This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp

Reviews of Tubu Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tubu Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J
Atlanta

"Tubu Tree - Immersed in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"Flying over the Okavango Delta in a Cessna 206 and watching our guide chase four giraffes from the sandy airstrip so that our plane could land set the stage nicely for our stay at Tubu Tree where we were literally immersed in the bush. The tent accommodations were extremely comfortable, the views from the deck were quite nice and I especially liked having an outdoor shower. Every night a “bush baby” (hot water bottle wrapped in sheepskin) was placed in our bed to keep us warm. It worked remarkably well.

Our guide (Phenyo) provided us with various experiences which included observing a leopard tracking a civet, seeing a hyena with two cubs, a speedboat ride to the hippo pool and a late afternoon mokoro ride. The game was quite plentiful on our drives (elephants, zebras, giraffes and wildebeests) and because the vehicles could off-road, we had some very close encounters. We also had a number of animals visit within feet/yards of our tents (elephants, kudu, baboons, warthogs, steenbok).

Tubu Tree Camp celebrated our special occasions one evening with singing (the choir here was outstanding) and cake after dinner and placed hand crafted cards in our tents. At night we played cards in one of our tents and the manager escorted us to our own tent afterwards.

One small issue we encountered at Tubu Tree was a hammering project that was underway upon our arrival / siesta time...definitely detracted from the ambiance and should have been done while the guests were away on drives. Another issue we encountered with Tubu Tree was the condition of the swimming pool. It was quite hot one afternoon and my sister and I wanted to take a swim, but the water was cloudy and uninviting.

P.S. Be sure to observe the luggage specifications. We traveled to Tubu Tree via a Cessna 206 and our duffle bags (correct size) were a tight fit. Also note that the electricity in the tents is used for lighting and charging cell phones and camera batteries (no hairdryers etc.)" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wiltshire

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2013
"Very welcoming camp with a great feel. Management and staff very attentive and friendly.

Fantastic range of mixed activities. Drives, boat and Mekoro.

Camp being upgraded and the room was truly stunning (if that is what rocks your boat!).

A couple great leopard sightings and some great interactive elephants.

My only concern is that the upgrade to the camp is adding a number of rooms and it might lose it's intimate feel (and the island might feel a little more crowded on drives)." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"The new Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2013
"We had a wonderful stay at Tubu Tree.

The camp has been undergoing an expansion and refurbishment and we had been forewarned of this before we travelled. We had been assured that the works were both quiet and unobtrusive and this proved to be the case which was great. This was my second stay at Tubu and the new tents are even nicer than the old ones. They have opted for a very light colour canvas for the tents and light coloured wooden floors which we really liked because it makes the tents feel more spacious and airy.

Staff were professional but friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The two managers (Rauve and Neuman) had been at the camp for 1 month and a few days respectively and hadn't worked together in the past but you would never have been able to tell had we not asked. They were charming, knowledgeable and a good team. Food was excellent and a lot of thought was put into settings for lunches and dinners. (Our first lunch with table set up in the shallow water just outside camp was amazing and so beautiful. It sure beat a Monday at work!)

Guiding was very good. Our guide was Seretse who was a very engaging chap and found us some great sightings. His love for his work was clear, he was knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

The water levels around camp were higher than on my previous visit which we knew would be the case. The guides did warn us that the water levels meant that some routes were too deep underwater to drive which meant that the area for driving was fairly limited. This did not spoil our enjoyment as there was plenty to see (still a great place to see leopard for example) and it meant that we could do a mokoro trip much closer to camp which was both interesting and relaxing.

It will be interesting to see what Tubu is like when it's 3 new tents plus adjoining Little Tubu have opened. It certainly seems to be a popular camp. Oh well, we'll just have to go back and check it out!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Family L
Victoria

"Safari at Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"We are a family with two children aged 12 and 13 and spent 3 nights at Tubu Tree at the beginning of January. The lodge managers were friendly, welcoming and extremely well organised so everything ran like clock work whilst there. They gave a us a thorough briefing just after arrival and answered all our questions. During the stay they were attentive to small details such as providing us with refillable waterbottles, making sure the children were always full of food and preparing a special New Year Eve feast with gifts for all. I celebrated my birthday in style with a special candlelit private dinner and a delicious birthday cake. At the end of the stay we had a "behind the scenes" visit to see the workings of the lodge and it made us appreciative of the huge effort by all the staff that is required to keep everything functioning for the clients.

The rooms were private, spacious and very comfortable and we loved the outdoor showers. The children loved having one to themselves! Special notes arrived on our beds each night, there was always hot and cold drinking water available as well as emergency equipment.

The meals were tasty, beautifully prepared and we ate at a large table all together where it was fun to talk to the other guests.

Our experienced guide at the camp was excellent. He was knowledgeable, tireless, fun and truly a pleasure to spend long hours with in the car. Our children really enjoyed his sense of humour, learned a lot about the local people and asked numerous questions. We saw many different animals and were never rushed to get back to camp.

We all loved our stay at Tubu Tree Camp and would highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2012
"A beautiful setting with elevated rooms and lovely communal areas. The rooms are smaller than some of the pther camps which did make them feel very hot during the day. The camp was very smoothly run with lots of attention to detail. Our guide Gibson was accommodating to the different wishes of all his guests and was keen to please and learn.

This camp, and it's staff, didn't feel quite as relaxed as the others but it may have been because leopard had been in the camp and the staff were concerned about guests moving from the rooms to the communal areas. The walkways to the rooms would have benefitted from a boardwalk as walking on the dark sand made everything very dirty. The traditional night on Monday was excellent and had a very traditional feel.

The mekoro ride was very relaxing." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Harefield

"Great safari intro at Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2012
"A great introduction to my first trip to Africa. I was met at the airstrip by my guide GT (Gin & Tonic) and driven the short distance to camp where i was met by Dan & Charmaine who were great hosts throughout my stay. All the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, especially after an evening drink at one of the best bars I've had the pleasure of leaning on!

General game viewing was excellent and we had a great sighting of 2 young Leopards on my third day in camp. We caught up with one of them again on a night drive as well as seeing plenty of nocturnal animals including Civet & Gennet. The concession was beautiful and every corner you turned seemed like you had entered a different wilderness, a truly amazing place.

The Monday night meal around the camp fire was especially fun when the staff sang for us and the food & service was very traditional.

Dan kindly spent some time one afternoon showing myself and another guest how to use photoshop to edit all the photos we were taking. On my last full day i was on my own for the afternoon drive so Dan came out to give me some tips which was much appreciated.

GT was a great guide throughout the trip, seeming to find the balance of what everyone wanted.

I did a Mokoro trip one afternoon though it was about 30 minutes from camp so we enjoyed a bit of a game drive as well. A very relaxing way to spend an evening.

I stayed in room 1 and it was extremely comfortable and had a great view. It was kept extremely clean (by them not me) and the laundry service provided works well.

Overall a great trip!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Renhold

"Too short at tubu tree"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2012
"Tubu tree was great. The managers were very efficient and friendly. Our guide Gibson was excellent and the wild life he found was brilliant. Particularly the encounter with hyenas and elephant. He also found excellent spots for safari coffee and sundowners. The food was of a very good standard.

The camp is very small and not full when we were there so we did feel that they wanted us to go to bed quite early but that didn't really matter. The tent was very comfortable with an excellent view. As we were there only 2 days they arranged for us to do the boat trip and canoes in one evening which was great too. The outside bar was stunning as was the pool." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sleepy Hollow

"A superb camp operated superbly by a young co"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"This was our first camp and we found the facilities even more luxurious and well maintained than we expected.

The service was very friendly and the managers made an effort to introduce and get the visitors together. The guide (forgot his name) was excellent and we saw a good variety of animals and birds. The mokoro ride to the pool of hippos was memorable." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Tubu Tree camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2012
"A wonderful experience here. The camp facilities were excellent, and the staff and management very friendly and helpful.

Game viewing was top class - we saw leopard nearly every drive, and much more. As well as drives we had a mokoro trip and boat on the waterways.

Evenings around the camp fire were very friendly! Food was excellent and constant!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Second Visit to a Great Camp"

4 nights Arrived 2 May 2012
"Tubu was a surprise star of our 2010 holiday in the Delta and we were not disappointed by our second visit. Hunda island in April/May is a paradise for game, birds and every aspect of plant and insect life of the delta. The camp is small, intimate, well laid out and wonderfully well run - with a single exception.

To celebrate a special birthday we spent 4 nights here and loved almost every moment. We had saved by getting our long haul flights using air miles and some of the saving was used to have a private guide and vehicle for the duration. The ultimate privilege and we were blessed with a senior and outstanding guide, GT, shipped over from the Premier camp at Jao. The flexibility this allowed us was fantastic and we had 3 full days plus 2 half days of the most exceptional game drives. We saw leopard in a tree, leopard on a termite mound, leopard on a fallen tree and leopard, leopard leopard..... In addition Hunda was teeming with several breeding herds of elephant and exceptional bird sightings at every turn.

Hein and Eloise are a charming, energetic and most likable couple soon to be married. They run the camp like true professionals but seem to have a minor blind spot with the catering. Breakfast, brunch, teas and sundowner nibbles were great but almost every dinner was a disappointment with often meat that was uncuttable/unchewable, over spiced or had not had the small bones removed. Is there a problem in the kitchen they are unable to solve or does it need more hands on quality control? Since they sat down to eat with us every evening they must have known guests were having problems. We very much hope the 'system' can help them solve this problem because, in every other respect, Tubu is a brilliantly well run camp that we will go back to. Is the burden of also being the concession supply center distracting the management from getting their own camp fully 100%?" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 37
98%
37 reviews of Tubu Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa