This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

96% success

Elephant

76% success

Giraffe

55% success

Zebra

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Buffalo

24% success

Showing 1-10 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Dr/Mrs F
Texas

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2023
"AIRCONDITIONING!!! What a treat.

Beautiful grounds and again, very helpful staff.

It was a nice easing into civilization." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 9n in Tanzania; 4n in South Africa; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mr&Mrs M
Wisconsin

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2023
"I am glad we picked Waterberry even though it was a little bit of a drive to the falls. It was a beautiful lodge and the rooms were fantastic. We really enjoyed the sunset cruise! The day at the falls (Zimbabwe and Zambia) was exceptional and we even added Devils Pool. I think that is maybe too dangerous? But we did it!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
T&N
Ohio

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2023
"Waterberry was beautiful and welcoming. We were only there a short time, so we didn’t have too much time to explore all they had to offer. The food was delicious.

We went on a trip to Victoria Falls, they were beautiful and it was exactly what we were looking for. Our guide was very kind, but it was clear he was not as experienced or knowledgeable as other guides we’d had elsewhere.

We also did the evening cruise on the Zambezi, which was better than expected. It was just us and one other couple, our guide Weddy showed us all the different birds on the bank, we saw a number of crocs and spent a long time just watching a family of baboons. It was a beautiful and relaxing way to spend our final night in Zambia." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Miss J
London

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2023
"wonderful location with great activities on offer" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Dr and Ms R
Bristol

"A stunning lodge in a beautiful setting "

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"The lodge is beautiful, and our lovely room was right on the banks of the Zambezi with views across to Zimbabwe. We enjoyed being slightly out of town as it looked very busy around the Falls.

The service was fantastic from the warm welcome on, including a special candle lit anniversary meal. Vegetarian food was no problem.

Crispin was a great guide and we enjoyed all the activities, particularly the picnic on the island, the bird walk and the sunrise cruise with birdwatching, and of course Victoria Falls. Get a joint visa for Zimbabwe/ Zambia so you can see the Falls from both sides- there wasn't much water on the Zambia side. It's worth combining the trip to the Falls with a visit to the Livingstone Museum and a drive round Livingstone as it takes about 40 minutes to drive there, and you may not want to do that twice.

Overall a wonderful relaxing lodge with great staff." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

B family
Switzerland

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge excellent"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"Great place and very warm and friendly people making an extra effort, e.g. serving traditional food with Shima when asked.

We also saw a Leopard on our boat drive - it's not mentioned on the list, but we were so happy on our first night in Africa!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"We were in the Farmhouse, just the family, which was lovely as we could really relax.

It is a beautiful house with lovely gardens and very comfortable. Perfect place to end the holiday.

Quite a long drive to The Falls and Livingstone. Crossing the Bridge into Zimbabwe a bit chaotic but worth it.

Visit to the School a must." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2022
"This is a lovely property.

It is well designed and maintained with a beautiful garden. It felt like a perfect haven after our busy safari schedule.

The staff, particularly Webby and Daisy were very hospitable. The food was the best we experienced on our trip.

The border crossings into and out of Zambia and Zimbabwe gave us a glimpse into a very different Africa as well as the village visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2022
"This was the first lodge on our trip and we were immediately made to feel very much at home.

The sunset cruise was a wonderful way to start our holiday. Pacal was a great driver/guide and looked after us on our visit to the falls. He adapted our visit to ensure we saw everything we wanted.

The food was excellent and we really appreciated the electric blankets and braziers during the cool evenings.

The setting of the lodge is stunning and very peaceful." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Ian
Hightown

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2022
"An absolutely excellent lodge in a fantastic location.

The facilities and catering were first class and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 53
98%
53 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (230 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (64 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


89% (23 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa