This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains

Reviews of Vumbura Plains

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vumbura Plains and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vumbura Plains.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

80% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-37 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Dr A
Delamere

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Loved staying here.

The staff - particulalry Gordon, Tanya, Mia and our guide Sevara were amazing. Flawless!!

Rooms are fabulous, food was great, people were lovely" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
V family
Avon

"African luxury at its best"

3 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2009
"We were at vumbura Plains - not little Vumbura - an unbeatable destination in all repects" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
TV & Family
Portugal

"Vumbura Plains review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2008
"Vumbura Plains is a premier camp, and the rooms were certainly very special - we loved having our own private plunge pool, deck and outdoor lounge. Parts of the rooms were beginning to look a little tired, but we understand that the rooms were about to be refitted and decorated, so I'm sure they'll be fabulous once they're done.

This is my 7th trip to Africa to try and see leopard, and on this occasion, my dream finally came true. We had a great sighting of a female leopard and the icing oin the cake was seeing her 6 week old cub too. I would commment that I think they should limit your viewings of the cub to just one visit (we had 2), as we were concerned about compromsing the saftey of the den. We also felt that we almost spent too much time tracking the mother and they should also limit your time with her (this is why I've rated the activities as good rather than excellent).

We also got to see a large pack of wild dogs, and I've never been that close to them before. Seeing them take on a group of banded mongoose and be chased off by them was an experience I'll never forget.

We spent New Year at this camp, and the staff were very good about providing sparkling wine to celebrate the occasion in our rooms and arranged champagne breakfasts for us on New Years Day, which was much appreciated.

My mother also got sick at this camp on her last day, and the staff were marvellous. Both Roger (the camp manager) and Ban (our really lovely guide, who went to endless trouble to ensure I had a good photograph of kingfishers) were so supportive and kind. They arranged for a nursing sister to meet our plane in Maun to ensure that my mother could be checked over and ensure she was fit enough for the long journey back to the UK. I'd very much appreciate it if you could feedback our grateful thanks for their support and help." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
New York

"Vumbra Plains luxury"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Loved this camp. Talk about ultra luxury. Rooms were amazing, service and food fabulous. No detail was too much. If you want the Ritz of all safaris, this is the place. The animal veiwing was excellent and had about everying you imagined one would reasonably be able to see in one spot.

Only negative is the evening water trip, which was not comfortable, fun or interesting." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Honey Badgers
NY

"Beautiful Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2008
"We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip. There's plentiful wild life in this camp that even though we didn't have a separate tracker as we did at Kwando camps, we saw a lot. We saw a cheetah which we've been hoping to see all of the time but wasn't lucky enough at the other two camps.

We saw tons of birds, crocodiles, sable antelopes, reedbucks and waterbucks. Our guide Ona was extremely knowledgleable and taught us about the delta, the trees, the birds and basically asked what I wanted to see and worked extra hard on spotting it. The 4x4 were more comfortable as they are landrovers but it seats eight which can make it difficult for the people in the back row to ask questions or hear the guide.

I do think it would have been helpful as the guide had to drive, talk and track and shine the spotlight during night drives all at once. The facilities here are absolutely gorgeous though you can feel like it's a bit over indulgent, after all we are in the bush, to have the plunge pool running though there's no chance one will use it as it's almost winter time.

Service was excellent, food was the best we've had - absolute gourmet, wines and drinks were very good! It almost felt like this part of our trip was more laid-back. We did welcome a little break after being at two camps that were super active in helping you see animals." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tide family
Dorset

"Fantastic first experience of a safari"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"It was our first experience we saw so many animals our guide Ona was excellent, he explained the animal calls and made us feel apart of what was going on.

The staff at the camp were very welcoming and friendly. Everyone could not do enough to help make our stay a safe and happy experience.

The facilities were excellent and there was even a hair dryer for the ladies. Thank you everyone." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & J
California

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Vumbura was our most expensive camp and thus, it was expected to be our best experience. It certainly lived up to our expectations. Our "tent" was bigger than our house (actually, I think the shower may have been bigger than our house!) and beautifully decorated.

The staff and guide were our second favorite (a VERY close second to Kwara). We really enjoyed the water excursions -- the mokoro and boat rides were really great-- a nice break from all the driving and bouncing around. Dux was a wonderful guide. We really enjoyed his company and his depth and breadth of knowledge. We could tell he was a seasoned and senior guide.

The surprise brunch out in the bush was incredible. We did not experience anything like that at any of the other camps. It was amazing. I was truly impressed by the set-up details -- from the "loo with the gauze cover" to the bar decorated with porcupine quills AND the best meal we had at Vumbura. I have to explain the "good" rating -- while all the brunches were quite delicious, the dinners (although, very beautifully presented) were often overcooked or little lacking in volume. Bill came away hungry a couple times (all our other camps served dinner buffet-style; I think we were accustomed to getting as much food as we liked).

All in all, Vumbura exceeded our expectations. The staff -- Gareth, Liz, Glorious (whom I had the pleasure of pruchasing a couple of her baskets) and James (our bartender) and all the others whose names I cannot remember were incredibly hospitable and friendly and courteous. I sensed a level of professionalism that I did not feel at the other camps. I really appreciated that." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-37 of 37
96%
37 reviews of Vumbura Plains by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (206 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (132 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (98 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (67 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (61 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (44 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa