This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel


17°55’9.4"S 25°51’49.7"E

Reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Livingstone Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Royal Livingstone Hotel.
Zebra

100% success

Hippo

75% success

Elephant

50% success

White Rhino

25% success

Showing 1-10 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
B & G
California

"Loved our stay"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"We were very happy we chose the Royal Livingstone Hotel for our third trip to the Victoria Falls area. It’s a lovely hotel with very comfortable rooms and excellent service.

We particularly enjoyed the location which has allowed us to stroll over to view the falls and which meant we had a lovely view of the Zambezi river from our room. Another highlight for us was the outdoor bar down near the river where we could see the “smoke“ from the falls in the distance and hippos across the way. The activities desk was very helpful in booking several activities for us (Sunset cruise, Livingston’s island/Devils Pool, and elephant café).

The complementary ride on the Royal Livingston Express train that was included in our booking was lots of fun." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MrD & MsK
Gold Coast

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2019
"Excellent location made repeated free visits to Victoria Falls possible. The flow over the falls was low because of successive low rainfall in wet season.
Free roaming zebra, giraffes along with impala and baboons in the grounds.

Lovely view of Zambezi river from our room.

We had a problem with our room which management addressed less promptly than would have been desired." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

6 sightings

New to Africa
London

"Victoria Falls at the end of the garden!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"Luxurious but welcoming accommodation. Great location with prime view of the Zambesi river, definitely a plus, as well as easy access to the Zambian side of the Falls.

Attentive service, helpful staff assisted in arranging self trip to the Zimbabwe side of the Falls. Ideal start of the Southern Africa journey after the long flight. Wildlife on premises also a great introduction pre-safaris, e.g. zebras, giraffes, impalas, mongooses, monkeys as well as hippos in the river." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"A great base for the awesome Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2018
"The Royal Livingstone is a high quality hotel in a perfect position on the banks of the Zambezi above the Victoria Falls. Whilst the main objective was to see the falls again and relax for a day or two between our safari in Botswana and the long trip home, we did fit in a walking safari in the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park where they have all the big animals including white rhino that are guarded 24/7 without any predators. To get close to the Rhino on foot was great.

A great base to see the falls." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

The Golds
UK

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2018
"We arrived at Victoria Falls and wanted to treat ourselves by immediately upgrading from the Avani to the Royal Livingstone Hotel

The hotel was really lovely with great food, terrific service and of course an outstanding view!

I wept when we arrived at the waterfalls, such an incredible experience which reminded me of my insignificance on the planet and the awe of the natural world.

We loved our microlight experience over the falls, one we will never forget!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Lovely hotel, but mixed service"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2018
"The Royal Livingstone boasts stunning, colonial-style decor and a magnificent location alongside the Zambezi. We spent many an afternoon lounging on the sundeck, drinks in hand, admiring the beautiful river views, and listening to the thunderous power of the Falls.

The rooms are comfortable, with safe-to-drink tap water and views of the river (not to mention views of our zebra and impala friends, too!). The hotel is a short walk to the Victoria Falls park, where we ventured to get close-up views of the Falls (or at least, experience the mist given the volume of water contributing to the Falls).

However, the level of service was not reflective of a five-star property. The staff, while friendly, were a bit robotic, delivered incorrect items at meal services, and could have been more attentive. Aside from the breakfast spread, which was vast, the meals on offer were mediocre (though, we did enjoy the meal on the Livingstone Express). Ironically, after each meal, the staff provided guests with feedback cards; however, one felt compelled to not only provide a review, but a positive one at that, given the waitstaff hovered over you as you filled the card out." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mossy 1940
UK

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2018
"The staff were very well trained - as at Machaba. Only the 'major-domo' was a bit of a pain although not offensively so! We had room 5100, which with 5101 -2-3, had doors that opened directly onto the parkland in front of the river. Often we would wake to see impala or zebra no more than 15 metres away." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"Celebrating our anniversary in this fantastic hotel was like a dream.

It was marvelous and we've been treated as members of the Royal family would have been.

Our romantic dinner in front of the Zambezi river was unforgettable!

Victoria falls were beautiful even during the dry season." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr Y
Paris

"Great location and beautiful hotel "

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"Great location so close to Vic Falls and very nice atmosphere in the hotel. It is amazing to see zebras and giraffes so close to you while you are resting or walking in its gardens." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A, T & H
London

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"The hotel is excellent. It is worth noting, however, that mosquitos are a problem in the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 84
93%
84 reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa