This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp

Reviews of Tubu Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tubu Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Great venue in the trees, with a lovely vista"

4 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"Again a lovely venue and outlook. Food was always excellent, staff were always brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
It was a lovely experience and we loved everything about the camp and the stay. There were no downsides at all." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bracknell

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Good camp. Excellent guide ("General" or Soretse)" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M
Calgary

"Tubu: Friendly staff and expert guides"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2016
"Tubu Tree has a warm, rustic charm about it with very friendly ex-pat camp managers and equally friendly local staff. Food and beverages were top notch.

Our guide, TK, was knowledgeable and personable, and was the best guide we had during our trip. Great variety of animals spotted include two leopards, several lions, are moderate sized groups of elephants, zebra, wildebeest, and buffalo. Also spotted crocodiles, hippos, and lots of impala and kudu. Game found very close to camp with minimal driving required before encountering wildlife.

Due to late arrival of flood water, no water activities on offer." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr Bob
Montreal

"Tube Tree Terrific"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2016
"Well situated on an island although there was yet little water. Comfortable accommodations and surroundings with a great open bar and bartender - Daniel.

TK, our guide, was an expert tracker and involved us in the chase - we spent an entire morning tracking lion or leopard without finding any but it didn't matter because he had us engaged in the experience. But we did still see 4 of the Big Five and TK always positioned the Land Rover so that we could all get a camera shot and the best light. Simply an outstanding experience.

An observation - not sure what to do with it - white expat camp management and black staff. Is this what Botswana is about?" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs M & S
Germany

"NIce stay at Tubu Tree lodge"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2016
"Good Location, good guide, interesting sceneries, great wildlife (Elephants, Giraffes, Zebras, Buffalos, Impalas, hippos, crocs, monkeys, birds ...; we even saw two leopards and three male lions). Staff in lodge was very friendly, one evening at camp fire with nice dancing and singing of staff members. Great star gazing!

We also had one guided walk, in addition to driving in the landcruisers. Great sundowners in the field, great sunsets.

We have been there mid march, unfortunately two or three weeks before flooding of the floodland was expected. We thus could not do any mokoro trip on the water.
Only few Moskitos." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs CP
Henley

"Great sighting of leopard"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2015
"Very upmarket camp in a nice location on the edge of the Delta.

Good combination of wet and dry activities. The delta is serene and tranquil. The quality of guiding is very good, and we got superb sightings of a leopard and her cub." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
USA

"Tubu is great"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2015
"Tubu was our second camp, so one might think it wouldn't be as unique as our first camp.

However, the activities were different, including the canoeing, boating, and bushman demonstration.

So it was as awesome as we could have imagined. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Singapore

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2015
"While all the facilities are excellent the relaxed and friendly atmosphere at Tubu Tree are what makes it stand out.

On our last morning we somehow ended up right in the middle of a herd of thirty elephants including babies. An unforgettable and exhilarating experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Big New Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"After 2 previous visits to the old, small Tubu we returned to the enlarged camp with some trepidation. While we enjoyed our stay, our misgivings were confirmed. The doubling of the number of rooms on Hunda Island, a poor period for general game on the Jao floodplain and the presence of a large group in Tubu Tree insisting on privacy all led to an experience quite unlike the old small Tubu.

I will be addressing the issue of the large group in a separate e mail but we found their presence and insistence on privacy forced the rest of the guests to the unlit periphery of the dining room and into a single Land Rover for game drives. Once out on game drives, the presence on the island of Tubu, Little Tubu, Jao, Kwetsani and Jacana vehicles meant that most interesting sightings immediately attracted the permitted 3 vehicles plus a waiting list. This is not the exclusivity for which we have been happy to pay a premium.

Moreover, we suspect the presence on the island of a pair of male lions has spooked the resident leopards. We had one fleeting and one good sighting of leopard. The management, while warm and welcoming has become blurred and one was never quite sure who was in charge at any one time.

KG and Gloria are charming hosts and our guide Jo was huge fun albeit faced with a constantly changing, full or near full game drive load. We love Tubu and Hunda Island but will probably not return under the current arrangements." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Good Tradition at Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Our safari highlight at Tubu Tree were the subadult sibling lions, 2-females and a male. We are use to watching young cubs play, but it was thrilling to watch these near adults charging, tumbling, and batting at one another. So unexpected and fun, watching their mischievous expressions before making their play attacks. We also had the opportunity to photograph them drinking with their reflection in the outstanding warm morning light. Wonderful. Unfortunately, the male is suffering a severe injury to a hindleg; we hope he can make a recovery. He has such a beautiful and kind expression.

We saw some very light-colored giraffe on the island; it would be interesting to know the how and why.

Tubu Tree has Monday 'tradition' night; to show how their chief is honored, the staff at Tubu Tree elect one of the guests to be chief for a night. Having the topic opened, enabled Kambango, our guide, to share with us how in Botswana the individual tribes, traditions, and beliefs are respected. How every voice is heard at the community level, then the chiefs--after hearing what everyone wants to say--make the ultimate decisions.

2-complaints: one was there was a large group who ran late. The first night we were there, they had a slideshow--for their group only--causing dinner to be an hour late. They should have done their show earlier or after dinner. Maybe if they'd allowed the other guests to join in, we wouldn't have been so agitated with our rumbling stomachs and a late night. But then they were late again the second night, still out on the boat with a 30 to 45-minute drive once on land. I know it's easier for management to feed everyone at the same time, and big groups fill the camps, but . . .

And one option would be, to be advised, and thus other guests could have the option to stay out longer themselves on drive, but that brings me to complaint #2; we were told Wilderness Safaris has gone to red-lights for night drives, so as to not bother the diurnal animals. If the guides are well-trained a white light should never be shone on a diurnal animal--it is easy even in the dark to recognize one animal type from another. I find watching and photographing night animals (who are not bothered by white light) under red-light to be very distorting and unrewarding. I hope Wilderness will reconsider this policy.

Whilst at Tubu Tree these travellers took a helicopter flight over the Delta. Here's what they said about it:
I'd kinda thought the flight would include more time over the waterways of the delta, rather than just the island, but the perspective from the air is phenomenal no matter what. In my mind, I was envisioning the landscapes and the geology of the delta, where the pilot concentrated primarily on the wildlife. Either way, it's pretty spectacular to see everything from the aerial vantage point, without cloudy windows or the haze which comes with the altitude of planes, and I cannot recommend a flight highly enough. I will definitely fly again, when I return during the rainy season, curious to see how the land and water change shapes.

I forgot to write down our pilot's name, sorry, but he was very professional, and great at pointing things out." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 37
98%
37 reviews of Tubu Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa