This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp

Reviews of Tubu Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tubu Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-37 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
D & S
Shenfield Essex

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2011
"Brilliant camp! The food and service were amazing and the hard work put in by Eloise was obvious.

Our guide was really good and was full of interesting information.

A good three days - thank you!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss McD
UK

"A Close Encounter with Aslan at Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"There are so many great memories of this camp. The sheer number of elephants that we saw in the actual camp was extraordinary. At one point I counted 35 of them around our room. We also had a visit on our first day from the Botswana Baboon Olympic Trampoline team who had a training session on the roof of our Meru tented room. It was memorable and fun to listen to, for a while. A quick beating of a stick on the verandah, however, ensured that this was not repeated again during our stay, which in some ways was a pity.

Then there was the male lion. I have seen many and been close to many lions but when one walks right alongside, and I mean right alongside, your open-sided vehicle, so close that you can smell his bad breath, looking as though he has just come off the set of the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, there is something which makes you hold your own breath, and sit quite still so that he continues to think you are a fixture of the vehicle. Our guide, Kambango, was remarkably diligent staying well after sundown to ensure that we saw the nocturnal animals that we had tasked him to find. The African "kangaroo" is an amusing little hare which hops along on its hind legs.

Eloise and Hien are efficient hosts and the last meal in Botswana that they laid on for us by the pool was quite special. Thanks are due to them for all their kindness.




" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Wiltshire

"Gorgeous"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"A beautiful camp in a beautiful spot (only snag the 2 hour, 4 stop, very bumpy plane journey to get there from Kasane). Quite a walk to our tent which was the furthest away one and there are sometimes elephant, baboons and bushbuck around.

Lovely tent, very comfortable, with indoor and outdoor shower and a relaxing deck. Well designed so it stayed cool during the hot day but not too cold overight. Comfortable, cosy bed with a shelf within the mosquito net to put bedside table sort of things.

The managers Hein and Eloise are very enthusiastic and sociable. The food was simple and good apart from, unfortunately, the main courses. Tea time snacks particularly good!

Excellent game drives and we were particularly lucky with lion and leopard." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Absolutely wonderful"

4 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2010
"We had a fantastic stay at Tubu. We loved being in a small camp and it never felt busy. The camp is lovely and we had some great game and bird sightings.

The main areas and rooms are beautiful. We stayed in room 1 and could not have asked for a more lovely room. The views are great, furnishings very comfortable and the room and bathroom areas were spotlessly clean. The staff clearly take a lot of pride in keeping things nice. Like Chitabe, tents are spread out so you don't see or hear your neighbours and do have privacy.

Our guide was Johnny and he was a lovely chap who always had something interesting to tell us. He was patient with all the animals which we particularly liked - at no point did we feel like we were chasing after anything. It was very much a case of us being in nature and respecting it. We saw a lot more herds of game than at other lodges, even from the deck of our room. Leopard sightings were fantastic. We were sorry to miss lion and cheetah but the leopards more than made up for it. Bird life was fantastic - 95 different birds in 4 days that we noted down and that was just the birds that we saw for long enough to identify them.

We did a mokoro trip which was very relaxing and gave us a feel for what it would be like during flood season. Otherwise all our activities were game drives. If I was being critical, I would say that the drives sometimes seemed a bit short. I am sure that some guests get bored if there isn't much to see on occasion but we are quite happy just being out. The concession is beautiful and very lush.

Food was fantastic - the best of our 3 camps - especially the cakes! All meals were excellent and the dining room area is very nice with good views as is the bar. Staff were lovely. Justin and Jacky are great managers and we could not have asked for better. Their background in hospitality certainly shows - they are excellent at making sure everyone has what they need but are still relaxed and easy to get along with. We never felt fussed over but never wanted for another drink, food etc.

We'd love to go back one day." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Tubu - Where All the Game Is"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"Another wonderfully run camp. Jackie and Justin are young, imaginative and enthusiastic, delivering a great surprise treat to the guests every day. This great formula, added to the almost wall to wall game on Hunde Island this year, produced a holiday that will never be forgotten.

Surprise bush lunch, surprise bush dinner and a truly memorable traditional evening all combined to great effect. On top of this Izzy managed to find leopard, lion with cubs and even a group of dagga boy Cape buffalos running through water for us to add to the fantastic September birds. We will definitely go back." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Small camp with very hospitable staff"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2010
"Large areas of Hundu island were inundated by the flood and this impacted on our game viewing. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here. Kambango was an excellent guide, and managers Justin and Jackie and all camp staff were very welcoming and hospitable.

Saw a good selection of plains game and a nice sighting of 2 male bushbuck.

Wake up time here was 6am, which seemed to be more sensible that the 5.30 time at the other 2 WS camps, where game drives commenced well before sunrise. Not a complaint, merely an observation." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms S
Surrey

"Good hosts, great views and game."

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"Our first real camp - with elephants off the veranda - and then a bull elephant in camp - almost too close for the lens I had on my camera.

The staff obviously enjoyed themselves - and that encouraged us to do the same." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-37 of 37
98%
37 reviews of Tubu Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa