This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp
Pom Pom Camp

Reviews of Pom Pom Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pom Pom Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Elgin

"Wonderful first safari at Pom Pom "

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Pom Pom camp lived up to our expectations and hopes in every way. The view from Pom Pom camp is beautiful and the camp staff and tracker and guide were friendly and competent. Accommodation is very acceptable, well spaced out for privacy and the food is plentiful and wholesome and we enjoyed the communal mealtimes and around the campfire.
The vehicles were not crowded (often only four guests per vehicle) and on our first game drive in the afternoon/evening we had much to see, including a pride of lions and a pair of buffalo: later that evening, the lions had killed one of the buffalo - quite an introduction. Another high spot was a leopard with her cub with their kill which we were able to see very close up without disturbing them
The guides asked at the outset what were our preferences, and game drives, mokoro trip and boat trips were all superb with explanations and lots of photo opportunities.
Pom Pom camp and the Delta were wonderful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr T
Amersham

"third and last camp on botswana trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"Nice people but a slightly tired appearance to the camp.

Room facilities good. Good wildlife including a freshly killed large kudu being consumed by a pride of 9 lions.

My guide was rather quiet and had to be asked for information but when it came it was very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Pom Pom Camp was our favourite place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Terrific - our favourite stay in the whole of our 3 weeks in Namibia/Botswana. Luxurious tented accommodation, delicious food, an open lounge/bar/dining area overlooking a waterhole that was often teeming with animals and especially birds.

The Pom Pom concession is varied and very beautiful even at the end of the dry season. We loved our Mokoro boat trip - so close to so many beautiful birds - and our young guide was so knowledgeable.

We were taken out on our game drives by Max, an experienced and expert guide who took us to every part of the concession in the 2 days we were there, and found some remarkable wildlife for us including hyena cubs and a pack of wild dogs. All the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Norfolk

"Pom Pom camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Lucky to have LT as our guide - he was superb.

Camp was really comfortable and they were able to provide my wife with a gluten-free menu." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Essex

"Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"Jack, the stand-in Manager, was perfect. Low key management, but very effective. Good food.

An excellent guide in Max - all 6'9" of him!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Lichfield

"Pompom for game and birds"

5 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2010
"The programme at Pompom turned out to be less rigid than our first impressions: there needed to be a framework to accommodate the number of visitors, and Paul and his colleagues (guides) went out of their way to allow us to follow our particular interests. Paul's ability to locate game was outstanding, and we were unprepared for the animals' familiarity with vehicles as they went about their normal lives: watching a leopard hunt beside the car is an experience which we will not forget. Walking with Paul was fascinating as he shared his bush-craft and -lore.

The camp managers took good care of visitors, and the staff were always helpful.

Our guide who took us fishing was not familiar with the requirements of anglers using fly, but was ready to learn." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sisters
London

"Pom Pom review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Great deck and campfire but not much of a view from the tents but plenty of night hippo activity. Good plunge pool. Great food.

Good activities and drives although quite quiet when we were there. Macorro boat trips good. Lovely singing and dancing from the staff and great atmosphere at night.

Also rated highly by everyone we met who had been there." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J x 2
Birmingham

"Pom Pom review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"Delightful, friendly camp - good atmosphere, very relaxing. The way it is stuctured and organised means that guests, guides, managers etc. get to eat together, etc.

Wonderful situation on the lagoon. Game drives/walks and mokoro trips all OK, although we both worried that the vehicles went too close to animals sometimes - obviously great for us tourists but surely can't be good for the animals." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"Pom Pom review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2009
"This was the last of the three camps visited and the main lodge area, with its high ceiling built in a semi-circle, (so wherever you sit everyone has a view of the lagoon), was my favourite setting. The general staff seemed shy, slightly subdued but one could build a rapport with most of the staff as time went on.

Meticulously clean, no fuss, the ladies worked very hard to produce the finest of meals. The mokoro trip was a pleasant change, peaceful and tranquil. Botswana has produced a high standard of guides through its policy of education and once again great tracking skills in evidence as several leopard were found for those special moments. Good game viewing, but Kwara and Lagoon/Lebala regions were better.

Sometimes taking the chance of travelling 'out of prime game viewing season' pays off- quite literally! The weather was superb, very little rain and temperature between 28 and 35 degrees celsius. No flat open plains for easy game viewing, this was real safari, off road, very private and game tracking at its best. Thankyou, for all the efforts put in to make this one of my greatest adventure yet! Vi ses igen." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Pom Pom review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"A very different locatrion which tries to retain more of the feel of a typical bush camp. The location right on the waterway is beautiful often with the accompanyment of Hippo both by day and night. The game here is not so plentiful but is still very enjoyable such as on our last day when we found a leopard and her two cubs. This was a totally beautiful experience. She was very relaxed with us around and we were able to stay with her for a while she suckled her cubs; sights we have never seen before.

Mokoro trips are possible and enjoyable but here I can relate to a comment I have seen proviously about this camp. We did not find it over obsessed by avoiding danger as suggested but we did not get as much out of the mokoro trip as we would have liked because it is done in convoy. On this occasiion with some tourists who were more interested in having good personal (loud) time than enjoying the peace of the area. We did not see much wildlife I suspect becuse it had been scared off. Allowing boats to take different routes might overcome this.

Andre and Kim who run the Lodge were very helpful to us including rearranging our flight to avoid us waiting at Maun airport to several hours. Our guide was Seretse who was just superb. We got on right from the start and he made our stay very special. This is a great way to either start or end , as in our case, a journey in the Delta." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
93%
12 reviews of Pom Pom Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa