This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena
Meno A Kwena

Reviews of Meno A Kwena

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Meno A Kwena and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C
Harvest

"Better than I expected"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2016
"You really can not beat the view of the Boteti river.

The staff was very accommodating." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"great"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family K
London

"Meno A Kwena review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"We stopped here for one night, and arrived late (no fault of anyone at this camp) which was a shame as we did not really have a chance to enjoy the camp or surroundings.

I can feedback that this camp is in a great location - we had fabulous views from both tents and from the communal areas. The food was fantastic, as was the open air kitchen.

The camp's attempt to minimise the environmental impact gives one plenty to think about. Seeing someone carry water for your shower helps us appreciate what we take for granted elsewhere.

We spent the evening in the company of a family who did not get clear directions to the camp. We had been sent some very specific details which we followed closely (we also surveyed the route on Google Earth). We had no problem at all. This was helped by having a 4WD." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
rullesteg
Switzerland

"Mixed impression at Meno A Kwena"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"The camp is beautiful, everything feels like it has been lovingly and minutely designed - which I suppose it has.

The location struck us as both great and less than ideal. Great, because the camp sits 30m above a river used by lots of animals, allowing for superb game viewing while sitting in the shade with a cold beer. Less than ideal because it takes half an hour by car to get to the start of the actual game drives - not a particularly exciting half hour on the highway, that is.

David Dugmore, the owner and manager of the camp, struck us as rather more interested in his friends than in his guests. While we didn't really expect him to hold our hand all the time we stayed at his camp, it did bother us that we weren't asked what we would like to do, but simply presented with the program - which amounted to one game drive per day. This meant we were back at the camp at around 2.30 one day and around 3.30 the other - and that was it for that day.

We had a little discussion with David about walks. While we agreed that a guide with a gun, but without the proper training, is worse than a guide without a gun, we weren't happy with the idea of going on a walking safari with an unarmed guide. David then told us that, no matter what, the following day the program would be a drive anyway, no walk. And that was that.

Our guide, Max, was superb and equipped with a quirky sense of humor - and apparently the only guide the camp has at the moment. The first day, we drove off at 6am, with the idea of having breakfast in the bush. Which was fine, except for some reason we only had breakfast at 10.45 (our own fault to some degree: we should have piped up, I suppose, instead of just waiting for Max to finally stop for the food).

The second day, we had breakfast in the camp and started the drive at 7.30 - presumably, because it was supposed to be an all-day drive. In retrospect, we don't think this is a good way to organized the day - it's too late to start, and visibly exhausting both for the guide and for us." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
Ottershaw

"Meno A Kwena review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2010
"Oh my, what a wonderful place this is and the staff are just as lovely. Ursula is there to develop customer service and is certainly succeding. The promotional material available does not refelct the perfection of this little jewel in Botswana. Without doubt this was the most comfortable bed I slept in on the whole trip. Every artefact is placed to create an atmosphere an ambience that is natural and such a treat for the senses.

I was blessed with being looked after on my safari trips with Max and Steve, what a team. Faultless! Thank you boys for such a fantastic time, I love you both. We saw some fantastic game and a herd of 23 giraffes at one time and a line of 13 bull elephants walking down to the water and then watched them play and frolic. It was absolute heaven.

The communal dinning may not be to everyone's style but I thought it was great because travel is also about meeting new people. The food was amazing and it is served on BIG plates!

I visited the local community project and school with Janaina which was a real treat. Meno A Kwena's whole ethos is to work with the local community through the Water for Life Project so it was important to me to see this first hand. Meeting the four members in the arts and crafts project was great. I have a lovely necklace made for me by Ishmael as a lasting momento.

I wish I had stayed for longer at this camp and definately want to go back again, it felt like home!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
BC, Canada

"Meno A Kwena review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2008
"The location is 45 minutes from the main entrance to the park. This meant a long drive just to start game viewing. However, it did give us a good opportunity to the villages and the farms. We would not have seen these otherwise. The accommodation was acceptable but not good. It is very unnerving to walk to the loo in the night. This is totally unacceptable and should be corrected.

The lounge area was very pleasant with an excellent atmosphere. The fact that David was there to talk to was a huge plus!. He should keep his brother, Roger, there as much as possible. There are a great combination of truly authentic safari guides.

Allow us to say that the food was outstanding. It was varied, fresh and expertly cooked. We came to realize just how good the food was when we visited subsequent camps where the food was boring and sometimes poorly cooked. Pity we went to Meno first and not last.

Max, our guide, was fun to be with. He handled both the spotting and the guiding by himself and was excellent at both. We came to wonder later on why the other camps needed 2 people to do these functions." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Superb camp at Meno A Kwena"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"A very satisfying wilderness experience. We were priveleged to be in accommodation directly above a waterhole giving unusual views of the wildlife from above. There is a roomy hide on the cliff face down a difficult path, (not for the faint hearted) allowing an even better and closer game viewing experience.

Tasty food seved as a buffet but disappointingly for me, chicken curry.

We had a very good,informative guide, Max, and a good game drive to the Makgadagadi.

Although it is personal preference, we are not happy when forced to eat at one table with the other guests, but here the English-speaking were put together." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Serval
Ottawa

"Laid back, prehaps a little too much."

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2008
"The Tent was excellent, staff were helpful but not particularly friendly (english may have a problem for some - I often recieved only a nod in response to my comment or question).

Often staff did not know when things (dinner, guided walk) were going to begin or end - just approximations. Don't worry be happy seemed to be the camp philosophy.

The location of the camp is scenic - on an elevated river bank of a dried-up river with a combustion pump filled water hole below - probably should be replaced by a noiseless solar arrangement.

The sleep out on the salt pan is run by another lodge - Gweta, that were friendly and professional.

I had asked for it on 2nd last day so I would have a day to recover before flying home but Meno A Kwena ran it on my last night which resulted in a a marathon journey home starting from an isolated salt pan requiring an hour of rough trail to just to reach paved roads, then 2 hours to the airport.

I would of liked a day trip to the kalahari. The Boteti "river" was mostly a series of artificailly sustained water holes attracting wildlife." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Crowned plovers
NL

"Meno A Kwena review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2008
"Very interesting camp. Good staff - our guide Dabe was excellent. A very interesting man full of knowledge and very proud of being San. We had fascinating conversations about his community near Ghanzi and he edited for me the section on the San in Chris McIntyre's excellent Botswana (a really very good guide book). If Chris wishes to discuss this please ask him to call Adrian - the relevant part of the book is where Chris discusses the difficulty of naming the San appropriately (a good and very sympathetic section which I enjoyed).

When booking I had formed the impression that the camp was on the edge of the Pans so was slightly disappointed not to repeat the experience I had 10 years ago of being on the Pans themselves. But Dabe more than made up for this disappointment.
We wish we had longer at Meno." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Kinross

"Great tented camp experience at Meno A Kwena"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2008
"Even though we were struggling with the loss of our luggage, we really enjoyed the experience of being at this camp. Couldn't have asked for a better first camp to visit. The situation in the Kalahari; the location at the water hole; the laid-back atmosphere and friendly staff were exactly as we would have wanted. Our guide, Max, was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful at all times, and accommodated our requests.

The trip to the saltpans with the folks from Gweta Lodge was an added bonus, and one we would recommend to anyone.

Please pass on our thanks to David and Geoff for their help in locating our luggage and keeping us informed about what was happening." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 12
83%
12 reviews of Meno A Kwena by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


93% (45 reviews)
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (30 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


90% (21 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa