This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

83% success

Giraffe

50% success

Zebra

41% success

White Rhino

29% success

Buffalo

14% success

Showing 1-10 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
B family
Switzerland

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge excellent"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"Great place and very warm and friendly people making an extra effort, e.g. serving traditional food with Shima when asked.

We also saw a Leopard on our boat drive - it's not mentioned on the list, but we were so happy on our first night in Africa!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"We were in the Farmhouse, just the family, which was lovely as we could really relax.

It is a beautiful house with lovely gardens and very comfortable. Perfect place to end the holiday.

Quite a long drive to The Falls and Livingstone. Crossing the Bridge into Zimbabwe a bit chaotic but worth it.

Visit to the School a must." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"This is a lovely property.

It is well designed and maintained with a beautiful garden. It felt like a perfect haven after our busy safari schedule.

The staff, particularly Webby and Daisy were very hospitable. The food was the best we experienced on our trip.

The border crossings into and out of Zambia and Zimbabwe gave us a glimpse into a very different Africa as well as the village visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2022
"This was the first lodge on our trip and we were immediately made to feel very much at home.

The sunset cruise was a wonderful way to start our holiday. Pacal was a great driver/guide and looked after us on our visit to the falls. He adapted our visit to ensure we saw everything we wanted.

The food was excellent and we really appreciated the electric blankets and braziers during the cool evenings.

The setting of the lodge is stunning and very peaceful." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Ian
Hightown

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2022
"An absolutely excellent lodge in a fantastic location.

The facilities and catering were first class and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms AA
NZ

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2022
"Beautiful gardens and a very warm, polished welcome. The general service and helpfulness of staff was outstanding with care given to requests. Colourful, comfortable chalets with especially grand showers.

Location of my chalet right on the high flowing Zambesi River added to the experience. Excellent boat safari and guiding where I was allocated my own guide on 2 occasions (and I don't think that was because they were concerned about my behaviour with the other guests). Food was delicious and fresh and it was easy to meet other guests.

Livingstone is a clean, vibrant town with the Falls nearby. Waterberry was at just the right distance from the hustle with trips to the Falls about 40 minutes away. Its location gives a real feel of the might and power of the River above the Falls." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Drs. R&C
Houston

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2021
"We were picked up at the airport by Webby from Waterberry Lodge. The lodge is about a 45-minute drive both from the airport and Vic Falls. We were their only guests at the time given the ongoing covid pandemic affecting tourism. We felt very safe and they practiced good masking and social distancing.

We were upgraded to their River Farmhouse, which is a 5-bedroom private house located a couple hundred meters away from the main lodge. It has its own pool and view of the Zambezi River. We also had a dedicated butler/waiter and chef who were with us during the day. Meals were high quality and food was always fresh. We were absolutely spoiled.

We had 2 activities per day at the lodge. Other than visiting the falls on foot and taking a helicopter ride, we spent our time on the Upper Zambezi River. We went fishing and each of us caught our own tigerfish! It was also a good way to get accustomed to the southern Africa wildlife, particularly birds, as directly opposite the lodge was Zambezi National Park in Zimbabwe. Overall, this was a much needed retreat." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Ms A.
Seven Oaks

"fabulous spot with lovely staff"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"we really liked Waterberry and the transfers to and from Livingtone/Vic Falls worked really easily and well. The staff were all lovely and it was great to learn about all the community support/wildlife conservation they do" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S.
Zürich

"Beautiful staring point to our Safari holiday"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Very kind reception by all staff menbers.
Enjoyed very much the sunset cruise and the bird watching walk in the morning. Webby is very knowledgeable and patient.
Beautiful setting on the river." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Beds.

"Pretty much perfect"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"It’s really hard to think what can be improved here. The accommodation is excellent, the staff really care and the food is delicious. The activities are spellbinding and the visit to the village is not to be missed." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 48
98%
48 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (226 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (63 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa