This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp


26°11’0.9"S 20°35’32.0"E

Reviews of Kielie Krankie Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kielie Krankie Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Toronto

"New comfortable cabins and desert beauty"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"These cabins are very new. They are perched up on red dunes and have beautiful views of the sand, grasses, horizon below, and the magnificent sunsets. They are extremely comfortable and built so that one is quite warm even on cold June nights.

Be careful of puff adders as one walks to one’s cabin from the car. The attendant skillfully removed one in our path with a special stick, which was fascinating to watch.

The water hole is very far so it is difficult to see the game and there isn’t very much game there. However one is just a few kilometers from the game-rich road between Urikaruus and Mata Mata." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Proper Dunescape!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Another super camp we stayed at. The view from the deck is amazing.

One really has to be there to feel the vastness of desertscape. The sunrise and sunset are truly amazing. If these weren't amazing enough, as it gets dark the chattering of barking geckos adds a different dimension to it, and the then finale comes in the form of the Milky Way when it is really dark. It is something so difficult to describe but it has to be seen to be able to feel the effect of stardust: it's beyond magical!

We will stay here any time!

Food / activities n/a" See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dale & Sue
Sleaford

"Great setting on Kalahari dune"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2016
"Kieliekrankie is set in the heart of the Kalahari atop of one of the highest dunes. It's a great setting, with wide vistas of the rippling Kalahari dunefield and overlooking a waterhole.

The chalets are well designed and sit unobtrusively as possible in the local environment. Each has a raised deck out front which is great for watching the incredible skies in the evening and the sunrise in the morning. Probably the best view of the milky way we have ever seen.

The waterhole didn't attract a huge amount of large animals during our three night stay, but the local pair of Steenbok put in regular appearances. However, the surrounding bushes and shrubs teem with birds, many of which populated the bush adjacent to our deck and seemed unconcerned about our presence. Great for photography.

Jacque, The camp warden was very friendly and helpful kept the camp absolutely spotless." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 May 2016
"We stayed for 4 nights and this camp remains one of our favourite camps. Great location ." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Superb views over the red dunescape"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"After Bitterpan and Gharagab, this is an upmarket wilderness camp.

Well cared for by the ranger and having a stunning outlook. Game was scarce when we were there but we were told a leopard was there a day before. Good facilities, well maintained and a convenient location. Easily accessible.

No air con so it will be hot in summer but the chalets are clean and well planned." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Kielie Krankie - Stunning location"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"We spent just one night at Kielie Krankie and we could not have a better farewell to the Kalahari.

The camp is superbly located, the cabins are immaculate fitted and designed into the surroundings and extremely comfortable. A huge balcony overlooking the waterhole down the red sand dunes gave us a superb view. The landscape, the barking geckos and the jackals visiting the waterhole at dawn were magical.

This is a "serious" base for exploring the southern part of the park itself. The guard (we do not remember his name) was very friendly, helpful and attentive." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"We really had no idea what to expect - the waterhole was so far away that we wouldn't have seen a lot, and there was only one steenbok to visit for the whole night - however, it was wonderful to be there - the accommodation was much better than we had expected with all mod cons, even though the water failed in the morning, it did eventually come on and we were able to shower before we left - we had been warned that the electricity might fail, but that was not a problem.

The views were stunning and to have our first experience of waking to the sunrise was beautiful." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2008
"Nice location not a lot going on!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Showing 1-8 of 8
93%
8 reviews of Kielie Krankie Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

The Kgalagadi's largest restcamp, Twee Rivieren is the centre for the park's administration, and an obvious stop for food and fuel for self-driving visitors.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge mixes guided wildlife safaris with very good community interactions, suiting those who prefer not to drive and cater for themselves.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan is a basic self-catering camp in the Kgalagadi's central dune-field; it suits experienced self-drivers comfortable with remote travel.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi, this makes a good base near to the park if you're arriving late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa