This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Wiltshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic Trip

Tanzania between 3 Aug 2013 and 11 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The Selous and Ruaha were wonderful destinations, we saw so much wildlife and animals were not as skittish as we expected.

The camps were both very good, we had a fantastic time at each. It was the fourth safari for my husband and myself and we loved it, and we had taken my nieces aged 12 and 14 for their first safari and they loved every single thing about it!

Thank you to Liz for organising it and suggesting the 2 camps, and a big thank you for sorting out our return flights after the Nairobi airport fire."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Perfect For Us"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"We stayed in the family tent with my nieces aged 12 and 14. It was their first safari and the fourth for my husband and I. I can't praise the camp highly enough. The tent arrangement was ideal for us with two tents together on a raised platform with chairs to sit out, but each tent with its own shower room. Very comfortable and had everything we needed.

Quite a long walk to the main lodge and a Masai accompanied us to and from the tent during the day as well as after dark. The management team were friendly and efficient, our guide Ezra was excellent - knowledgeable and patient with two sometimes over excited girls! The food was very good, we enjoyed lingering over meals and so much prefer individual dining rather than the norm of communal dining. Good coffee too - as the management team are Italian they had a smart coffee machine!

It was good to be able to do boat trips as well as game drives which gave a bit of variety. We saw so much wildlife - giraffes in particular round every corner and more lions than my husband and I have seen anywhere else - everything we hoped to see apart from leopard and wild dog. The small swimming pool was very much enjoyed by the girls. The all day game drive was well worth doing and we ate a delicious picnic lunch by the shores of a beautiful lake with many birds.

We all had a wonderful time at Impala and were sad to leave!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Beautiful Place"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"The bandas were gorgeous and very luxurious. I loved our huge terrace outside the tent with built in sofas with big squashy cushions and a swing seat, and a view over the almost dry river bed.

It was so relaxing to lounge there watching rock hyrax, baboons and banded mongoose, and one afternoon 3 lions came down to drink. The resident elephant wandered past our banda several times as well. The management team were very efficient and friendly and our guide Isaac was very good.

The game drives were superb, we saw so much wildlife, elephants in particular, and cheetah at the end of our last drive which was an excellent finale. We went out early one morning and had a bush breakfast in a scenic spot, which was lovely. The food was very variable. The day we arrived the lunch buffet was superb with a good choice of imaginative dishes which were full of flavours. But things tailed off after that and lunch was not as good again and dinner was very basic.

Cameras have to be charged in the office and realistically the only window for doing that is between lunch and the afternoon game drive. I found this very inconvenient and while it wouldn't be practical now to fit charging sockets in the bandas, if cameras could be left charging overnight in the office that would be much more helpful.

The Nairobi airport fire affected our homeward plans and we were very impressed how Expert Africa swung into action immediately and changed our flights. Getting 4 business class seats at such short notice could not have been easy and we are very grateful to you."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

One of the Best!

Botswana and 2 other countries between 3 Sep 2011 and 17 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a fantastic trip, we enjoyed every moment (apart from me feeling ill on the little planes!). Tracy suggested Susuwe Island Lodge, Tubu Tree and Baines Camp and they could not have been better suggestions, we were delighted with them. They were all a bit different to each other in style and in slightly different habitats so we saw different things, which is what we wanted.

We had a rather lengthy journey from the Royal Livingstone Hotel to Susuwe. We noticed from the map that there is what appears to be a direct road north of the Zambezi and then over a bridge but we were not taken that way, we assumed that it can't be a very good road. However, we learned when we reached Susuwe that it is a good road, a modern bridge and the journey takes 3 hours door to door. It took us 6 hours.

First, 1 hour drive to the Zambezi, checked out of Zambia, speedboat across the river, checked into Botswana, were driven 10 minutes by a woman who was on her mobile the entiire time then transferred to another vehicle and driver - why? He then drove us all the way to meet the vehicle from Susuwe, but we had to check out of Botswana and into Namibia. The journey took twice as long and presumably because of this cost us twice as much, we had to wait at the various immigration and emmigration posts and got another Botswana stamp in the passport to no useful purpose. We would still have been coming back this way of course to Kasane to fly to Tubu Tree, so going there a different way would have made a round trip which would have been more interesting as well as far more convenient. We would like your comments on this please.

When we were offered to change from San Camp to Jacks Camp because of a photo shoot at San we were told there were "a couple" of other guests at Jacks. There were in fact about 12 other guests which is considerably more than "a couple". We immediately thought we shouldn't have changed as if we had been the only proper guests at San we would have had a guide to ourselves, whereas with so many other guests that was not likely. We thought this was very misleading wording by Uncharted Africa.

However, by accident rather than design we did in fact have a - very good - guide to ourselves so were mollified! We were pleased overall that we changed to Jacks, it was quite an experience. Thank you to Megan who pointed out that I was particularly interested in the meerkats and they arranged 2 visits to them into our schedule so that was lovely, and I adored having them crawling over me!

I was amused to read in the Bradt travel guide that there are no meerkats in the Makgadikgadi park. This is plainly not the case!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Great Location and Lovely Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Great location, we enjoyed being able to walk along to the Falls whenever we wished, and there was always the added bonus of what wildlife we might meet on the way, seeing zebra and giraffe in the hotel grounds!

Comfortable bedroom, and the food was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Absolutely Delightful"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2011
"45 min game drive from the main road, then 1 minute boat ride round the bend of the river to the lodge. Funny little boat like a floating pontoon with dining chairs. This is also what they use for birding boat trips, usually in the morning and game drives in the afternoon.
Lodge is very comfortable, spacious bedroom and bathroom (weren't expecting a bath so that was a pleasant surprise, especially as it was a bath with a view, and the shower had a view too), shady deck with loungers, peaceful view into reeds and papyrus. Cabin stayed cool in the heat of the day but didn't get too cold overnight, and the mosquito net had been thoughtfully designed with space to stand by the bed and a shelf within the net for bits and pieces. The food was simple but tasty especially the home made bread.

We were pleased that it is private tables here rather than communal dining, which we dislike, and we were asked what time we would like lunch and dinner rather than being told what time it was being served, which I think was a personal touch. Saw many herds of elephants in particular, and also 2 wild dogs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"Gorgeous"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"A beautiful camp in a beautiful spot (only snag the 2 hour, 4 stop, very bumpy plane journey to get there from Kasane). Quite a walk to our tent which was the furthest away one and there are sometimes elephant, baboons and bushbuck around.

Lovely tent, very comfortable, with indoor and outdoor shower and a relaxing deck. Well designed so it stayed cool during the hot day but not too cold overight. Comfortable, cosy bed with a shelf within the mosquito net to put bedside table sort of things.

The managers Hein and Eloise are very enthusiastic and sociable. The food was simple and good apart from, unfortunately, the main courses. Tea time snacks particularly good!

Excellent game drives and we were particularly lucky with lion and leopard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Wonderful Camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"1 min by jeep from the airstrip (with hyenas and warthogs around) then 30-40 mins by speedboat through narrow channels of reeds to the camp. A delightful location, very comfortable cabin which stayed cool during the day and not too cold overnight, spacious shower room.

Food was good though on the whole the main courses could have been better, and we particularly enjoyed the hot croissants at breakfast.

Justin and Jackie are enthusiastic and sociable managers, we felt very well looked after. Excellent game drives."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Different to Anywhere Else"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"The tent was quite dark and it was unbearably hot during the middle of the day, we really couldn't have a siesta after lunch but had to sit on the deck. Conversely, getting dressed first thing in the morning was freezing! We didn't like the kerosene lamps they put in the tent at night and after the 1st night we asked not to have them again and we managed just as well with the good solar powered torches they provide.

I would have liked to have gone back to our tent after arriving back from the evening activity to wash and maybe change out of dusty clothes, but they encourage you to sit immediately by the fire for a drink, then dinner, and as our tent was a long walk away and we would have had to be accompanied, we went with the flow.

Otherwise, we loved it, it was so different which suited the quite different habitat to the Okavango and the Caprivi. We liked the "out of Africa" style decor and I loved the shower room with its armchair style loo (though my husband said it wasn't so good for chaps as the seat didn't lift up properly!) and old fashioned style shower. The outdoor shower was fun too.

The activities were wonderful and so different, especially being with the meerkats which was a huge highlight for me. The quad biking was fun on the amazing salt pan under the stars in total isolation. Also looking for ancient artifacts on the salt pan. Visiting the huge, old baobab tree was interesting. Our guide was excellent, so knowledgeable about so many things.

The food was the best we ate on our trip, really delicious (apart from dinner the 1st night which was some sort of aberration), with good quality wines and lovely home made lemonade. We felt very well looked after."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"This worked very well for a night before going home.

Comfortable, delightful outlook onto the river and good food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team