This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sindabezi
Sindabezi
Sindabezi
Sindabezi
Sindabezi
Sindabezi

Reviews of Sindabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sindabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Sindabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"We ended our trip with 2 nights at Sindabezi (on an island in the Zambezi close to Victoria Falls) followed by 2 nights at Tongebezi (close by on the shore).

Our idea here was that we would conclude our trip with a bit more luxury and relaxation after 13 somewhat frenetic nights on safari. This turned out to work out really well and we were very glad we didn't do it the other was around (starting the trip here and then doing the safari).

Sindabezi itself was really quite unusual. The island setting was really lovely with views across to both the Zambian and Zimbabwe sides of the river where hoards of buffalo and the occasional giraffe and elephants could be seen.

The food and personal service one the island were extremely good - with the Lamb Burger offered at lunch a highlight.

There are a range of activities available at the camp (such as as canoeing and sunrise and sunset cruises) and around Victoria falls (such a trip to the Devils Pool which is an absolutely must).

Our only real negative here was that our guide seems to be pretty hopeless in organising the activities (hence I've marked that down). First of all, it was at least 6 hours after we arrived before he got round to briefing us on what was possible. Then he told us he had booked us into something the following day that we'd specifically said we didn't want to do, which took a huge amount to untangle. Then we had all sorts of trouble organising a trip across the border to see the falls from the other side which included lunch at the Royal Victoria Hotel (which turned out almost impossible to organise car for, so we walked in the 40 degree midday heat).

A final thought, the tents in the camp have no walls (just curtains) and the camp is on an island with no fencing. This means animals (particularly hippos and elephants) have quite free access. Infact, the day after we left a hippo that had had a fight with another burst into the camp just after sundown, when the only couple staying there at that time were having dinner on a small pontoon on the river. They were somewhat startled to say the least (the staff having disappeared into the kitchen to keep out of its way)." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"great stay on Sindabezi Island"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"Overall, our experience at Sindabezi was great, and a very pleasant way to begin our African holiday.

It was a very relaxing and beautiful spot, made all the better by having the place to ourselves with chef and butler almost entirely at our disposal.
The activities were excellent with sunset/sunrise boat trips on the beautiful Zambesi River and visit to the Victoria Falls obvious highlights.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

A stay at Sindabezi Island, either at the beginning or end of a safari holiday, is thus highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs D
UK

"A luxurious end to our honeymoon"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"A short drive (30 mins) from the airport to Tongabezi Lodge. We had a long lunch at Tongabezi, enjoying the views over the Zambezi, before our 10 min boat ride to the island.

Sindabezi is in such a beautiful and serene setting, and our room was gorgeous. We decided to make the most of our personal valet, Charles, and had all our meals served on our balcony. Overlooking the national park on the Zimbabwe side, it was an idyllic view.

After reassurances from Charles that there would be no passing river traffic, we made use of the enormous bath with a bottle of bubbly under the stars.

Of the outings we took part in, the only negative comment is regarding the trip to Livingstone Island. It was that lunch just went on a bit too long for us. This was our only full day in Livingstone and we were impatient to get on and do other things. The views of the falls were most impressive from the island, so worth the trip for that.


Whilst at Sindabezi, these travellers enjoyed a 28 minute helicopter flight over the Victoria Falls, this is what they said about it:

This was excellent. Just the two of us and Jay the pilot. As well as many circuits over the falls, you also fly 'into' the gorge and then circling over wildlife in the game reserve.
Unbeatable views. The trip is filmed, so you can have a wonderful keepsake to take home." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Essex

"Our own little island"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Sindabezi was like our own little island in the middle of the Zambezi river. Where else do you travel to and from your lodge in a speed boat, game and bird watching on the way.

Our room was large with wonderful views over looking the river and stunning sunsets. There were no walls, only curtains around our room which had a large bed, and fairly basic furniture but what did it matter when you had plenty of to see. There was an outside shower and even had a 'loo with a view' . In the morning our butler brought our tea but we were already up and watching the large variety of beautiful birds. Although there was no electricity at the lodge, the ambiance and peace more than made up for it.

The food was great and more than plentiful with lovely fresh vegetables and salads all grown at Tongabezi. One evening we ate pork which tasted magnificent - nothing like our pork in the U.K.

The staff could not do enough for you and even arranged for my wife to leave early the morning of our departure, to use the hairdryer at Tongabezi!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Great start at Sindabezi"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"Sindabezi was the first stop on our holiday in Zambia and gave us a great, relaxing start to the trip. Reading and naps in the "treehouse" were especially welcome. We really enjoyed the quiet intimate atmosphere of the tiny island. Communal dining with the other guests was always enjoyable. While we did enjoy the remote atmosphere, we found that being a boat ride away from the mainland made it a bit more complicated to engage in activities. I became ill one day, and the staff was very attentive and helpful.

We did the day trip to Victoria Falls, and at the urging of some of the other guests, we did the extra excursion to Livingstone Island and the Devil's Pool. We wished that we had been warned in advance that the best viewing of the waterfall during the dry season is on the Zimbabwe side of the falls. While the falls were still lovely from the Zambian side, those guests who crossed the border found them to be much more spectacular." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
LC family
SW London

"Our own private island"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"This was a wonderful way to start our journey - given that we were taking our father's ashes back to Zambia we enjoyed the feeling of being the only people in Africa on our own private island. We were well looked after, but in the end found that this was not the place we wanted to do our little service because our father had specifically requested the Victoria Falls and we weren't as close as we would have liked to have been.

We had a magnificent meal and 24 hours just relaxing and enjoying being back in Africa. Although I have to say that it took me a few days to get used to sleeping without doors!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Stay at Sindabezi"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2011
"The setting and the hospitality at Sindabezi were extremely good. We had the island to ourselves for one of our two nights and we were looked after in grand style.

We especially enjoyed a bubble bath under the stars overlooking our own private beach on the Zambezi and the bush TV after dinner!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The R group
London

"Unique location - wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2010
"As a "2 centre" holiday I don't think Sindabezi followed by Luangwa Safari Lodge could be bettered for small group such as we were, wanting a really "special" time. 5 of our group of 7 had never been to Zambia before and they are all determined to return as soon as possible.

I don't know what to rave about first - the wonderful position (we never saw anyone else on a boat on this part of the Zambezi during our entire stay bar the occasional local fishermen) the unfailingly helpful and charming people who looked after us as though our happiness and wellbeing was their only concern, the amazing food, the elephant and hippos which came by to visit...................the list goes on and on!!!!

We didn't really have quite enough time to do it all justice and, another time, I would opt for 3 nights so that we could actually lounge round the island a little more. Never mind, a perfect excuse to return!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Swanmore

"Sindabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"What a stunning location - an island of excitement and luxury with fabulous food and activities. The staff were so attentive and the guides so informed friendly and helpful - loved the bubble baths under the stars" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hants

"Sindabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2010
"This was certainly the highlight of our tour. We were treated like royalty. The staff on the island were so friendly,helpful and full of fun.
Vicas made delicious meals for us and I am sorry I did not buy the book by Chris Higgins.

Brian and Lawrence made excellent guides and enlarged on many aspects of the wild life that we were unaware of before. I only hope I will be able to retain it as well as they have done!

We always felt that each journey we made to Tongabezi and the main land was another guided tour and many times I am sure they took us a long way round to ensure we saw as much as possible.

Charles made an excellent Valet and Nature lokked after us well at the table. They were always very willing to sort us out when help was needed! Granted, this is a quiet time of the year for the lodge, we felt very priviledged to have been there on our own and to experience such a wonderful setting and surroundings.

All the activities were numerous and varied we feel we could have stayed for a lot longer to investigate further.

My only criticism , and probably my own fault entirely, was that I bought 15 stamps for postcards for Europe from reception and the Receptionist said not to worry that she would put the stamps on and send them off with other mail from the office,but, so far (3wks later) not one has been received! I only put this in as I think this shpuld be brought to the attention of other guests to stick their own stamps and post them themselves, which we could have done that same morning.

We would love to come back with our family some time and take over the whole island!! Perhaps a Special Occasion! We will certainly recommend it to our friends.






" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 16
98%
16 reviews of Sindabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa