This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp

Reviews of Toka Leya Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Toka Leya Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Bristol

"Toka Leya Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Toka Leya sits on the banks of the Zambezi in an idyllic location but it is quite a strange environment. It appears to be geared up to cater for groups and honeymoon couples.
The room was fantastic apart from the blinds which were a nightmare to operate.
The food was average with limited choice on the lunch and dinner menus.
It was difficult to relax as we were constantly being asked what activity we wanted to go on. It was if if the staff expected you to want to go on every activity offered and could not understand when we refused.
The staff made a big thing of wanting to know what time you wanted a wake up call, what time you wanted breakfast, what time you wanted lunch, make your dinner choice at 3.30pm. It was all too regimented.

However, the staff were excellent and Steven and Helen on the front desk went out of their way to help me when I had an insect in my ear.
One very strange aspect was that we were not given the wifi password but had to give our devices to the staff who entered the password for us.

Also the pool was pretty murky for the duration of our stay.

if we returned to Livingstone I am certain we would look at other hotels/lodges before Toka Leya







" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dubai123
UAE

"Fabulous location along the Zambezi"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"Our first experience at Wilderness safari's classic camp made us definitely want to try their premier offering in the future! Fabulous location on the banks of the Zambezi - the camp organized many activities around Vic Falls and the day trip to Chobe, very knowledgeably and efficiently. The lodge staff is delightful - friendly but not intrusive. Mosi oa Tunya is not an game rich NP but our knowledgeable ranger made it fun for our children. I would go back - just the idyllic location is worth the trip though most guests there seemed to have combined it with their safari at Kruger or Okavango. " See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Activities surpassed expectations"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"Crossing the border from Botswana to Zambia, the camp is conveniently located a short distance from Livingstone, and is a perfect addition to any safari. I chose the camp more as a stop-gap between the wildlife-rich areas I was visiting before and afterwards. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of wildlife I saw here. I particularly wanted to see the relocated white rhino which are being closely monitored in Mosi oa Tunya Park. However, the other activities, in particular the boat trips, definitely surpassed my expectations.

I had a great guide in Histon, and I enjoyed both an early morning boat excursion, as well as a sunset cruise. On both occasions we saw much wildlife (and close up), including impala coming down to drink, numerous elephants - bathing, a matriarchal herd with young ones taking a drink, enormous crocodiles, warthogs relaxing on the river bank, plus a large variety of birds, my particular favourite being the nesting bee-eaters. So much more than I expected, and with Histon’s great skill at manoeuvring the boat, I was able to take some fantastic photos.

Breakfast was served from 7-10am. On both mornings I didn’t take breakfast until 9am, and I found the pastries/muffins to be extremely dry, as if they had been left out on the buffet table (uncovered) for the past two hours since service began. Also the range of food offered at breakfast was slightly disappointing given the location; we were not offered anything different to that provided at the remotest of safari camps.

Overall I would rate the camp as very good, not quite excellent on all fronts, so 4.5 stars it is.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana; 5n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"good choice with lovely staff"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"The Chef should be at a 5 star London hotel. Fabulous food.

Lovely staff and great spot covering mini safaris, river and The Falls. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P & Mr L
Surrey

"Absolutely fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2014
"Words can't describe what an amazing time we had. Arriving by boat we passed hippos. Staff were so friendly, food was great and the excursions were fantastic.

The accommodation was the best we have ever stayed in." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Wiltshire

"Toka Leya review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Great location, very comfortable rooms, friendly service and good food. As we had hoped, this was a good place to acclimatise to Africa before heading to the bush.

Game drives were comparatively 'tame' although we enjoyed the walking safari to the white rhino project. Boats trips on the Zambezi were fun, and of course Vic Falls was very impressive, even though not much water at this time of year.

Good place to spend a couple of days." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Herts

"Toka Leya Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"A very luxurious camp. Our tent had air conditioning and there was a spa offering treatments.

The staff were very friendly. We bought souvenirs from the camp shop because they were reasonably priced. We enjoyed the activities on offer, like fishing, a game drive and a boat trip.

Our highlight was the visit to the Victoria Falls, even though the volume of water was low.

Godfrey and Histon were our guides. Histon gave us a tour of the environmental site that the camp is nurturing; a water re-cycling plant, solar panels and growing indigenous trees from seed and planting them in the area." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Brussels

"Toka Leya and the Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Plane, car and boat from Old Mondoro, small bush camp, to Toka Leya, a large, more sophisticated style of camp with the houses having glass windows and air-conditioning: no doubt necessary as this was our first contact with mosquitoes since arriving in Zambia!

Lovely setting on the Zambezi but the river was busy with tourist steamers. Beautifully laid out sitting and dining areas and first class meals, even breakfast was more leisurely as we didn't have to get up at 5 a.m. but we missed the camp-fire of the more remote camps.

Our visit to the Victoria Falls was an interesting experience as we decided to start on the Zimbawean side which entailed crossing the borders with extra visa costs and form filling in both directions. We were well escorted throughout and had an excellent Wilderness guide to visit the Falls. Even though the water is at its lowest in October the Falls were impressive and we were glad to have viewed them from the Zimbawean side in spite of the extra cost.

We also went to see the rare White Rhino in a protected park near Toka Leya: a family of one male, 2 females and two young calves. We also chose to visit the town of Livingstone and its museum (the best part being at the end of the visit: the political history of Zambia through photos and newspaper cuttings).

The managers were very helpful and the staff and guides excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Canada

"Toka Leya and Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2012
"Toka Leya is a great camp from which to visit Vic Falls (which was why I went to this camp). I tremendously enjoyed the visit to the Falls.

Toka Leya was also very good at arranging different activities organized by the camp, as well as outside activities. I was very impressed by this. They have tremendous knowledge of different activities that tourists can do in Livingstone and around Vic Falls and were very good at organizing days to make sure that guests get the most of their time there. It was a very nice stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great stay at Toka Leya"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"The main reason for our stay here was to see Victoria Falls which was magnificent but we also enjoyed the other activites which the camp provided. I feel I have to mention the drivers who collected us and returned us to the airport as they were so informative, we learnt so much about their country, it was very interesting.

The camp seemed a bit more like a hotel than our previous bush camps and guests ate at separate tables rather than all together. However we met up with a couple we knew from a previous camp so the staff were quite happy to seat us together for meals." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
88%
22 reviews of Toka Leya Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
7
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa