This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp


26°28’21.1"S 20°36’43.8"E

Reviews of Twee Rivieren

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twee Rivieren and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twee Rivieren.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Meerkat

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Good time at Twee Rivieren"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Lovely room, a bit away from the others, giving us some privacy.

One small issue was that one of the bedrooms had a resident bat.
The kids found it mighty interesting that the bat would poop on their beds, but didn't want to share the room with it.
Otherwise, the chalet was fine." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr DB
N London

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2018
"Fairly basic facilities but a good way to start a Kalahari trip" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Government run"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"Twee Rivieren seems to be trying to smarten itself up. The chalet was pretty good, quite large, and in working order. It had half an outlook. The camp was generally in shipshape order. The reception was good. The restaurant was fine, unexciting, more interested in paperwork than service, but you could get a square meal there. It's breakfast hours don't fit very well with morning game viewing. It is closed at lunchtime, replaced by a burger and chips kiosk. The shop was basic and limited, but reasonable.

You wouldn't recommend Twee Rivieren. It is too institutional and bureaucratic, but it is OK for a Transfrontier visit. There are two options for game viewing; heading north towards Nossob (fine near waterholes, but blank in many other patches), or heading west towards Mata Mata (fine once you get into the Aoub Valley after about 20km)

We didn't use any of the activities." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable camp in lovely game park"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"A great experience in a lovely game park with wonderful birds and good views.

The camp is used mainly as a first stop on the way into the park but we stayed for four nights and found loads to do. Game viewing was good - we followed lions for about a kilometer one morning and saw two Martial Eagles and a very bright yellow Cape Cobra crossing the road in from of the car- some way from the lodge.

We had hoped guided walks would be available - sadly not because of a shortage of guides, but we had a very good time anyway.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and whilst the food was good, it lacked atmosphere so we self catered the remaining nights - buying supplies from the well-stocked camp shop. Next time we would stay at the other camps with shops but no restaurant as the facilities are so good." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2017
"Our second visit to Twee Rivieren on this trip and my comments remain as earlier." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"The best base for your trip to the Kalagadi"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"SAN Parks have upped their game at Kgalagadi. From Reception at Twee Rivieren, onward, the visitor experience is a good one. Everything is clean, works and is well maintained in the rest camps. The staff are invariably courteous and friendly.

Twee Rivieren shop is the best in the Park. You can stock up there on essentials for the wilderness camps with those things you've forgotten to get in Upington. The restaurant is unique in the Park and should be experienced. There is also a kiosk for takeaways which seems mostly to be used by staff and building and maintenance workers. It's cheap and can provide the toasted ham, cheese and tomato sandwich of fond memory from visits to other SAN parks.

Before you leave, top up your fuel and inflate/deflate your tyres at the filling station. There, too, service and facilities have improved since our last visit two years ago." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
R & J
Edinburgh

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"A perfectly good place to stop off at the beginning of a Kgalagadi trip.

Nice clean chalet and a decent restaurant (though my vegetarian platter turned into a venison pie). We actually saw a huge amount of wildlife whilst driving around on our day here, including a meerkat colony.

We went on organised morning and evening drives and saw many animals including wildcat, genet and cape fox." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Good starting point for Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2015
"Nice cottage, well maintained. Kind reception at arrival to Twee Rivieren. Polite staff.

You can buy quite a lot of basic groceries in the shop including meat.

OK restaurant and fine little pool. Good place to start the trip." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2015
"Comfortable although not luxurious self catering. Good facilities in accommodation.

Basic facilities in the camp. Good location for game viewing." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Dorset

"A good final stop"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"Whilst you could easily combine an early morning game drive from Mata Mata with a drive back to Uppington we had decided to spend our final night in Twee Rivieren. This enabled us to enjoy the morning and the drive down to Twee Rivieren without feeling any time pressure.

Our evening game drive culminated in watching a pride of lions marching to and drinking from the waterhole just outside the camp. Our morning game drive had the excitement of seeing 5 cheetahs (a mother and 4 grown up cubs). This put the icing on the cake for our visit to the park." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 30
82%
30 reviews of Twee Rivieren by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
16
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

The only private lodge within the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with full board and activities, !Xaus Lodge is a good base from which to explore the Kalahari.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp, with the self-catering accommodation housed in reed and canvas chalets; it's an unusual but comfortable base from which to explore the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa