This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains

Reviews of Vumbura Plains

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vumbura Plains and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vumbura Plains.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Greenhithe

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"Very comfortable and well-appointed lodge. Friendly and efficient staff, always willing to help.

Game drives were good with some interesting sightings although overall levels of game were low.

Transportation to/from the lodge was well-organised, albeit not through Mack Air, as previously advised.
Transfers were through Wilderness Air who were very efficient." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2018
"Excellent to have the chance of water based activities and these are all year round due to the fact that the lodge is close to a permanent waterway.

We enjoyed the 2 mokoro evening trips, one boat trip (fishing) and a morning walking safari which none of the other camps we visited were able to offer.

The view from the lodge over the lagoon (with many resident hippo) was truly wonderful at all hours of the day and night. Sleeping can be a problem due to the noise of nocturnal wildlife ,hippos are very vocal,so bring earplugs if that will annoy you. The frogs sound like high pitched wind chimes from dusk until dawn. We loved every sound.

The quality of the food is high and the virtually all female management team ran a very happy but efficient service with very big smiles!

The accommodation is very much in-keeping with the African style but could,perhaps,have a little bit of a refurb. thats being overly picky but we had just been to Sandibe and Mombo where refurbishments had recently been carried out.

The rooms were very large with a huge open shower area facing the lagoon which could be privatised with billowing ,clean white drapes. what a bathing experience!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R
Los Altos Hills

"3 night stay at Vurumba"

3 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2017
"Our stay was very good; the camp staff were great but our guide was not receptive enough to our requests and hopes so our overall impression was less favorable than at Little Mombo." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
GC
Loule

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"The new public buildings are excellent as is the food, the quality of which is extremely impressive given the challenging circumstances of limited supply etc. The position and outlook of the camp are lovely. We enjoyed the variety of bush types and landscapes within the concession.

The layout and concept of the guest rooms are excellent and very spacious however the condition of the rooms are well below par as a result of insufficient maintenance. The condition of bathroom fittings is completely unacceptable at this price point and every other prices point for that matter all the way down to simple B&B's - eg. cracked and chipped sinks, rotten floorboards around the shower and poor quality minor repairs and fixes. Having a pool with each room is a great option but when they are not properly cleaned and maintained the pool became a negative - I doubt that the water quality was ever properly tested judging by the 'tidemarks' around the pool at the waterline level.

The guide was obsessed with finding lions, even if that meant hours of fruitless driving around with EVERY client in the vehicle expressing a wish to focus on the more plentiful games animals.

By and large the staff are well trained, pleasant, happy people who provided high levels of service, however the company standard approach to clients wasn't to our (and other clients) preference - Wilderness seems to want to treat everyone as if they are part of 'the family' and the approach is a Disney level of insincere friendship. The synchronised waving by a group of staff members every time a vehicle entered the camp was nauseating. In my view luxury isn't treating everyone the same its providing what each individual feels most comfortable with and for our part we actually didn't want to meet every member of staff and every other guest we wanted to enjoy a private holiday.

Two game drive sessions were used to go out on a boat and on a mokoro which were both interesting options but personally I found them dull and I would have preferred to have the option to take a normal game drive as an alternative.

Much of what I have written is negative but I should clarify that none of the points raised had a lasting negative impact on the holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed being at the camp and in the concession and our over riding long term impressions will be favourable." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Minneapolis

"Vumbura Plains review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"A bit over the top but fun to see. Glad we did not spend all 3 nights here." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Great start & introduction to Okavango Delta"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"Great introduction to the Okavango. Lazzi our tracker and guide was very professional, charming and showed us a variety of game.

Lazzie also had a local guide who accompanied us. He had great local knowledge as he'd grown up in the area. Fun driving in the river ways with our 4x4 The best siting of sable we have seen, they were so relaxed! Good lion and fantastic leopard sittings. We also had a nice relaxing cruise along the Okovango delta in a mokoro. Wonderful lilies and beautiful painted frogs.

The camp is set in a stunning location" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P Spencer
UK

"Simply the best"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2015
"Vumbura is simply outstanding in every way. Fine dining, wonderful service and beautiful location.

The game drives were outstanding and our guide ST was funny, knowledgeable and incredibly helpful when positioning for photography. He managed to find us Leopard with young, Cheetah with young and hunting, Lion pride and the male, hyena with young and much much more.

If you don't like this camp your not meant to be on safari." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sheffs
USA

"Vumbura Plains review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2015
"We loved Vumbura Plains. The site is wonderful and the Lodge is lovely.

The guides were very good and we saw lots of game." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Athens

"Excellent Safari, questionable facilities"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2015
"Vumbura is a fascinating concession for safari. Next time, however, we will stay at little vumbura only.

The architecture of vumbura plains is unfit for the area. It requires continuous maintenance and careful cleaning. Unfortunately, none of the two seem to be a priority. For example, the shade rollers were all damaged and were banging all nite long. The plunge pool looked like it had just been visited by the local hippo. There was not even one chair or stool in the kids room. We wiped the kids closet shelves , and the cloth came out black.etc etc" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Dr B
Canada

"Outstanding sightings at Vumbura Plains"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2015
"Must have been outstanding when it opened now in the “shabby chic” stage. They are beginning to update the camp with a new boardwalk being installed and re-thatching the rooms. This is starting with Vumbura North so the South suffers from partial replacement work and less than optimal conditions. I’m assuming this is in part as the owners were waiting to see if their lease was renewed.

I would say the camp is now in the Classic category rather than Premium. Although the size of the rooms is impressive the fittings are dated and in bad repair (stained cushions, filthy outdoor furniture) and the plunge pool looked like a health hazard, stained and uninviting. It was also curious that at many times (afternoon tea especially) there were more staff than guests, yet when a thunderstorm rolled through it was one of the managers who came round to wind down the blinds (I couldn’t figure out how to do it as the mechanical winder was hidden away) so the room furniture, floors, steps and some of my gear was drenched, luckily nothing irreplaceable.

That said the wildlife is outstanding and our guide Ron was brilliant at finding the lions, we also saw leopard and cheetah as well as wattled cranes and a selection of raptors. Would highly recommend for the wildlife and I am thinking about visiting little Vumbura on a second trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 34
96%
34 reviews of Vumbura Plains by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa