This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs B from California

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our First Trip to Africa/Botswana

Botswana and 1 other country between 3 Aug 2013 and 18 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was more than anything we could have dreamed or hoped for. Everything was very well organized, professional, and efficiently run by the various camp staffs.

Flight arrangements between the camps and the attention paid by guides and staff was outstanding. Awesome trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Be sure to advise clients on checking through baggage on return from Botswana."

Arranged By Megan Green


The River Club

The River Club

"All around outstanding @ The River Club"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"This was our 1st stop, 1st time in Africa - flew from San Francisco via London.

Despite jet lag, we had a great time & felt very indulged. Wonderful walking safari included seeing 6 of 8 white rhinos on reserve. HIGHLY recommend that excursion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp Experience touched our souls"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"We love Botswana, and on every level this was a fantastic beginning to tented camp experience & 1st trip to Africa. Couldn't believe how much wildlife we & our 2 friends saw--beginning within 2 minutes on the drive from airstrip to camp & in our 1st afternoon drive. By the end of our next morning drive, we had close up viewings of every animal I had hoped for & more -- Among other things, we were very fortunate to follow a pack of 5 wild dogs. Our guide, KB was terrific-- experienced, informative, & loads of fun.

Only stayed 2 days & were still experiencing jet lag--another day would have been perfect. (Megan advised us that stays should be no less than 3 days but our schedule didn't allow for that.) If we're ever so lucky as to return to Botswana, Selinda would be a must."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp Cheetahs"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"This was the 1st & only time we were fortunate enough to see the elusive cheetahs. On 1 afternoon drive we had a thrilling time tracking & racing to observe 2 cheetahs as dusk was fading into night. Were able to watch them close-up for an extended time.

We also learned the roaming habits & range of wild dogs determines whether or not you see them. The resident pack of 35 here were on the move elsewhere during our stay, so we were very fortunate to have seen the pack of 5 at Selinda, our previous camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"Vimbura Plains"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"Wildlife was abundant. Due to a lack of predators, herds of every species were quite relaxed, allowing a closer approach by our jeep. Our guide here, Mork, is a stellar example of the best you can imagine as a guide & teacher. He provided tremendous insight about the whole ecosystem here. We enjoyed every moment of our time with him.

The mokoro excursion was relaxing but not particularly memorable. It would be best suited to the season when birds are more abundant.

We also had a fabulous evening dinner under the stars with staff putting on a wonderful program of singing and dancing.

The luxury of this place--particularly the enormous living area, including expansive patio & private pool--were for us excessive. I think it is suited more to those who might not want to mingle with other guests & plan to stay at least 4 days. Unless you skip the game drives, there was no time in 2 nights to avail ourselves of this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

"Footsteps-Incredible Lion Experience"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"Tracked & followed the most incredible saga--day fight between an intruder lion & lioness with the resident pride of 4 lion brothers. Everything from intruder lion narrowly escaping from twin lions & his lioness mate severely injured by alpha lion. Then that dusk/evening we watched the unfolding of the reunion & affection among the 4 brothers. Hearing & seeing big open-mouthed roars from 10 ft. are unbelievable! Lioness survived & slept that night 5 ft. from tent of our guide--safe haven.

Not really roughing it here-fun to experience the bucket shower & bush toilet. Outstanding food prepared in the bush "kitchen"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Baboons & 3 Lion Prides at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"A perfect place to conclude our 1st trip to Botswana & Africa. Like the 4 other Wilderness Safaris camps where we stayed ---this was 1st rate. We would definitely return here.

We were greatly entertained by a large troop of mischievious baboons grazing in the expansive grasses bordering our deck--many babies riding atop or clinging to the belly of their mamas. Then we saw them all running back after being chased off by staff for trying to steal food in lounge area.

Incredible fortune to observe 3 lion prides. Jaw-dropping amazing to discover our jeep was in the middle of 8 resting lionesses & cub. Saw them again later waking up & setting off to hunt. Watched 2 lions loudly crunching away at their kill. All this was closeup and fascinating.

We didn't want to go home so soon, so each animal, bird & landscape we encountered seemed especially precious. Our last morning outing, gave us just one more time to see different animal species, almost like a parade all the way to the airstrip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team