So rewarding, and yet so disappointing at the same time.

The importance of a sit-down lunch? Only to speed down the road--braced above the seat to save my back--the moonscape quilt of colors--rocks, vegetation, mountains, erosion--blurred as we flew back to camp. What was the hurry? So we could watch as our guide covered his turnaround tracks from the morning? (Especially when there are quad tracks leading and circling everywhere!) Or to spend time waiting in our room?

Serra Cafema is an older camp. Beautiful plate-glass windows and deck overlooking the river, but not maintained with the attention to detail we've become accustomed to in most camps. Our room had a cracked mirror, spiders and cobwebs occupied corners, trash remained below the deck for duration, broken chain left without repair; in the dining area bits of vegetation remained on the floor, toothpicks and other small trash not picked up. Nothing horrible, but I felt a sense of pride was missing. While at Desert Rhino Camp it was difficult to carry our own bags--someone was always offering, literally removing from our hands--here at Serra Cafema, after much lingering and awkwardness, the offer would come half-heartedly. I felt most individuals, especially dining and serving staff, wanted to do well, but there was a rigidity obstructing a relaxed pleasant atmosphere." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 35
97%
35 reviews of Serra Cafema by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (63 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


100% (40 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


79% (37 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (29 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


97% (12 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa