This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

White Rhino

40% success

Zebra

33% success

Buffalo

13% success

Showing 1-10 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A.
Seven Oaks

"fabulous spot with lovely staff"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"we really liked Waterberry and the transfers to and from Livingtone/Vic Falls worked really easily and well. The staff were all lovely and it was great to learn about all the community support/wildlife conservation they do" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S.
Zürich

"Beautiful staring point to our Safari holiday"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Very kind reception by all staff menbers.
Enjoyed very much the sunset cruise and the bird watching walk in the morning. Webby is very knowledgeable and patient.
Beautiful setting on the river." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Beds.

"Pretty much perfect"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"It’s really hard to think what can be improved here. The accommodation is excellent, the staff really care and the food is delicious. The activities are spellbinding and the visit to the village is not to be missed." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Lovely stay at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"A wonderful lodge, comfortable, peaceful and with lovely staff.

I was only there for one night but had very pleasant sunset and sunrise boat cruises. The food was excellent. And I was lucky to see 6 rhinos crossing the main road in front of the vehicle during the transfer to the airport." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Ms M.
Peyia

"Relaxing with lots to do"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"A perfect place to finish our safari hotel - time to relax but still plenty to do with all the activities on offer. Transfer from Livingstone was quick and efficient, followed by a warm welcome at Waterberry.

The visit to the village / local school gave us a real insight into Zambia and was well worth doing. Victoria Falls was amazing and we opted to visit Livingstone Island and swim to Devils Island - slightly terrifying, but we were in safe hands and so glad we did it. This was followed by a visit to the local market and the Livingstone Museum. The museum was ok but think we had probably had a long enough day, so perhaps with hindsight should have skipped it.


Waterberry Lodge was very peaceful and quiet - the chance to just sit and relax was welcome. Staff cery attentive, food was first class and room very comfortable overlooking the mighty Zambezi! Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would recommend this place as a serene, calming end to what was a brilliant holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

1 sighting

Mrs & Mr Y
Paris

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"An amazing experience after a week in the wild.

We would like to go back." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"A haven of peace and tranquility"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"A great stopover on the way from Botswana to the Lower Zambezi National Park in Zambia, the lodge is a quiet peaceful place on the banks of the Zambezi above Victoria Falls with plenty to see on the river trips arranged by the lodge.

Great staff and wonderful food." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

10 sightings

Ms K.
DC, USA

"Incredible lodge, staff, service & location"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2019
"We only had 2 nights here but the experiences were amazing. Kelly and Webby were fabulous and surprisingly accommodating. We were pleasantly surprised when Kelly offered to see if we could do an activity at an unscheduled time. It worked out great and we were able to walk up to and amongst 7 of Zambia's 10 wide lipped rhinoceros!

Also very thoughtful that she booked us on the boat sundowner the evening of our afternoon arrival. Sunsets all over Africa are stunning but on the Zambezi River they are even more beautiful. Crocodile and hippopotamus sightings with hippo serenades in the evenings. The other included activity that we did was Victoria Falls. We went at the perfect time of year for a dramatic [and soaking] experience.

Our next location was Botswana via the Kazungula ferry border crossing. This lodge was perfectly situated between our Zimbabwe to Zambia bridge border crossing and Kazungula.

I highly recommend this property!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Middlesex

"Relaxing stay at end of safari"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"We stayed here at the end of our holiday in order to chill out before returning home.

There are plenty of activities although as we had been to Victoria Falls before we only visited the local village and school which is supported by the lodge. It is well worth going to see the children and their bright classrooms and the excellent work that the staff at Waterbury do to further the education of the local boys and girls.

The grounds are lovely, great views and a good swimming pool to cool down in." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

6 sightings

Mrs M
Carluke

"Great visit to Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"Little piece of paradise. Everything first class. Staff exceptionally nice. Loved peaceful location on Zambezi and sunrise and sunset cruises.

Visit to Waterberry project in nearby village a highlight-great to see benefit of tourism reaching local people.

Food excellent and lodges beautiful.

Driver for the day visiting Livingstone to do helicopter tour, swing jump from bridge and visit to falls was great and made everything seamless and easy." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 41
98%
41 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa