This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs K from Netherlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

A perfect trip!!

Zambia between 10 Oct 2018 and 24 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was just what I wanted. Excellent.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No I don't think so."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"It's ok to stay for a night, before travelling to an other place. But not for a longer stay.

The simple furnished and decorated room is large and very clean. The food was good, but you have to wait long before it is on your table.

The staff is helpful but it needs a bit more professional attitude. But saying that I would go again for a stopover. If you want luxury all over, it is not your place."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"What a wonderfull stay!"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"The nature of South Luangwa is surprising manysided. It was my first visit to South Luangwa. In spite of the end of the dry season, there is still lots of green. The camp, beautiful situated at the river, is very good with an utmost pleasant atmosphere.

The food is very good. My favourite is the lunch, outstanding quality.

The gamedrives were excellent. Thank you Sandy. Lots of game (lions and leopards). And with a lot of interaction between the animals.

What a wonderfull stay!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Warm hospitality"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"The flight and the boattrip to Lower Zambezi and Chiawa Camp is already beautiful. What a splendid environment and what a warm welcome.

The camp with very luxery beautifully furnished "tents" is very good organised with excellent perfect service. The food is incredible good. Enjoyed the dining in a fairy like lighted bush, lunch on the river and my early morning tea in bed.

The guides are superb! They found everything we wanted. Also enjoyed the canoe trip very much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Absolute favourite."

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2018
"This bushcamp, with only 4 chalets, is my favourite of this trip.

Chalet 1 and 2 overlooking the river. Chalet 3 and 4 overlooking a lagoon were animals come to drink and bathe. I stayed in chalet 3 (the best) and when I arrived elephants were blocking my door! What a welcome.

The guides are extremely good and they create a warm and relaxed atmosphere, that makes the gamedrives a real pleasure!!

There is plenty of game. I have had great wild moments in a beautiful environment. Also the food was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Once in a lifetime!

Namibia between 3 Jun 2016 and 16 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"IT WAS ALL I WANTED. I loved every moment of it.

It strarted with Sabina Hekandjo. She is the one who made it happen. I am very gratefull that she has patience with me and with her knowlegde. Because of that I had a splendid time. Thank you!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, because the way your company is acting is something I never have witnessed before."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"Quiet with a luxury radiation.

Positive:
Very clean tastefully executed room with a spacious bathroom, At the wall beautiful (black and white) pictures of wild animals. The whole B&B gave me a quiet luxury feeling, even around the swimming pool.

The food (breakfast, lunch and diner) is simple but very tastful.

The staff is warm and very helpful, spacially the manager.
It was a pleasure to be there.

Negative:
It took the ordered taxi for visiting Windhoek more then 1 1/2 hours to arrive. Almost to late to go. But I went and found Windhoek not interesting and dull.

The next morning, waiting for the pickup to the airport, it turned out that my flight was not in the morning but in the afternoon. Because of that I was arriving late insted of early on my next destination."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A lodge with a few"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"From the airstrip to the lodge we saw from a far distence some animals. But in this territory it's all about the unique extensive landscape with glorious mountains and high dunes.

Comming into the lodge you will be drawn to the magnificence vieuw!!!!

The staff is very warm, personal and helpfull.

The chalets are large safaritents (sleeping) and a clay ensuite bathroom. Everything very clean. (note: the shower is not flexible, difficult if you wash your hair) In front of the tent is a wooden platform wit chairs and of course the vieuw. There is enough space between the chalets. It is possible to sleep on the roof. Sounds good but it is very cold during the winter. I tryed it but after one hour I was too cold. (may)

In the main area are, inside and outside, very comfortable places to sitdown.

The food is tastefull. But dining is a little bit stiff. It felt formal.

One of the great advantage of Kulala is the private gate into the park.

I enjoyed my stay very much. The highlight was the day into the Naukluft National Park. It was beautiful! I had a very good gide.

In the future when I can effort it, I will chose a smaller lodge. Say something about me and not about the quality of Kulala Desert Lodge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"Villa Margherita is a sfeerfully with style furnished house.

My accomodation (called Nelson) was not in de main building but in an annex in the beautiful garden (lots of birds). Being a big tastefully furnished sleepingroom with an ensuite bathroom (with a bath and a seperate shower) and a what oldfashioned furnished sittingroom. Everything very clean. The sittingroom has a connecting door with an other part of the annex. The drawback: sometimes I could hear them literally.

The staff is nice and helpfull.

The food was excellent!!! And during diner they played wonderfull jazzy music.
It is a pity that they use only one menu, every day the same (vish or beef/ perfect quality). After two days I want something else. Of course I can go out for dinner.

I had a good time in Villa Margherita."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"A day filled with fun."

8 Jun 2016 • Morning excursion

Jeanne Meintjes who runs Eco Marine Kayak Tours is a most charming, personal woman, with a lot of information. Today I am her only booking. Normaly, with only one person to go, she canceled the tour, But because I have made the booking so early she decided to go. Super!!

Driving for a long time over a sandy plain we reached the sea (Pelican Point), where a few curious seals stick there heads out of the water. What a good start. With from Jeanne got waterproof clothing we went into the water in the direction of a sealcolony.

What a fun!!!! The seals frisk around the kayak and playfully try to bite into the stirrer. Listen to the sound of the colony on the beach, to look at them and see the seals around the kayak makes me very happy!!!

A group of flamingos walks into the surf. What else do you want?

So do it!!!
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Unforgettable!!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"The main reason to go to Serra Cafema was based on my wish to interact with the Himba's in there natrual environment. But it became so much more. To fly in, surrounded by magnificent mountains, where the quide was waiting with something to drink and to eat gave me the first glance how beautiful it would be.

To the remote lodge it takes about 50 minutes. I enoyed every minute of it. With beautiful scenery and the mountains of Angola in the background.

There was a warm and personal welcome when I arrived. My chalet was overwhelming big, beautifully furnished and very clean. Outside a wooden deck with comfortable chairs. And a vieuw over the river! Wow!!! In the evening before diner, somethimes around the pool litted by candellight, I sat at the fireplace, With a drink and some bites. My faverite spot in the main area. The decorations were very stylish.

The food was more then excellent. My complements to the chef!

The excursion to the Himba was excactally what I had hoped for. My guide (a Himba himself) got me on a very respectfully way in contact with them. Before there was a very extensively explenation about there style of life.

The boat excursion and the sundowner on Angolian territory was fun (crocodiles) but not special.

But what a stay!!!!!! What a beautiful remote area with a stunning environment. It is one of the most extra ordinary places I ever have been. It is unforgettable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Wonderful relaxing place; a lot of animals"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2016
"The large safaritetents are stylish furnished (with a good bed and in the night time a hot water bottle in it!!!!) From the wooden deck in front of the safaritent and also from the main area, you do have a good sight on the waterpool. I had the safaritent next to the main area. I prefer the ones as far away from the main area as possible. Because of having a more remote bush feeling.

A lot of the wild animals I saw at the waterpool in front of my safaritent. Less in the surrounding bush area. Except Ethosha of course.

The food was good but not special. But the treats at around three o,clock were excellent!. The staff was very helpfull and nice. My guide was excellent!!!

When I describe my highlights you can understan that I was very happy there,

1. The first morning my guide came to my tent. It was still dark. He called my name. "look out your window" and there was a black rhino drinking at the waterhole!!! Wat a start.

2. Ethosha. After a little bit of a disappointing morning we saw een leopard from a distance of 2 meters. Wow!! And it dit not ran away.

3. My last gamedrive. My excellent guide did everything to find a rhino. And what miracle. A group of nine rhino's together. I thank my guide for this special moment! What an experience.

So what more do you want? Nothing. It was wonderful and relaxing."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Good camp, but to little real wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2016
"I experienced the welcome at the reception as unprofessional. Let me waiting for a very long time, did't gave me the right information. Not a good start.

The room is very big with an exceptional beautiful vieuw. Good bed and a lovely shower. I do like the wooden giraffes in different collars, who are standing everywhere. A very nice touch.

The main area is devided into functional segments. Furnished very tastefully with a good feeling for details. The food is good, specialy the afternoon tea. The service was very helpfull and nice.

The guide was extremely enthusiast, That was a little bit of a compensation, because we did see just a few animals on the two gamedrives.The nightdrive (an eveningdrive when it's dark) was more fun. The walkingsafari to find a cheetah was fun and successful. We had no luck to find a leopard.

Inside the encloser there was a good possibility to make pictures of cheetah's.

I don't regret coming to Okonjima Plains Camp, but it was just a nice experience. Not more.
For me it is to big and to less wildlife feeling."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team