This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp

Reviews of Pom Pom Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pom Pom Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2021, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Pom Pom Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Pangolin

33% success

Roan antelope

33% success

White Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Laura
from SF

"Pom Pom Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2024
"Lovely staff, especially Maggie, Ryder and Gordi. They truly went the extra mile.

I was a little surprised that meals were family style; that would have been very good information.
Also, I think it would have been good to have a option of solo dining without it being awkward.

The waterhole in front of the camp was just incredible.

The facilities were immaculate. The outdoor shower was such a treat.

The game rides were fantastic.
I cannot say enough about the animals. Wow, wow, wow." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

RHKB
Truckee, CA

"Pom Pom Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2023
"The Camp surprised us with a private dinner in our tent complete with decorations to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were so enthralled with day’s wildlife sightings, we had completely lost track of dates. We were really touched - it is a memory that will last a lifetime.

The guiding and wildlife sightings were terrific. Lions on a kill during the day and at night, a leopard hunting, hyena stealing a kill from a leopard were all observed. We also saw a very large python. A scientist studying pangolin was present during our stay. He has radio tagged one animal that we were able to see. This was unexpected and simply good luck.

Our accommodations were great except the room still smelled of either new paint or varnish. It wasn’t enough to inquire about a room change, but we would want to avoid that in the future.

Also noteworthy, the rooms were meticulously clean. Hot coffee at 5:30am wake up call was much appreciated. Camp Managers and Staff were friendly and welcoming. We would return to this Camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms A
Calgary

"Pom Pom Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2021
"Oh!! Where do I start?? PomPom is THE most welcoming camp. It is a definite feeling. The staff make you feel like it's been a long time since you've been home.

The tents are much smaller than others in the Kwando portfolio, but they are homey. And secure. And have the most amazing view of the waterhole out front.

My guide (Major) and tracker (Skills) took me to see a Rhino one morning. On a neighbouring concession, with permission. It was beyond what I hoped to ever see in Botswana. He is in need of a girlfriend (a bit of testosterone buildup has him a bit cranky), and hopefully a lady friend will be in his future. I mentioned what an amazing birthday present that was for me......and, well, Major must have put things in drive, as we had an amazing, celebratory evening!! Dancing and singing at Sundowners. And again at dinner, with birthday cake for all. I didn't need any such celebration, as I was travelling solo, but what an amazing, surprising night it was!

I did a walking safari one morning. Wasn't expecting much. But my goodness.....it was FANTASTIC!!

The concession is smaller, but easier to traverse. And it's beautiful. Palm fringed. Green (at this time of year). But......be warned. I expected to be able to do Mokoro and motorboat excursions, and no, November isn't a time for this (I wish I had done a bit more research, as Lagoon would have been the perfect sight to experience both the Mokorro, and the motorboat experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr J
Elgin

"Wonderful first safari at Pom Pom "

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Pom Pom camp lived up to our expectations and hopes in every way. The view from Pom Pom camp is beautiful and the camp staff and tracker and guide were friendly and competent. Accommodation is very acceptable, well spaced out for privacy and the food is plentiful and wholesome and we enjoyed the communal mealtimes and around the campfire.
The vehicles were not crowded (often only four guests per vehicle) and on our first game drive in the afternoon/evening we had much to see, including a pride of lions and a pair of buffalo: later that evening, the lions had killed one of the buffalo - quite an introduction. Another high spot was a leopard with her cub with their kill which we were able to see very close up without disturbing them
The guides asked at the outset what were our preferences, and game drives, mokoro trip and boat trips were all superb with explanations and lots of photo opportunities.
Pom Pom camp and the Delta were wonderful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr T
Suffolk

"third and last camp on botswana trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"Nice people but a slightly tired appearance to the camp.

Room facilities good. Good wildlife including a freshly killed large kudu being consumed by a pride of 9 lions.

My guide was rather quiet and had to be asked for information but when it came it was very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Pom Pom Camp was our favourite place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Terrific - our favourite stay in the whole of our 3 weeks in Namibia/Botswana. Luxurious tented accommodation, delicious food, an open lounge/bar/dining area overlooking a waterhole that was often teeming with animals and especially birds.

The Pom Pom concession is varied and very beautiful even at the end of the dry season. We loved our Mokoro boat trip - so close to so many beautiful birds - and our young guide was so knowledgeable.

We were taken out on our game drives by Max, an experienced and expert guide who took us to every part of the concession in the 2 days we were there, and found some remarkable wildlife for us including hyena cubs and a pack of wild dogs. All the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Norfolk

"Pom Pom camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Lucky to have LT as our guide - he was superb.

Camp was really comfortable and they were able to provide my wife with a gluten-free menu." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Essex

"Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"Jack, the stand-in Manager, was perfect. Low key management, but very effective. Good food.

An excellent guide in Max - all 6'9" of him!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Lichfield

"Pompom for game and birds"

5 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2010
"The programme at Pompom turned out to be less rigid than our first impressions: there needed to be a framework to accommodate the number of visitors, and Paul and his colleagues (guides) went out of their way to allow us to follow our particular interests. Paul's ability to locate game was outstanding, and we were unprepared for the animals' familiarity with vehicles as they went about their normal lives: watching a leopard hunt beside the car is an experience which we will not forget. Walking with Paul was fascinating as he shared his bush-craft and -lore.

The camp managers took good care of visitors, and the staff were always helpful.

Our guide who took us fishing was not familiar with the requirements of anglers using fly, but was ready to learn." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sisters
London

"Pom Pom review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Great deck and campfire but not much of a view from the tents but plenty of night hippo activity. Good plunge pool. Great food.

Good activities and drives although quite quiet when we were there. Macorro boat trips good. Lovely singing and dancing from the staff and great atmosphere at night.

Also rated highly by everyone we met who had been there." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 15
95%
15 reviews of Pom Pom Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (222 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (76 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and simple, but comfortable, Shinde Footsteps focuses on walking safaris as well as game drives; it also runs a special children's programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (48 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


96% (19 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (10 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


93% (3 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (3 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa