This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The River Club
The River Club
The River Club
The River Club

Reviews of The River Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The River Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs R.
London

"The River Club review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2019
"it is a wonderful establishment in a beautiful place. It is somewhat dated in its design and decoration but the facilities are first class and the whole thing is magnificent and works very well. So it might not suit you if you wanted full five star luxury.

The staff were most willing and friendly and helpful.

And they suggested and organised an excellent series of additional trips. Helicoper over Victoria Falls. Visit to the Zimbabwe side of the Falls. Breakfast on Livingstone Island with a swim on the lip of the Falls." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mark & Kat
UK

"12 years later and it did not disappoint!"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Of all the lodges we stayed at this was by far the best (which was a relief given it was my suggestion) and went to the greatest effort to make the trip special. The best example was as we were arriving, up the river by boat, and the Club had arranged for a surprise private lunch on one of the islands in the middle of the river. This probably goes down as one of the best arrivals at any hotel I have ever had, and just shows the efforts the team there made to make the visit special.

We both loved staying at the River Club - the staff, the setting, and the evening sundowner trips were just fantastic. Again, the club usually gave us our own private boat, just add an extra touch. And when there was a problem (there was our first night when there was a swarm of small bugs that could get though mosquito nets) the efforts they made to resolve the issue (they moved us to the Princess Royal suite!) was the definition of good service.

After a 12 year gap, the River Club did not disappoint!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G & L
Washington DC

"Paradise on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"Lynette and I ended our 2 week safari with a 3 night stay here at The River Club. Words can not begin to describe this wonderful facility on the banks of the Zambezi.

We have had the opportunity to stay at some terrific places over the years and The River Club ranks very near the top in all respects - a beautiful setting, superb guest rooms, and a super friendly staff. Really can not say enough good things about the staff here and how attentive they are from Peter, Ingrid, Charmaine, Naomi, Gilbert, Mack, Davies, KK and Mercy. So friendly.

We used The River Club as a base to see Victoria Falls and explore the river with Mack. The River Club should be an absolute must stay for anyone visiting the Livingstone/ Victoria Falls area. We will absolutely return toThe River Club. Some day. It is truly that good." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Essex

"The River Club review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"Excellent place to chill-out. Very attentive staff, and very good at getting me from one activity to the next. Peter was an excellent host.

I should have spent four nights there instead of only three nights - there is plenty to do in the area, e.g. the Victoria Falls, elephant ride, white water rafting, visiting a local village. and the list can go on." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms V
Oslo

"Beautiful and luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"It was wonderful to be taken by boat on the river to the River Club on the day of our arrival. We had of course, expected a road transfer from the airport. As both of us had been to the River Club before, we knew the high standard of the accommodation, the food and the service of the place, and it did not fall short of our expectations.

As for activities, we enjoyed excellent guiding at Victoria Falls, the Livingstone museum, and two lovely sundowner trips on the Zambezi. Also, an interesting visit to the local village." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms T
Arizona

"The River Club review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Great starting point for The Falls"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2014
"Arriving at the Club by boat is fabulous with the hippos in the water for company. Saw a huge, huge crocodile as we approached the camp. Room was very well appointed and very comfortable.

Tour of the village was not really for us. The River Club's tour to Victoria Falls worked well and was very interesting.

Food - breakfast was nothing special, lunch outside overlooking the Zambesi was great. Evening meal at the communal table was ok. Suggest more interesting menu." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
California

"All around outstanding @ The River Club"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"This was our 1st stop, 1st time in Africa - flew from San Francisco via London.

Despite jet lag, we had a great time & felt very indulged. Wonderful walking safari included seeing 6 of 8 white rhinos on reserve. HIGHLY recommend that excursion." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms C
Tavistock

"The River Club review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"After a seamless transfer from South Luangwa we were met by boat and travelled the final leg of the journey to the River Club along the Zambezi which was a wonderful way to arrive and appreciate the lovely setting.

The rooms are well appointed with glorious views over the river to Zimbabwe. In July it was pretty chilly and we welcomed the hot water bottles placed in our beds at night. Mornings were decidedly cold and required a dash from a hot shower into warm clothes. In the main Zambezi House there was a fire which made it a very comfortable place for dinner and breakfast. Meals were of a high quality and delicious.

The River Club's DNA (Do Nothing Activity) was a welcome change after 5:30am starts on safari. The activities they did organise were excellent. At Victoria Falls our guide was tiptop and enabled us to get the most out of our visit. The sunset cruise was a delight .

We had expressed an interest in visiting Simonga village and in particular the clinic. This was arranged for us and we were able to spend time with the amazing nurse who handles almost every facet of health care for the local population despite a lack of just about everything!

All the River Club staff were attentive and informative and we felt thoroughly looked after during our stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lapini Ensemble
UK

"River Club review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"A very nice place, with big comfortable rooms & a friendly attitude We did have one problem - they did not warn us that the window screens did not keep flies & moths out, so we left lights on while changing for supper & attraced a roomful. Staff came to kill them but the dead bodies littered the floor till next day.

We did an excellent trip from here to Livingston Island to swim on the edge of the Falls - a brilliant end to the holiday (though not for swimmers who lack confidence!)" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 18
93%
18 reviews of The River Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
6
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa