This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Lancashire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

self-drive trip through Namibia and Kgalagadi

Namibia and 1 other country between 3 Sep 2010 and 27 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our 2010 Africa trip was the latest in a succession of memorable trips arranged by Expert Africa. Each trip has brought a new experience relived again through our films, photos and my diary. This year's highlight just had to be the bushcamp experience at Dolomite Point. I have to praise the dedication and hard work which was shown by Abel, Jeraboam, Victor andJoseph. They made a superb team. I know it was only a temporary camp and will not be repeated but it was surreal.

This year was our 9th fly-drive visit to Namibia and 2nd to the Kgalagadi. We still believe there is no better place to see wildlife than Namibia closely followed by Botswana. If there is an increase in retirement pensions in April we'll be booking another trip!!

Thank you Expert Africa. You're the best tour operator we've found - scrupulously thorough and helpful.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

How can you improve on perfection?"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"A lovely relaxing place to stay for one night. There is a resident springbok and oryx allowing an unusual opportunity for a close encounter.

The food here is excellent and meals are taken at separate tables, I am delighted to say."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2010
"The new border post at Mata Mata is an absolute pleasure.Friendly and super efficient staff. Our tent had a good view of the waterhole but quite a distance away.

The bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. The separate kitchen tent had everything you could need. If there is a problem, the warden calls every day and is always helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"Very comfortable chalet accommodation.

Sitting out in the evening this year was eerily quiet. There was no hum of activity as people prepared their barbecues and I missed that. However there is a shop, restaurant and fuel station."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"This tent was shabbier than the one we had earlier. There was a hole in the floor where a piece of the floorboard had fallen through, which I pointed out to the warden and no stick to close the air vents.

It was at this waterhole we saw a lone cheetah."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"There are only four double rooms here so we felt fortunate that the other guests were so friendly. Each room has a private sitting area overlooking the waterhole. We stayed only one night here but saw two lions, who had eyes only for each other and a leopard.

The warden is always on site and ever watchful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"We arrived back here before 10am but according to the very young boy in charge, the tents were booked up and wouldn't you know we were back in the shabby tent, complete with the hole in the floor and missing air-vent stick.

On reporting it, this time the floor was mended quickly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"This place is in town close to a supermarket and the banks. It has a luxury feel about it. Very clean and smart. There is a central lawned area with tables and chairs where you can sit with a drink in the sun.

The restaurant runs efficiently and the food is delicious."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"The room was comfortable and suitable for an overnight stop. There was coffee and cookies on request. It's a very pretty place but not a great deal to do other than visit the nearby copper mine.

Meals are taken around one table, so if the other guests are all the same nationality, conversation can be limited or non-existent."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2010
"Only 15 minutes drive from Sossusvlei gate this lodge has everything you want and more.There is an outdoor bathroom-bliss - or indoor if you wish.We got the warmest welcome ever and treated more like friends than guests. Fresh milk was put in our fridge for the coffee machine instead of the powdered variety and also a breakfast pack for our Sossusvlei trip.

Even the troublesome tailgate lock on the 4x4 was mended for us.

I urge you to give this place a try. You'll be glad you did. At least 2 nights.

Tomas is a star!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"Recently very nicely modernised,yet it still retains the cottage feel. The neat self-contained cottages are behind a locked gate.

I love staying here as it's so easy to walk to the shops and restaurant at night.

The breakfast is also updated and warm food is now offered as a choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"Clean,comfortable rooms and lovely food served (hooray) at separate tables. A very friendly atmosphere.There is a waterhole with a hide by the swimming pool much favored by the elephants, but for the more enthusiastic viewer, one of the staff will drive you down to a more distant waterhole with a hide raised high above the ground. This one is visited by a wider variety of animals.

Book well in advance to ensure a night in the tree house. An experience not to be missed.

Thank you, Steve and Louise for your kindness during our stay with you. You are excellent hosts. We always try to book 2-3 nights with you on our trips."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Very good ,comfortable ,clean chalet. A large kitchen with cutlery and pans but nothing to warm the pans! No cooking facilities whatsoever. And nowhere to put the suitcases- except the floor.

The waterhole is a good one but does get busy-with people that is. Don't think you've missed anything if all the smart seats are occupied. The stone seats have been warmed by the sun and keep you warm all evening.

No ATM yet either in Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"Very nice and clean room. No cooking facilities. Curtains on the bedroom windows would be useful!

Nowhere to put the suitcases.

A good waterhole but very uneven rocks to negotiate in the dark."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"A very pleasant place for an overnight stop. Lovely happy people and ever helpful. We had a very close up view of white rhino with calves on a game drive.

There are some unusual animals here, at least, I'd not seen any. Black springbok and white blesbok."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Another excellent trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 17 Sep 2008 and 9 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We always enjoy our trips that you organise, but this year, in particular, we felt that it was your influence that got us the choice accommodation sites at the camps and lodges. Especially the Mukwae. We couldn't be so lucky all the time.

We appreciate the time and effort you must put in to find the camps that we would like."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Very pleasant intermediate stop-off"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Overall an agreeable lodge.We appreciated the private patio at the rear of the chalet, which also allowed a very personal viewing of animals visiting the waterhole. The food was first class although, as a vegetarian, I was disappointed that there was no alternative to the chicken dinner on the second night.

On the game drive,we were rather discontented that, in the rear of the vehicle, we were unable to hear the driver's comments. We were fortunate that the other passengers, a Dutch couple, relayed the dialogue to us.

We both felt that the owner, Barney,(?) really did not want to be involved with the guests."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Very good for a one night stopover"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"The hotel was less smart than expected but was conveniently placed in the town centre.The external air-con unit was placed dangerously at head height. However, any shortcomings were outweighed by the tea-making facilities in the room, secure parking, TV and air conditioning, friendly, helpful staff and really excellent food.

The waiter, Aobakwe, was extremely obliging and, amazingly, appeared to be running the restaurant single-handedly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

"Superb camp at Meno A Kwena"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"A very satisfying wilderness experience. We were priveleged to be in accommodation directly above a waterhole giving unusual views of the wildlife from above. There is a roomy hide on the cliff face down a difficult path, (not for the faint hearted) allowing an even better and closer game viewing experience.

Tasty food seved as a buffet but disappointingly for me, chicken curry.

We had a very good,informative guide, Max, and a good game drive to the Makgadagadi.

Although it is personal preference, we are not happy when forced to eat at one table with the other guests, but here the English-speaking were put together."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Planet Baobab

"A good place for one night at Planet Baobab"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"Tasty food and several vegetarian options, although we did not get what we ordered it was good food.

Comfortable round chalets but tricky to find in the dark. A quiet peaceful place away from the main lodge."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Highly recommended for a mini-break"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Having the best room on the boat made these two days the highlight of the entire holiday for me. The food was excellent and the rooms cleaned and tidied very discreetly. I cannot praise the crew too highly.They were all exceptionally polite, attentive and always very smartly dressed. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We would have enjoyed a little more time actually travelling on the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge is the friendliest lodge ever."

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"We believe we had the best room here, with a private balcony allowing views over the lovely garden and river. The management team were friendly and eager to please. Happily going to any lengths to spoil their guests, even joining us for meals on our private outdoor table.

We were treated more like valued friends than paying guests. The food and service were top class and the tea making equipment in the room was very much appreciated.

We took an enjoyable river trip with Bevan, a polite and informative guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Expect little and you won't be disappointed."

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"+9In contrast to The Garden Lodge this camp was one of our less enjoyable experiences.

We arrived at lunchtime hot and tired.Tea was ordered for us but after a considerable wait we were brought strong coffee. Although I was assured that the kitchen staff were aware that I am vegetarian, I was served meat at each meal.

We booked a morning game drive, and after travelling 15 minutes the driver was called back to camp as the manager had forgotten to tell the driver there were another four guests booked on it. We were allowed extra time to compensate and it was a very good drive. John, the driver, who also doubled as the waiter and barman, was a very competent guide. However, on returning to camp, the six of us sat down at table together for lunch.

My order of cheese and tomato toastie and tea arrived as ham, cheese and tomato with a good deal of raw carrot chunks, and coffee, which I sent back. By the time my meal arrived I was eating alone as everyone else had finished. At dinner, having been served meat yet again,the plate was taken away and returned only with the meat removed, leaving just rice, carrots and green beans. All of which are very nice but make a very unexciting meal.

In my opinion the camp needs more enthusiastic management and certainly supervision."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"A very friendly atmosphere at Nkwazi"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"The accommodation here was a newly built brick cottage by the river quite a way from the main lodge. Although not quite finished the newly tiled bathroom was beautifully decorated.

The food was very good and served as a buffet. Nkwazi has a happy, serene atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"A very pleasant easygoing camp"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2008
"A very agreeable place to stay and convenient for Etosha Park. There is a raised seating area with comfortable seats where you can sit with a gin to look over the waterhole. The reception area also has a useful shop with postcards and stamps, which seemed to be in short supply up to this point. Julia, the charming receptionist also offered to post my cards for me, for which the lodge went up further in my estimation.

The food was good and the waiters amiable and obliging.

We felt very welcome here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Any Etosha camp is worthy of a long stay"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"The circular chalet we were in had lovely comfortable rooms but lacked curtains. There were no cooking facilities but still we had a kettle and basic crockery and cutlery.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the chef made excellent omelettes for breakfast.

The waterhole has a large seating area and never fails to draw rhinos at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Otjibamba

"Good stop off place - Otjibamba Country Lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"A very comfortable room with TV and air-con. There was a small sitting area at the back looking on to the pool and the animals. A self-drive or a walk through their private game park is an option.

The shop was only opened when the owner was on site. This was the first time in fourteen years of holidaying in Africa that a lodge refused to confirm our flights. Otherwise I would have said the service was excellent.

Although this is a very pleasant place to stay, one night is enough."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team