This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari

Reviews of Camp Kalahari

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kalahari and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kalahari.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

38% success

Wild dog

0% success

Meerkat

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

93% success

Elephant

80% success

Brown Hyena

43% success

Oryx

25% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

14% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2022
"A fantastic experience: excellent on all fronts. Terrain so different.

Very different activities: quadbiking and dining out but you have to go in order to experience them all!

Our guide Declerc enthusiastic, determined and full of humour. We expressed our appreciation for the whole experience to the manager Olga.

Only slight issue (and its very minor) is we found the lighting in our tent a little dim." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2022
"CK was lovely. The staff were very friendly and professional.

The food was excellent and the tents very comfortable although the zips weren't nearly as convenient as the sliding doors at the other camps.

We had some amazing experiences. Particular favourites were the quad biking on the salt pans and the morning spent with the Meerkats (this was our kids' must see!)" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2022
"The camp was just as I expected, not top of the range but very good.

More game than expected, especially Wildebeest and Zebra and the Mere Cats a delight.

Sleepout night disappointing as cold and windy and bit cloudy, evening of arrival not best time to do it as we had been travelling for 24hours and very tired.

Guide De Clerk was excellent and taught us much about the Bushmen." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Camp Kalahari review Good for meerkats"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2022
"For those taking part in all the activities (eg quad bikes ) it was a great place and they had an amazing time..

In contrast to our other camps it seemed a bit unprofessional and disorganised. Difficult to get info on timings etc if not taking part in the full package.

Tent lighting quite poor - you need a good torch or preferably a head torch as no bedside lighting. Communal charging points but plenty of them. Need to ensure you get to see one of the larger colonies of meerkats as we would only have seen 4 until we pushed to visit a larger group.

Saw a number of other animals not on the list (honey badger, bat-ear fox mongoose etc)" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Andy & Karen
Malvern

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2022
"This camp may be the least 'glamorous' of the three on the concession but for us it was a perfect balance of comfort and safari experience, with some fantastic wildlife viewing thrown in.
The tents / rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and well spaced out to give you a sense of being in the bush. The lounge and dining tent is a great space to relax or chat, and the food really was excellent.
The staff were amongst the most welcoming and friendly of all our many stays in Africa, and it was they that give it a homely feel whilst hitting consistently high standards of service. We loved the friendly banter that fills the airwaves between the vehicles from the different camps.
The wildlife sightings exceeded our expectations - good game, lion, the fattest jackel I have ever seen and a very special time with the meerkats. Plus we saw Brown Hyena which was a first for us. Lots of nocturnal critters on the night drives. The camp also offers walks and quad biking for a variety of experience.
This really opened our eyes to the possibilities of the Kalahari and Makgadikgadi, so we will look to return one day." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Florida

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"This camp was so different from any of the other camps/lodges we had been to.

I was actually surprised at how much wildlife we did see! The general staff was so friendly and welcoming! Our guide, Laps was so funny and knowledgeable. Our first sundowner he brought out a map to show us where we were in relation to the rest of Botswana. It was great getting a visual lesson on the area!

Very Cold nights once again, but the bush babies saved the day, or night as it was!!! Our tent was very comfortable and during the day we actually needed the fan.

The activities at Camp Kalihari are amazing, Quad biking, the Meerkat Experience and walking with the Sand people was such an incredible experience!!!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs P
Netherlands

"Unique experience in a very friendly camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2022
"I am absolutely thrilled that I decided to include de Makghadikgadi Salt Pans in my itinerary . The place is mesmerizing and of course there are the meerkats ! Staff at Camp Kalahari is very friendly and pleasant. And the rooms are very, very much ok ! Anyhow, the activities are the same as in the other 2 camps (San and Jack's camp), as well as the food /menu apparently.

The Camp did everything possible to accommodate my wishes, which were known beforehand because Expert Africa had informed the camp about what I would like to see or (not) do. So thank you for that Expert Africa ! As my main reason for the visit were the meerkats I had booked a private and it absolutely paid off. Camp manager Olga and guide Ngave looked for all possible time slots to be with the meerkats. And still have the food waiting for me.

People tempt to come here for the nocturnals (I had an excellent sighting of a very chubby aardvark and an excellent daylight sighing of a brown hyena ) and the meerkats, but the environment is very special as well. As the rains had come late, the place was still full of wildebeest and zebra. Because it was still relatively wet, the overnight stay out at the pans was not possible yet (and the temporary camp not yet constructed)." See all these reviews: 20n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Meerkat

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr K
California

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2022
"This area of Botswana is very interesting a contrast to the more densely wooded areas to the north. The pans are awesome to see. The camp was close to perfect. Our chalet had everything we needed. There were just 2 small light bulbs, since they are off the grid. Bringing a head lamp will be helpful.

The staff was excellent, friendly, helpful, the food wonderful. We had dinner with some of the staff and guides and were able to chat with them over our meals, something we didn't experience elsewhere on our trip. Our guide was somewhat new on the job and appeared unsure at times but overall she was excellent.

There were quite a few mosquitos during our stay early in the dry season but with repellant we were able to avoid bites effectively. We could not stop smiling during our visit to the meerkats who climbed on our heads! Other wildlife was quite plentiful including large herds of wildebeest and zebras, an aardwolf, honey badger, many birds." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Meerkat

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr P M & family
UK

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2022
"This was the final stop on our trip and we are so pleased we visited this camp. We wanted a contrast from the delta areas and this was completely different. We expected the area to be very arid but were pleasantly surprised that there was a fair amount of grass and water around. There were also large herds of zebra and wildebeest. The landscapes and sunsets are spectacular.

The camp itself was comfortable, although more basic than the camps we had previously visited. Our only negative experiences were the amount of mosquitoes and the poor quality and lack of choice for the food.

We originally feared that the trip to see the meerkats and bushmen might be a little touristy but they were both excellent - do them if you get the chance. Our relatively young guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about this area and this contributed to our positive experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Meerkat

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms H
Zurich

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2022
"The meerkats experience was absolutely fantastic. We were lucky to see two mother meerkats with six baby meerkats.
There was still quite a lot of water in the pans, so we saw lots of flamingos.
The camp itself is quite unique, with colonial style furniture.
Friendly, attentive staff, good food." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Camp Kalahari by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
7
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (32 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


89% (24 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (15 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


83% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)
Migration Expeditions

Migration Expeditions

A seasonal safari camp in Nxai Pan National Park focussed on the area's annual zebra migration.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa