This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A Freeman from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2018 trip

Zambia between 17 Sep 2018 and 29 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I find Zambia a great destination ,Chiawa and Old Mondoro wonderful camps and Expert Africa the perfect operator to organise and confirm the details."

Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"High expectations realised"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"As a return visitor to Chiawa ( last visit 2014) I had very high expectations in respect of every aspect that makes up "The Chiawa Experience".
In all respects even these were exceeded.
Quality wildlife/ rooms/ food/ service and activities. Excitement, fun, interesting people ( guests and staff ),educational, healthy outdoor living and a great environment to stimulate ( and rest) body and mind.
Note: I am not a fisherman at home, but at Chiawa it is one of the activities a visitor has to try.On my last morning I caught a 62 lbs Vundu ( a freshwater catfish)......I know, boasting!!
The fish was returned unharmed to the river.
I will return to Chiawa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"A smaller , more " bush" version of Chiawa"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"All my comments re Chiawa apply to Old Mondoro.
OM is smaller and complements Chiawa as a perfect two camp experience.
Moving from one camp to the other takes about 1 hour along the Zambezi must be one of the best " hotel transfers" in the world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"See comments for 18th to 22nd Sept 2018"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2014 trip

Zambia between 30 Sep 2014 and 19 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Met the objective of matching the excellent trip to Tanzania organised by Expert Africa in 2009.

From the first contact with Megan to arrival back at Heathrow, the trip was professionally organised, exciting and seamless.

We found that visiting South Luangwa and Lower Zambezi was important. Dry and brown versus wet and green. We would have missed out by only visiting one of the National Parks. Zambia was a revelation. It was VERY HOT, as predicted, but we managed and are happy that we chose the dry season.

Catching 5 Tiger fish (largest 10.5 lbs) was great fun. The quantity and quality of game sightings throughout was staggering."

Arranged By Megan Green


Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"An extremely rewarding and enjoyable experience.

A superb location even with very little water in the river.

The guides were amazing ....... a comment that applies to ALL camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"An intimate camp made all the more enjoyable by interesting fellow guests and guides.

The most disappointing food of all the camps. Same quality and source of meal ingredients as River Camp but poorly constructed dishes which were luke warm. Not wishing to be sexist, we did wonder if this was partly due to the lack of female input seen in other camps.

Not withstanding this comment, Will was a charming and enthusiastic host but inexperienced in hotel management."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"Great camp despite being the largest we visited. We would not have liked to stay anywhere bigger.

We did find the number of hosts ( Peter, Anita, Tess and David ) plus the presence of the owner Grant, a bit overwhelming given that the camp is only twice the size of Tena Tena and Old Mondoro.

We have been married for 44 years , so it was very sweet of them to put us in The Honeymoon Suite!

Guides, as everywhere, were great company and very knowledgeable on game drives and over meals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Highly recommended. Small, intimate and wonderful hosts.

Food , given location and facilities , was outstanding ...........homemade mango icecream was to die for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"Probably the best overall experience . This may have been compromised if the camp had been busier.

Probably the most expensive ( ?).

The guarantee of a private guide avoided any conflict with other guests interests (eg avid Twitchers )."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"A wonderful location.

The hotel was excellent but " Africa -lite ". It could have been anywhere in the world but with tame zebras, giraffes and impala .

A good last stop to bridge the move from Africa to Europe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team