This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp


26°28’21.1"S 20°36’43.8"E

Reviews of Twee Rivieren

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twee Rivieren and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twee Rivieren.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Meerkat

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Dorset

"Comfortable camp with good facilities"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"The chalet allocated was good. As this was our first entry into the park we had to go through the formalities of park entry and obtain our permit. This was easily done although I suspect if you arrived at a busy time there would be some delay.

We booked a sunset drive which was excellent value for money. We left the rest camp at 1800 returning at 2100 which covered about 90 mins before sunset with the rest being a night drive. There was lots of night activity and the guide was extremely knowledgeable. At the time if you self drove you had to be back into the park by 1900 so you do see things you wouldn't on your own.

On our first game drive we took the Mata Mata road. Unfortunately we saw next to no game along this route and indeed every subsequent time we drove this route for the first 20 km along the road from Twee Rivieren we saw no game. We may have just been unlucky but we had superb sightings along the Nossob road so would recommend starting with that route unless current information indicates to the contrary. There is a sightings board next to the shop which is always worth a quick look before setting out.

The restaurant at the rest camp was excellent. You book a table at the shop." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"One Meerkat Safari !!"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2015
"After a long day of travelling we were not sure what to expect at Twee Rivieren - the first of our National Parks self catering accommodation . What a pleasant surprise! We were greeted in reception by a lady with a big smile who was very helpful and pleasant. When we asked about the timings for our drive the following day she handed us over to a Ranger who gave us advice about the varying road conditions and timings for various parts of our travels through Kgalagadi . He also kindly gave us a few tips about the 4WD system on the Toyota Hilux.

We were directed to our accommodation no. 25 - a family unit.! The 2 twin bedded bedrooms were air conditioned, there were 2 further beds in the 'living room' and a well equipped kitchen area ( with a double hob but no oven ) and , of course, shower and toilet facilities. It was very clean and comfortable - so much better than we had anticipated.

We decide to eat at the, on site, restaurant where we had a very nice meal ( enormous portions!) . At the time we felt service was a little slow but in retrospect it was the we hadn't quite switched into Africa mode - slower pace of life and so much nicer than the frenetic lives we live in the U.K.

After a good nights sleep we awoke early , refuelled the vehicle , shopped at the well stocked shop for the bits that I had failed to purchase in Uppington . Collected our park permit from the gate - all permits are kept overnight by park officials," See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Harrow

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jan 2015
"We had the same chalet twice. It was spacious. It was in reasonable condition, adequately equipped and clean.

At Twee Rivieren electricity is available 24hrs a day. There is airconditioning in the chalets. The shop is open for most of the day.

We tried the restaurant for one evening meal. The meal was good and the restaurant itself was pleasant (and very different from the park board restaurant of some decades ago)." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Good launch pad for safari in Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"Our luxury chalet was located at the far end of the accommodation at Twee Rivieren overlooking the campsite. It's fairly new, and so it is well kitted out, comfortable and having all mod cons.

The restaurant was uncrowded and food from the simple menu was generally well cooked and so can be recommended as the best in Kgalagadi (OK, it's the only one.)

Use the shop as well. It has the widest range of stock in the park." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"Quite acceptable for a state restcamp with reasonable courtesy from all staff.

Food very acceptable in the circumstances although breakfast left a little to be desired." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2014
"As before. [Ed: See below] The tire pressure pump had been fixed." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2014
"Comfortable, basic accommodations.

The gas station was not able to adjust our tires here due to broken equipment. This meant an uncomfortable ride to Matamata." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp - a good start."

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"We just used TR Rest Camp for our first night after all the traveling we did ( Lisbon/Madrid - LHR- JHB - Upington - KTP). Entrance into the Park was straight forward, without any complications. People at the reception were helpful and informative. The official information guide is worth buying at the reception desk.The shop at the camp, although basic, was well stocked on basic and convenient items like water, drinks, bread, milk, canned and frozen food etc. Fresh vegetables were understandably not seen.

The rooms seemed clean, very well equipped and comfortable.
The restaurant was simple and the quality of food was average. Service was attentive.

Although they offered some activities (night/ late afternoon game drives), which by the way seemed popular, we did not hire those services." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs VDK
France

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2011
"There are several points to highlight about this experience. We were in Family Cottage 26, a large thatched roof chalet. Unfortunately this cottage had/has a bat which became active during the night and needless to say disturbed our ability to get a good night's rest.

Our second concern relates both to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park itself and Twee Rivieren. We write about these together as it seems they share the same administrative staff. Our welcome to the Park was perfunctory and no information was provided either by the person who received us, nor by any of the displays visible.

We had to inquire if there was a park guide." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 30
82%
30 reviews of Twee Rivieren by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
16
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (29 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (14 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge mixes guided wildlife safaris with very good community interactions, suiting those who prefer not to drive and cater for themselves.


98% (11 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan is a basic self-catering camp in the Kgalagadi's central dune-field; it suits experienced self-drivers comfortable with remote travel.


82% (11 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


96% (9 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi, this makes a good base near to the park if you're arriving late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa