This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp
Chiawa Camp

Reviews of Chiawa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chiawa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chiawa Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Zebra

44% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs JD
W London

"Chiawa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Chiawa Camp was again really lovely and we met and had dinner with the lovely Grant Cummings and his great 83 year old father, David-----what a great family they are

Again, Amanda, many thanks for getting us our room request---room 7----without doubt the best room to date---apart of course from the Honeymoon suite which we had last time in Sept 2017

Room 7 was very large and beautifully appointed with the best open view of any of the other rooms---it also had a huge beautiful terrace from which to watch the game, and the game did indeed visit the open area outside our room

Evidently, Simon, the General Manager, is about to convert Rooms 1-6 to a similar standard as our room ----room 7---and work is starting in late November this year

The food was good, albeit we did find that 4 courses was too much for dinner to be honest

Great breakfasts also

The game viewing here was a bit disappointing this time unfortunately

We again saw loads and loads of elephants and also impala and kudi, but only a couple of lion sightings, after having eaten a kill, so they were effectively "dead lions" each time----doing nothing except sleeping!

We did have 2 very good afternoon / sunset boat cruises with some great sightings of birds and elephants

Staff and guides were good

Also spent some dinners with the Front of House Manager and the Operations Manager + the General Manager

As previously, they organised a superb outside BBQ dinner at Bedrock---amazing the organisation that goes into this dinner!

Plus they do a special lunch on a boat]

All in all a lovely camp" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Paula
Atlanta

"loved the camp"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"We stayed for four nights at the camp and really enjoyed it. I learned so much about animals, Zambia, and life in their country. Guides were amazing. We went fishing. For die hard fisherman, consider bringing your own lures - theirs are adequate, but won't meet the expectations of avid fisherman (bring line too). I would highly recommend the place - even with the fishing equipment!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Our second time at Chiawa and would gladly go again" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MrD & MsK
Gold Coast

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Luxury in the jungle.
Excellent food.
Large and well maintained comfortable rooms, with internal bathrooms.
Attentive staff. Excellent award winning guiding team.
Excellent on land and river safaris.
Elephants roam through the camp, as did 2 sub-adult lions at 2am one morning." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

E & S H.
California

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Our first thrill about Chiawa was its location - landing on a dirt strip in the bush, then a 15 minute drive to the river, followed by a 40 minute boat ride up the river. We truly felt that we were in the middle of nowhere.

In general our stay at Chiawa was really great. Our accommodations were lovely though we had come from a more luxurious camp and our suite at Chiawa wasn't as spacious, plus we shared a bathroom with our teenage children rather than having one for each room, which wasn't quite as easy - but all in all it was very nice and comfortable. Additionally, the food was excellent and the chef did a lovely job of catering to our gluten-free needs.

Because we were on the Lower Zambezi River, we got do enjoy water activities as well as game drives. We spent a morning fishing (though unfortunately didn't catch anything) and an afternoon canoeing which was amazing. The guides took us down a channel off the river and we were scarily close to hippos and crocodiles - even the guides got tense on a few occasions. We also got 'stuck' when a herd of about 15 elephants decided to cross the channel in front of us and we had to stay put for about an hour while they entered the water, a few at a time, took a drink, and enjoyed the water until eventually all of them had crossed. That was a truly spectacular hour.

Our game drives were also excellent. While we didn't see such a wide variety of animals as we had in South Luangwa (there are no giraffes and we didn't see zebras in the part of the park that we spent time in, although they are in a different part), we did see excellent and close up lions and leopards every time we went out, more than we had in South Luangwa. We went with different guides each time and all were superb.

For us, the only downside of Chiawa was that the meal schedule was a little rigid and usually communal. Lunch and dinner were at a set time and because everyone ate together no one sat down until everyone had gathered. At our previous camp we enjoyed one communal lunch and some chatting over drinks but had meals at our own table which suited us better and also meant there was flexibility on timing. I know many camps have communal meals and it was really nice to share information with other people but we did feel rushed a few times to get to dinner or lunch (including once when we were on a game drive watching a leopard stalk a prey). " See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Ms M.
Peyia

"Luxury in the Bush"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2019
"Arrived to be safely ushered to reception due to the presence of an elephant visiting the camp. This place was just luxury throughout - we were treated to a private lunch on the river, a private dinner on the balcony overlooking the river, a further "camp dinner" under the stars in the bush. It was just fabulous and a superb experience.


All the staff were friendly, helpful - they couldn't do enough. Due to the presence of animals in camp you were escorted from you room to reception on all occasions - the staff were prompt, efficient and really cared about you. Outstanding management that runs this place so well - Simon and Juliet.


Game drives brilliant - exceptional guides. Took the opportunity to go canoeing (well sat in the boat whilst the guides paddled) - this was a highlight to see the place from a completely different aspect, no shortage of animals on any of the safari activities.


Cannot praise Chiawa enough for the entire experience and would never have thought you could get such perfection in the "middle of nowhere" - credit to the all the staff. " See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Joanne
USA

"Chiawa Always Delivers"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2019
"Wonderful time at Chiawa.

Our guide Boaz was great, and had an awesome time fishing with Clement.

New room decor was very nice, but they need a place to unpack clothes." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
West Yorkshire

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"5th visit says it all. Chiawa and particularly its staff are both amazing and do great credit to Lower Zambezi National Park.

There has not been as much rain as hoped during the rainy season so the surroundings were dry with little vegetation and consequently we saw far more game than anticipated at this time in the season. Impala, baboons and elephant seemed to be everywhere and is a reflection on the conservation work being carried out.

My companion follows a vegan diet and, with prior knowledge, was well catered for." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Chiawa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"Our second time here and just as good as the first.


For us this is the standard that all camps should aspire to. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs K
Netherlands

"Warm hospitality"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"The flight and the boattrip to Lower Zambezi and Chiawa Camp is already beautiful. What a splendid environment and what a warm welcome.

The camp with very luxery beautifully furnished "tents" is very good organised with excellent perfect service. The food is incredible good. Enjoyed the dining in a fairy like lighted bush, lunch on the river and my early morning tea in bed.

The guides are superb! They found everything we wanted. Also enjoyed the canoe trip very much." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 72
98%
72 reviews of Chiawa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa