This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp


25°42’58.8"S 20°24’12.0"E

Reviews of Bitterpan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bitterpan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
R & J
Edinburgh

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"Very nice little camp with view of salt pan. Well equipped clean kitchen (use this to store food in rather than your room because there are a lot of striped back mice around).

Beautiful, remote area - not a great deal of wildlife though we did see eland. Very challenging one-way drive in, and optionally out again - which we chose to do, and were rewarded with a male lion right by the road.

NB the viewing tower is no longer operational." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2016
"A good camp for one night and the road into the camp is very enjoyable as is the road to Mata Mata.

We were also fortunate to have a sighting on the salt pan of two male lions prior to sunset." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Dorset

"Not a recommended stop"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"After our time at Gharagab we arrived at Bitterpan with high expectations. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. Due to a leak in the waterhole it was only being filled every 3 days. Fortunately we arrived on the day it had been filled and there was some game. However by evening the water had drained away and there was no game the following day until we managed to persuade the camp guide to put a little more water in. With the drought conditions as soon as the water was in animals started to appear but there was not enough and they soon left leaving us staring at a vast empty flood pan. The waterhole is also not lit so even had there been water once it was dark you would not have seen the animals.

Whilst the accommodation is fine the shared kitchen is a bit of a mixed bag. Whilst it was good to socialise with others the party of South Africans who arrived the same time as us were a little over powering. They immediately took over the kitchen and filled all 3 freezers with their food. Fortunately as we were using tinned and dried food it didn't cause us a problem but it could so easily have done so. It would be a simple matter to put another fridge freezer in so each chalet could have its own.

The 4WD route in and out of Bitterpan was much easier than Gharagab. There was however almost no game or birds to see on the route and many of the waterholes were dry.

Until the waterhole is fixed so that it can have water in it every day and a light installed similar to that at Gharagab I would strongly recommend not staying at this camp." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2015
"All you would expect from self catering accomadation

Guard very interesting with animal prints" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"One Meerkat Safari !!"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2015
"The journey our of Nossob from Gharahab was a little more challenging than the road in with the last sand dune before the 'main road' needing a couple of attempts .

You have to check out of Gharahab and into Bitterpan at Nossob which is very quickly done - just a couple of stamps on your park pass then you leave the Nossob site by a controlled gate onto a restricted track. We refuelled before leaving ( always keep the fuel tank topped up).

The route to Bitterpan proved to be quite challenging at times - a tortuous road with much deeper sand than previously encountered which was quite warm and, therefore, more difficult to drive through but soon we developed a good rhythm and could judge the required gear and pace to tackle each dune making it a fun journey.

On arrival at the camp we were greeted by Wilhelm ( who was pleased to see us as we had been asked to buy some supplies for him) . He showed us to our accommodation ( a similar structure to Gharahab) which looked out directly onto the waterhole. The individual toilet and shower facilities were not en suite but opposite across the walkway and there was a communal kitchen which had recently been revamped and indidual braiis, in a fenced area, just beyond each verandah

Although the kitchen was communal there was ample fridge/ freezer space for everyone and room for all the guests to cook at the same time with sufficient saucepans, crockery, glasses etc.

We sat with the other guests around a large table eating our various meals and sharing our experiences..

Bitterpan is another wilderness camp but the walkway and communal areas are fenced so there is no problem answering the call of nature or getting a drink during the hours of darkness!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Just getting there is an achievement"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"The only official way of getting to Bitterpan is from Nossob through a locked gate and then across the dunes on a 4x4 trail. The first two big dunes are the worst to contend with. If you are not confident about your or your vehicle's capabilities, do a deal with the Nossob ranger to let you approach Bitterpan via Morevat.

Once you get there you will have one of the four cabins overlooking the waterhole and will have to use the communal kitchen. Need to take your own water. A real safari experience and the other users will be experienced game or bird spotters and being with them should enrich your experience. There are numerous mice but they can't get into the fridges.

Note - don't expect a five star hotel. Thank goodness, it's better for that." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Scared Lions"

1 night Arrived 2 Mar 2014
"Nicest san parks accommodation and location. Lovely room but didn't really like the shared kitchen - no saucepans left for us!

Two black maned lions strolled across the pan in the morning, amazing!

Lovely fire pit in the middle of the accommodation for some evening socialising." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Bitterpan - unexpected 4W Driving !"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Checking-in for Bitterpan is done at Nossob before getting access to the trail, which is through the Nossob Rest Camp. An unexpected 4WD trail was waiting for us, but fortunately everything went well. It took us 3-3,5 hrs to cover the 53 Km. Quite challenging sometimes and infinitely more difficult then Gharagap exit road. We planned to stay 2 nights at Bitterpan and loop-drive through Moravet and Nossob, but unfortunately due the difficult access trail we decided to take the day off and stay at Bitterpan and "rest".

On the day out we took the easiest path out, i.e., through Moravet instead of going straight to Kalahari Tented Camp. This exit road is much shorter and easier to drive. The decision was worth. A couple exquisite Bat Eared Foxes were sighted near Moravet, and on the main road linking the two riverbeds, we saw for the first time a troop of Meerkats sunbathing at the early morning hours.

The camp itself is very well situated overlooking a pan. Activity around the waterhole is sparse (at least while we were there) with the occasional Oryx, Jackal, Ostrich and Steenbok.

The cabins are very well designed with the rooms separated from the private bathrooms which are located just next to the rooms. A communal kitchen serves the four cabins which allows people to sit around the communal dinning room/ fire and exchange experiences.The kitchen was as always well equipped.

The guard was friendly and helpful and even asked us to transport the laundry to Mata-Mata, on our way to Kalahari Tented Camp, which we did.

One night stay at Bitterpan may be sufficient to explore the Bitterpan 4WD trail." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"There are only four double rooms here so we felt fortunate that the other guests were so friendly. Each room has a private sitting area overlooking the waterhole. We stayed only one night here but saw two lions, who had eyes only for each other and a leopard.

The warden is always on site and ever watchful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 10
88%
10 reviews of Bitterpan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

At the southern entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Twee Rivieren Rest Camp is the park's largest restcamp and also the centre for its administration. The accommodation here is all self-catering, and arranged in almost a little village – with a restaurant, a shop, a fuel station and a swimming pool. It's a park for serious safari aficionados to spent at least four or five nights exploring – with time here at the start and/or end.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

The only private lodge within the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with full board and activities, !Xaus Lodge is a good base from which to explore the Kalahari.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa