This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp
Jack's Camp

Reviews of Jack's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jack's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2021, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jack's Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Meerkat

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Aardvark

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Jack's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2021
"Overall a good stay in a stunning location with excellent guiding and food. Our guide Villa was a very kind person with very extensive knowledge.

The concept here feels a bit formulaic though with limited flexibility to change the schedule. When we indicated that we did not want to do the quadbiking (communicated to the camp already long before our arrival by our travel agent) an alternate guide had to be arranged at last minute to accommodate our vehicle companions so that we could do a regular game drive instead.

Also one can question if the latest renovation has changed it into a better camp. The tents are now humongous and feel cavernous with very limited lighting. Although the design is very consistent 1940’s in all the details, a sense of intimacy is definitely missing and with the limited time one actually spends in the tent the space feels wasted.

Another peculiarity was the fact that the mess tent has no public toilets other than those at the main swimming pool, requiring an escorted 5 minute walk after dark; not very convenient during dinner.

Despite these observations overall all camp employees did their very best to accommodate every guests’s needs and the service level was very high." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Meerkat

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs M.
Amsterdam

"A Labyrinth"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2021
"As it was the first camp on our trip it came as a bit of a shock to me. Rather dark and overwhelming with all the tapestries and furniture. The walk to my tent, nr. 4 took more than ten minutes and was way too big and dark as well. The height of the bed was so high I had to jump on it. (they told me later there was a little stand, but I couldn't find it.) Very awkward.
The toilets were a 9-minute walk away from the diningarea and without any signs or markings. It took me (and Edgar) a day to find my way around!
Apart from this, our welcome was very friendly and warm. Our driver Villa was a great narrator about the Kalahari, the meercats, the bushman, the salt pans etc. etc. Wonderful drives and wonderful surroundings!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Amazing staff at Jack's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"We had a wonderful stay at Jack's primarily because the staff is so much fun and down to earth. The camp manager Shelia was wonderful in every way and spent a lot of time with us.

The only disappointment was not being able to spend more time with the meerkats which was our main priority. We were able to spend one afternoon with them and our guide had arranged for us to see them on our last morning. However we had a early flight out and were unable to go. Wished there had been more flexibility regarding activities but know that is difficult when other guests are involved.

Ogel and Godwin(guide) were also great and we laughed the whole time we were there. Would love to return someday just to be with the staff and meerkats. Also missed quad bikes because it was too wet." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"Jack's Camp was exceptional - great safari"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"The camp manager and all the staff were great. The wildlife was varied and we saw far more large animals than we had expected to. The meerkat's were amazing! What made Jack's camp exceptional was attentiveness of the staff, the pool (much needed at 42 degC), the sunset drink bar in the middle of nowhere, the quad bike trek in the evening and the pre-dinner drink location (dinner had to be cancelled because of an imminent storm) and the walk with the bush people. Of course it does come at a price, so maybe the overall value is probably only good!

We are not sure we really agree with the manmade water holes but they certainly bring in the game." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"A lot happens in the middle of nowhere"

5 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"Totally unique experience. The silence of the pans, listening to the bushmen's click language,their singing and laughter, sitting with meerkats on your lap and the romance of returning at night to a camp totally lit by lamp light. We loved it.

The trip to Kubu Island is spectacular. You feel like you are going to drive off the edge of the world. Beautiful location for camp, baobab trees everywhere , even one with a bucket shower! Great guides and staff. A true once in a lifetime experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Richmond

"A total surprise!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2015
"A must as an add-on to a 3+ day safari in the delta.....but not something to be done as a stand alone. The holiday relief manager from Zimbabwe, Milo, was a great host, Dabe our guide was excellent, Weda was charming and otherwise everything was great.

A shame that for two nights we were the only guests there - but it would have been worse having the camp full of HNWI Americans (all had of course cancelled because of Ebola in Africa!!!)." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Loved the meerkats"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"We chose this camp to see the habituated meerkats. Happily, we were successful with one even crawling onto my husband's head. The group contained 9 members.
The camp is lovely. There is a waterhole just in front of the camp where many zebra, wildebeest, and birds frequently came to drink. There was also a large bull elephant and a brown hyena.

I found the quad bikes fun. The pans were amazing. As many others have said, the scenery is quite different.
The game is quite sparse in November. We were lucky enough to see 2 lionesses and 2 cubs.
It was a little disturbing to see cattle mingling with the wildlife.
I would recommend the day with the bushman--very interesting.

I think 2 nights is probably enough. The night under the stars was not an option--I suspect too much potential for rain. We had a great time, but I am not sure it is worth the cost compared to the other camps if we hadn't wanted to see the meerkats, at least during the off season." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms T
Arizona

"Jack's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"Jack's camp was a museum but we experienced some long walks to our tent. Not a big problem but would not want to do this in the summer months there!

Some of our people on the tour felt a bit disappointed in the number of Meerkats but you cannot manufacture their presence.

Their pool area was very nice and evenings by the fire especially relaxing." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"For Meerkats only"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"The only reason to come here is to see and experience the Meerkats. Getting a photo with one of the Meerkats on your head is a fabulous experience even if the clan was only 4 in number when we visited.

We felt that everything else on offer was just fill in around visiting the Meerkat clan.

We did not enjoy the camp greatly, this goes for management, food etc except for Sheila who was delightful. Did not care for the paraffin lamps either as the fumes from them are quite suffocating

Quad biking was fun!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Worthwhile different experience at Jack's"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"Transfer from Selinda, via Maun, to Jack's was fairly gruelling. We stopped at Chobe then at Jao, arriving at Maun only after 90 mins. Efficient transfer at Maun, then nearly an hour to Jack's. (If we had known this was likely we might have booked private transfers.) This meant we were about 2 hours later at Jack's than expected. Welcome tea and cakes were ready for us.

Again, an excellent management team. Our guide was Chabba - very experienced, although could have consulted us more about our preferences. He gave an excellent introductory talk about Makgadikgadi. I celebrated a big birthday while here, and got my wish for a meerkat sitting on my head (plus 8 others on various other parts of my anatomy). The staff put on a wonderful "cabaret" for my birthday dinner, plus a chocolate cake. The Bushmen took A on a very interesting walk.

An enjoyable stay although very little "game" - porcupines, jackals, a few wildebeest, ostriches, korhaan. The quad bike drive was interesting. Sundowners were wonderful under the clear, enormous, sky alight with stars. Worthwhile visiting Jack's for a very different aspect of Botswana. However, like Selinda, I would have much appreciated better lighting in the tent." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
89%
23 reviews of Jack's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
8
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


93% (45 reviews)
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (30 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


85% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa